We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Limited facilities & expensive”
Review of Chalk Lane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chalk Lane Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Epsom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed here only because attending a function. ' snack menu' expensive £11.50 for sandwich which was supermarket bread and poor fillings. The English breakfast was ok if you weren't hungry, 1 rasher of bacon one sausage a sprinkling of mushrooms and half a tomato. Bar prices also expensive in function room.
Only saving grace was the staff who were all really attentive, surprising really with the attitude of the owner!
Thankfully this didn't spoil our fantastic family event.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChalkLane, Manager at Chalk Lane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

I am sorry to read you had a disappointing stay with us. We never like to read that one of our guest has not enjoyed their stay, however whilst we always take on board any comments, negative or otherwise we do feel that a few of your points were unfair & do not offer a true reflexion of our hotel. We do charge £11.50 for sandwiches which is for 2 rounds with a wide choice of fillings (smoked salmon, roast beef etc.) accompanied with salad & crisps. We only use good quality ingredients however following your comment about the quality of the bread we have now changed suppliers. Our English breakfast includes a choice of egg, black & white pudding, on top of the other items you list, this is just one option on an extensive breakfast menu which also includes a large buffet selection of fruits, fresh fruit salad, cereals, yogurt etc., guests can help themselves as much as they like. We always like to address any guest issues at the time so they can be resolved quickly & satisfactorily, if you had mentioned your disappointment at the portion size we would have been able to offer you additional bacon/ sausage etc. Regarding bar prices, we regularly check the pricing of other privately owned establishments and we fall in line with them. I am sorry to read you felt overcharged but we hope you were able to make the most of the wine on the table provided at the function and also the generous account bar but we will continue to monitor local prices. Lastly, I would like to address your comment on the owner's poor attitude. Again, we are disappointed to read this as we are a family run hotel that prides itself on friendly & personal service as many of our comments testify. The bride & groom certainly appreciated the efforts Steven went to, to ensure that they had a perfect day & it is his 40+ years' experience in the industry that has resulted in the other staff being so "attentive" as you kindly commented. His son runs all the functions, his daughter who upgraded you & your partner into a superior room on check-in runs the front of house. We thank you for having taken the time to write the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

I had a function nearby and booked three couples into Chalk Lane. The feedback I got the following day was so disappointing. Even the normal doubles were so small - one had condensation on the walls, no dressing gowns etc which you would expect for that price. Other guests at Holiday Inn nearby loved it and was less than half the price! Probably needs a makeover and reduced prices.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Azsdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Invited to a birthday celebration.Wide choice on the menu.Beautifully cooked and presented.Attentive staff. The hotel itself appeared well cared for with reception giving a very welcoming introduction to the hotel.Lots of parking .Obviously being a guest I have no idea of the price of our meal.Dance floor proved very popular ,a thoroughly enjoyable evening all round . Only one thing I noticed that I would change if possible . After coffee I noticed cups, glasses etc were cleared away rather too quickly . It was the only time during the whole evening I felt rushed . We were getting up to dance and returned to find our cups,glasses etc had gone .I appreciate the staff were probably attempting to clear away but it was not appreciated whilst we were still drinking .

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank thepipefishfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This was my 2nd stay at Chalk Lane Hotel, and it confirmed my first impression had not been a whim. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay: It's tucked away in one of the the most beautiful, peaceful and tranquil areas of Epsom, staffed by warm, friendly, and genuinely people-oriented folks. The rooms are cozy, clean, and generally well maintained, and the hotel restaurant offers tasty meals in an intimate setting. The hotel is relatively small, but adequate, and it's tasteful and elegant decor transmit an ambiance of warmth and belonging. Thanks to the entire staff, from front desk to kitchen, who helped to make my week's stay, another memorable one!

Room Tip: Share your preferences with the very accommodating front desk staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hrhemans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Very disappointed at the price. Room very small, this was not pointed out when we booked. Large dirty stains on the carpet, the bathroom was tiny we almost had to stand behind the toilet to open the shower door. The smallest amount of toiletries they could get away with not even one each.
We were obviously above staff rooms as had loud music playing from 12 until 1am when they finished work.
On the plus size breakfast was very nice and the communal rooms most pleasant. Beds were fine.
This is not a hotel I would ever recommend and we certainly didn't feel we were valued customers.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeda_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

A big THANKYOU to Stephen, and the team, for making my parents Diamond Wedding Anniversary celebration such a great success. We were a small party of 19 and the private dining room was perfect. The access to the private terrace and pretty garden was the icing on the cake as it was a very hot day and the parasols and shaded areas were very welcome. All was exactly as agreed. The menu choice was exciting and extensive. The food was superb from the beautiful canapes to the appetising main courses and delicious desserts. The cheese board was fantastic too. The staff were efficient, polite and discrete. It exceeded are hopes in all respects. I would not hesitate to use this charming venue for any occasion. Thank you all once again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claudette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This is a lovely little hotel. We stayed here as we were going to a queensbury boxing event at Epsom downs.
Lots of free parking outside. The staff are really friendly and greeted us really nicely.
The beds were really comfy and we had a lovely breakfast in the morning.
The hotels food menu is very pricey so you may not want to rely on eating here.
There's a lovely little restaurant just up the rd (ladies in heels, just don't attempt to walk it like I did!)
called the rubbing house. It over looks the racecourse, you can park here too.
We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kylie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Epsom
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Epsom Central Hotel
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs
4.1 mi away
Woodlands Park Hotel
Woodlands Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cobham
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Epsom Central
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Kingston South
9.5 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#1 of 8 in Dorking
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalk Lane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalk Lane Hotel

Address: Chalk Lane, Epsom KT18 7BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Epsom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Epsom
Price Range: £127 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalk Lane Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chalk Lane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalk Lane Epsom
Chalk Lane Hotel Epsom, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing