We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Party Location”
Review of Chalk Lane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chalk Lane Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Epsom
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
“Outstanding Party Location”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We held a 40th wedding anniversary party, for 65 people, at the Chalk Lane Hotel back in April. Stephen and his team could not have been more welcoming, attentive, flexible and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble, the food was excellent, the accomodation great. We and all our family and guests loved every minute of a fantastic week.

Many thanks!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    46
    16
    10
    2
See reviews for
22
33
4
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
221 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I recently held my wedding reception here and they were 5* from start to finish. The wedding coordinator Stephen made us feel at ease and his advice was first rate especially on helping work out the timings. The staff are very friendly and couldn't do enough to help. There is a lovely little garden hidden out the back that is ideal for photographs, as well as a terrace straight out of the main room. The food was very good, drinks were a little expensive but no more than you would expect from a hotel. The honeymoon suite was lovely, very quaint.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballyclare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We arrived at this hotel on a sunny Sunday Afternoon and got checked in quickly and easily. The hotel is a listed building so there is no lift and there are no rooms on the ground floor. This did not put me off. We were allocated room 19 which has a fire escape onto a small balcony which is delightful.. The room is bright and airy with beautiful furnishings and a very adequate en suite.
The hotel is steeped in history and close to Epsom Racecourse. Situated on a one way lane - there is no traffic noise and a perfect place to stay for a long or short stay.
I will heartily recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a hotel in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamelab1048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stayed one night for a family wedding. Our room, (no.29) was a good size and we had an extra bed in the room for our daughter without it feeling too cramped. The bed was very comfortable and we slept well. A nice breakfast was served promptly, with plenty of hot options to choose from.
Definitely worthy of consideration if you are staying in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanG_MK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

A little gem hidden less than 1 kilometre from Epsom's High St. The staff are outstanding and the in house dining will not disappoint.. Certainly it is off the beaten track but if you have a need for accommodation in this area, this hotel will fit the bill in every respect. I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjmortons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
211 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We recently stayed two nights at the Chalk Lane Hotel, and had a wonderful stay. Breakfast both mornings was very good, and our room (#21 in the older part of the building) was lovely and quite roomy. The day manager, Angie, was very friendly and helpful with advice and directions, and always greeted us with a smile. At her suggestion, we walked along a little country road to get to Epsom Downs where we enjoyed a pleasant pub lunch at the Rubbing House. Although there was a wedding at the hotel the second night, we didn't hear a thing from our room. If I'm ever in the area again, I'd be more than happy to stay at the Chalk Lane Hotel!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 21 and it was really lovely. The bed was good and we slept well both nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bakery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

I would not recomend this hotel to anyone. Travelodge has bigger rooms and their beds are 100 times better. I stayed at this hotel for one night for a family members wedding, and i have now been off work for 3 days as I have got agonising back pain and can hardly walk. I called to complain as the beds a rock solid. I was told that these are new beds and are firm. I asked to speak to the manager and the person said she will pass my comments over but they will not take responisblitiy, I am still waiting for the manager to call me.THIS IS DISGUSTING. Especially when they are charging high prices.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
3 Thank Roxie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChalkLane, Owner at Chalk Lane Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
I am sorry you had such a bad experience at our Hotel. However, you are the 1st person in over 15 years to complain about the standard of the beds which are supplied to us by a very reputable hotel supplier.
With regards to the manager not calling you back, he did in fact call the next day & left a voice mail.
Regarding the size of the room, it is sold as a small double room of which you had been made aware at the time of booking.
If you wish to discuss any of the above please do get in touch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Epsom
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Epsom Central Hotel
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Epsom North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Epsom South Hotel
4.2 mi away
Woodlands Park Hotel
Woodlands Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cobham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
5.1 mi away
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalk Lane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalk Lane Hotel

Property: Chalk Lane Hotel
Address: Chalk Lane, Epsom KT18 7BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Epsom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Epsom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalk Lane Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Chalk Lane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalk Lane Epsom
Chalk Lane Hotel Epsom, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing