We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired? - so is this hotel”
Review of Nonsuch Park Hotel

Nonsuch Park Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nonsuch Park Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Epsom
Wales, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tired? - so is this hotel”
Reviewed 25 May 2009

The website is misleading, it says 'a stay at The Nonsuch Park Hotel entails the ultimate in luxury, attentive service & a convenient location.' the only part I would agree with is the location, but even then it depends on where you want to be near. The rooms are dingy, tired and very very dated, the bathroom more like a cupboard with a dirty shower. We often visit this area and have stayed in several similar priced hotels. This one we will avoid at all costs in future

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsMerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    8
    5
    9
    14
See reviews for
7
13
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2009

I stayed here as I had a wedding to go to down the road. They kindly changed my rate from a double to a single as my partner could not make it.

The room was small for a double but it was clean and although the en suite bathroom was dated it was acceptable.

The staff were friendly and the breakfast was to order and tasty.

Overall a decent place to stay for a short trip.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonDuncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2008

The Nonsuch is an ideal base for those that want to be close to London yet close to the countryside. The hotel is in an ideal location set back off the main road with ample parking and the park itself is directly accross the road.

The rooms are very comfortable and a nice touch is the provision of mineral water in the room fridge. Breakfast is substantial, well prepared and the service better than that of many hotels awarded higher than the 2* grading the Nonsuch holds. The Nonesuch IS a family hotel and owned by one, therefore of course the two sons will be in and out and getting ready for school in the morning, off to football etc....Thats what families do !!

There has been some unfair comment made about the Nonesuch but lets check out the facts.

1, Good location close to commutor links and countryside - Epson downs in 10 mins, London City in 20 mins
2. Rooms clean and bright with modern TV, Free Wifi, Fridge and telephone.
3. Good food served promptly and in good sized well laid out dining area
4. Friendly staff and welcoming atmosphere.
5. Pleasant bar lounge and patio area.

If you are looking for a relaxing break or are on business in the area then you will not do wrong by staying at the Nonsuch Park. A genuine family run, friendly hotel that delivers service above its rating.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — No complaints at all
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sleepmaster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, DE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2007

Based on reviews from this site, we booked for two nights.
Highlights: The owners/managers are very friendly, and helpful, and communicated well by email in advance. The hotel can be reached by foot (15 minutes) from the nearest train station, Stoneleigh, although a taxi can be called, and a bus stop directly outside the hotel can get you just about anywhere. The en suite room was very nice, exactly as the photo. It included a little couch and a table you can sit at, as well as the amenities listed on their site. There was a very nice park (Nonsuch Park) across the street. It was peaceful, allowing a good night's sleep. The breakfast was filling, including "eggs-any-style" with bacon and toast.

Lowlights: It looks just a little shabbier on the outside than the web photo. The trouser press did not work (not that I needed it, I was just curious). The bathroom was tiny, and the shower stall a little moldy. Flushing the toilet was so loud that we avoided doing so overnight. We didn't get the requested wake-up call, so bring your own travel alarm. The PC in the lounge was unbearably slow.

Overall, it was a good value, and the owners; friendliness made up for any shortcomings. I would stay here again.

  • Liked — Price, Owners, location to mass transit in to London
  • Disliked — Moldy shower, forgot wakeup call
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KatiesPal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2007

I stayed at this hotel many. many times over the last few years. I was astonished to read the reviews here. The owners made me feel very welcome during my stay - which I think is important during a stay away from home and they give you a more personal touch than you get with major chain hotels. I can't comment on the food, as I rarely ate in the hotel, but when I did I had no problem with the food. If you do find you have a problem with your room or anything in the hotel - the owners are more than happy to oblige/help. I found no problem with cleanliness in the hotel. I think it's a lovely hotel and value for money considering breakfast is included as well.

  • Liked — Relaxed and friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank angelfire1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2007

Very good small hotel in Epsom. I travel the UK allot and stay in lots of small hotel such as this and I am very surprised by some of the bad reviews here. I have used this hotel many times over the past few years and have found it to be clean, tidy with good services available compared to many other 2 star hotels i have stayed at. Always a case of people requiring 5 stars service for 2 star prices.

I have recommended this hotel to many of my friends and family and all have been more then satisfied.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank John56Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2007

Working locally, my usual B&B could not accomodate me, so I stayed here for 2 nights in March. It's an impressive looking hotel from outside. Don't be fooled however. This is a shabby, tired and run down hotel, which thought was pretty grubby. I had a tiny single room, and sole use of a - dated and grubby bathroom and seperate WC across the hall. The whole place needs a complete facelift. I thought the standard of hotel VERY poor, the experience was depressing. In fairness the proprietors were reasonably friendly and obliging - I just think they don't know any better. The food was poor too, for example ,coffee from a machine, oven chips, and non brand breakfast cereals - ugh! Find somewhere better than this to stay - it does not reflect well on the standard of hotels/B&Bs in England.

  • Liked — nothing!!!
  • Disliked — horrible room, dirty bathroom, grubby throughout and poor quality food
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tartanaddick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Epsom hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Epsom
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Epsom North Hotel
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Epsom Central Hotel
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn London Sutton
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Epsom South Hotel
1.2 mi away
Thatched House Hotel
Thatched House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sutton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nonsuch Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonsuch Park Hotel

Property: Nonsuch Park Hotel
Address: 355-357 London Road | Ewell, Epsom KT17 2DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Epsom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Epsom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Nonsuch Park Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Nonsuch Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Nonsuch Park
Nonsuch Park Hotel Epsom, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing