We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stop in Epsom”
Review of Bamboo Basket Ltd.

Bamboo Basket Ltd.
Ranked #3 of 188 Restaurants in Epsom
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$9
Description: Bamboo Basket provide noodles and rice dishes to eat-in and to take-away. All the food is freshly prepared and cooked in front of you. We also have fresh home made steamed Chinese buns (Bao Tze), which are amazing, and home made chilli sauces! Our focus is on healthy eating, and we do not use additives or colourings. We have around 60 different loose-leaf teas for sale by the cup, or to take home, with an extensive range of teapots, teaware and chopsticks for sale. We have now opened our indoor seating area and now have 12 seats indoors; as well as the 14 seats, under cover, outside.
Restaurant details
Description: Bamboo Basket provide noodles and rice dishes to eat-in and to take-away. All the food is freshly prepared and cooked in front of you. We also have fresh home made steamed Chinese buns (Bao Tze), which are amazing, and home made chilli sauces! Our focus is on healthy eating, and we do not use additives or colourings. We have around 60 different loose-leaf teas for sale by the cup, or to take home, with an extensive range of teapots, teaware and chopsticks for sale. We have now opened our indoor seating area and now have 12 seats indoors; as well as the 14 seats, under cover, outside.
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stopped by the shop while visiting family in Epsom, and we were so glad we did. It's in a great location in the Ashley Square courtyard, just outside fo Ashley Centre. We had a couple of delightful rice dishes, a noodle dish, amazing prawns and hot tea! The weather was wonderful and the food was amazing. The owners have a passion for their food and it shows in what they deliver to the table. The Thai curry was so flavorful and their homemade spicy sauce should not be missed. If you like fresh, quality-sourced ingredients prepared with care, this is the place to go.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LoveToVacationFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenDen1London, Owner at Bamboo Basket Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thanks for your review. The weather is still wonderful, and the sunsets bathe the square and our shop in beautiful evening warmth. All our dishes are cooked fresh to order and we carefully select natural ingredients to produce really tasty food without the use of preservatives, additives or colourings. We also have more than 60 different teas, many sourced directly by ourselves from tea growers in China.
Good food, good tea, and at the moment..... lovely sunshine!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 136 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

I've often been tempted by this cafe / restaurant but the weather was never good enough to tempt me to sit outside. The weather is no longer a problem because they now have a small amount of seating inside.

The menu is not extensive - either noodles or rice in various varieties (chicken, beef, prawns, vege etc.). I suspect they they do not have an alcohol license although I did not confirm this. We drank tea which they offer in a number of different flavours.

My chicken noodle dish was excellent. Freshly cooked with a good flavour. My wife had the rice dish with beef. She said that the beef was excellent but the rice could have been hotter.

The staff were pleasant and helpful and the service was quick but we were not rushed. I was asked if I wanted chopsticks and when I said yes, I was asked whether I wanted throw away wooden chopsticks or lacquer ones. The lacquer ones were supplied. That's an indication of the standard of service.

Note that this is a small restaurant / cafe with a limited amount of seating both inside and outside. It's great value for money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EpsomJaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenDen1London, Owner at Bamboo Basket Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thanks for your review.
We can seat 14 inside and a further 14 outside. Most of the outside seats are under cover, but you are right, the inside seating is better on a cold day!
We keep our menu focused so as to ensure quality and consistency. We do, however offer 'specials', usually on a Friday and at the weekend. We offer a delicious, healthy, balanced and filling meal, in most cases, for less than £5.
We do not have an alcohol licence at this time, our focus is on tea, we have over 60 different varieties, many sourced ourselves directly from tea farmers in China.
Thanks again for your review and best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Love this place, wish they opened at night or had a big restaurant. Authentic food, street style! We have travelled in south east asia and it reminds me of the delicious, quick, street style food. Great portions, low key place. Wish there was more places like this in epsom!

Thank tiggyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenDen1London, Owner at Bamboo Basket Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thanks for your review. Our food is authentic home-style cooking, with a small difference - we strive to keep it healthy! we use little oil, no additives, colourings and no added MSG. We are now open until 8pm on Thursdays, along with the rest of The Ashley Centre. We hope that helps a little! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

My first visit to this little cafe today was a delight. Very tasty dishes and friendly staff, my two young daughters enjoyed the food too. A must go if in Epsom.

Thank Zippyzoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenDen1London, Owner at Bamboo Basket Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Thanks for your review. The food we serve is derived from what we eat at home, including our children, so is suitable for all. If your little ones have a smaller appetite then please let us know and we will prepare a smaller portion for a smaller price - unless, of course, you wish to help them finish!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Often a lunch time treat when I'm at work. Great value, they cater to your requests, food is amazing & staff are friendly. Definitely recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Butterfly267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenDen1London, Owner at Bamboo Basket Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Thanks for your review. Weekday lunchtimes are very popular and, with the addition of brown rice to the menu, we offer a very affordable, healthy and delicious alternative. Seating indoors and out in the Square makes it a nice place to get away and relax for a while. If you are in a hurry then call us first to place your order in advance, we will have it ready for when you arrive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bamboo Basket Ltd. also viewed

 
Epsom, Surrey
 

Been to Bamboo Basket Ltd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing