We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A visit is a must you are always made to feel welcome and the hotel is very stylish.”
Review of Chalk Lane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chalk Lane Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Epsom
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A visit is a must you are always made to feel welcome and the hotel is very stylish.”
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We got married at chalk lane hotel last January and returned today for a first anniversary lunch. Our wedding day was perfect and the staff very relaxed, friendly and professional at their job re. They care about the customer(s). We returned today for lunch and again the staff and food was of the highest excellence. This hotel is very relaxing and well worth a visit, if not staying at the hotel, booking an afternoon or evening meal is a must and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChalkLane, Owner at Chalk Lane Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a nice review. We all look forward to seeing you on your 2nd Wedding Anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    47
    17
    11
    2
See reviews for
22
34
4
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Peters, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

I recently stayed at the Chalk Lane Hotel for 10 days while on a business trip to Epsom. The hotel was very nice and just a short walk to the office. What sets Chalk Lane apart is its excellent staff. I can't say enough about how friendly and helpful they are; they truly made my stay very enjoyable, and I look forward to staying there again!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Stayed here for the second time and the place hasn't changed a bit. The hotel is an oasis of calm with a quaint small hotel feel to it. My room was not large but plenty adequate for a short stay with all the usual facilities. The service in the hotel is great whether it is at the reception, bar or restaurant the staff are eager to help. The best part is the food which is not cheap for dinner but is superb and probably the best available in Epsom by far, even the breakfasts are great with none of this prepared and kept warm cooking you fins in larger establishments. Location is a good mix being situated in a quiet part of Epsom but it is walkable to the high street with a selection of restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chesterdoggerel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We stayed here again for the Friday night. We were first given a small hotel room due to a problem with the booking (we'd booked a year in advance) and when we mentioned it the receptionist moved us to a much nicer room, room 129. This was done without a fuss, customer service was great as a genuine mistake had been made. Overall helpful staff. The service was great except for in house meal, an omlette cost £18.50 with some (lettuce on the side, not really salad I was expecting more for the price!) and some chips, compare this to a rib steak sandwich with chips which cost £16.50. The omlette was the most expensive item on the bedroom snack menu, go figure.....! (they also include £1.50 service charge on top). It was overpriced but it was big enough to share as it came with some very solid bread.The breakfast is cooked to order and excellent as always. We'll be staying here again next year.

Room Tip: Book in advance. Not many hotels in Epsom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chopalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

My husband and I got married and had our reception at the Chalk lane hotel last September... it was a faultless day and Steven and all the rest did an amazing job! Food was really very good.

It is a lovely intimate hotel and i couldnt have asked for a better day. Highly recommend

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WifeeBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Last year we held our wedding reception at the Chalk Lane Hotel in Epsom. We had a family lunch reception during the day, and a buffet reception for 100 in the evening. The entire day went without a single hitch due to the diligence and personal attention from Steven and his team. We did not have to worry about anything because they took care of every detail.

This year we went back for a celebratory lunch on our first anniversary. Steven remembered us, made us extremely welcome and we had a fabulous lunch. It will definitely be somewhere that we visit on a regular basis.

We cannot recommend this venue highly enough for any form of celebration, large or small - or even for a family Sunday lunch. The hotel itself is charming, very warm and welcoming, and this is matched by the attitude of all of the staff. The food is excellent, complemented by lovely wine, and all at a very reasonable cost.

Room Tip: The hotel is in a very quiet location so I imagine all rooms would be good. We had the "bridal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Spent saturday night here, for our friends wedding. location and parking excellent. The staff were extremely polite and helpful. The room was very clean and comfortable. Bathroom spotless... great shower and lovely soft towels..Complimentary toiletries welcome as we forgot ours...
Can't fault anything. The hotel is decorated well, garden really pretty to relax in. Breakfast was super, waited on for everything and not at all rushed. checked out well after the 10.00am limit with no worries.
Probably wouldn't suit families with young children, but great for couples or friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Epsom
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Epsom Central
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Epsom South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Chessington Safari Hotel
Chessington Safari Hotel
#2 of 3 in Chessington
1,802 reviews
4.2 mi away
Woodlands Park Hotel
Woodlands Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cobham
662 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Running Horses
The Running Horses
#1 of 1 in Mickleham
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalk Lane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalk Lane Hotel

Property: Chalk Lane Hotel
Address: Chalk Lane, Epsom KT18 7BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Epsom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Epsom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalk Lane Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Chalk Lane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalk Lane Epsom
Chalk Lane Hotel Epsom, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing