We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bishops Table

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bishops Table
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Farnham
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great little hotel”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is a really comfy place, with very spacious rooms. Very quiet and good for getting a good night's rest. The lovely big tub was a big bonus. Plus it is dirt cheap (though I didn't pay for it) especially when compared to London hotels.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank room101studio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    31
    21
    20
    9
See reviews for
15
33
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Argoncilhe, Portugal
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The special treatment, warnth, and the individual treatment one recidives, is just unike, time after time, the room they pick for you, is alway's the one you like most!!!! They go out of their way to make you their very special customer (invite). I sugest houve try it, Henrique you are down in Farnham - Surrey, you Will fall in love with this hotel.

Room Tip: Try and book the Two rooms on opositor ends of the first floor, you Will just fall in love with thes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eddybrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We use this hotel for meetings to get away from the overcrowded noisy "chain" coffee shops in Farnham.
The experience is always pleasurable with great coffee, light, airy and quiet restaurant and bar areas, solid wi-fi coverage and connection, and decent coffee at a very reasonable price.
We will continue to use the Bishops Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rupert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I stayed in November for one night as I was in Farnham on business. The rooms I saw (two) were both in an annex at the back of the hotel. The first one was freezing as the radiator wasn't working, it was quite clear the radiator was broken when I was shown to my room but I was told once it was turned up it would be fine - it wasn't! I moved to the room next door which was the same in terms of very tired decor and the en-suite was really bad - as had the one next door been. Both en-suites are so old that I imagine it is almost impossible to clean them as they both have significant mould and rust.
I don't know what the rooms in the main hotel are like but having seen the significant lack of cleanliness in the en-suites I went elsewhere for breakfast.
I was very disappointed and could not recommend this as a place to stay.

Room Tip: Maybe ensure you get a room in the main hotel - I didn't see them but they can't be worse!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TraceyPeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BishopTable, General Manager at The Bishops Table, responded to this review, 10 March 2016
Eight years ago we came here with a one year plan and we are just getting there! This part of the building was out of keeping with that plan, but we have had to work hard just to keep it going. However, very soon after this review the annexe was demolished, and the Coach House refurbishment commenced alongside building a new Lodge with 6 brand new rooms. This will be available at long last from April 2016. Over the next few weeks we will be updating our progress, and alongside our friendly and helpful service (which we pride ourselves on), we are looking forward to welcoming business and leisure visitors to a great stay in the heart of this beautiful town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Farnham hotels

Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed at the Bishops Table for one night whilst visiting friends in the local area. It is located in a very handy location for were we needed to be. To be honest, we didn't spend much time in the hotel however, the nights sleep was uncomfortable due to not being able to turn the radiators down, it was very hot (for all the wrong reasons).

The decor is dated and probably in need of a good update.

All being said, it was alright and met all our requirements. We would recommend for a one night stay, however would not have stayed longer.

All staff were very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I have been stopping at the Bishops table for the past 3 years.
The hotel is in a nice central location right in the heart of Farnham, just a short walk all of the Cafés and Bistros that line the streets of Farnham.
It's difficult to explain the hotel as it has a certain character about it. Each room is different, with its own pros and cons. But the thing that makes this hotel different in my eyes is the staff. All of them are always very helpfu, and make you feel welcome every time you visit.

Cons
Decor is a little tired and old fashioned now and needs rejuvenating
The hotel lacks car parking facilities - although you can park in the library car park next door...watch out for the jobs worth librarians who will move you on if they see you....better to get there after the library has shut.
No Restaurant - the bistro restaraunt shut down about 12/18 months ago - this for me is the most disappointing thing about this hotel as it can be very inconvenient, but if you planning to eat out then it's obviously not a problem.

Pros
Fantastic service from all of the staff, always have a willing attitude and keep a smile on their faces.
Great location
Lovely Breakfasts - fresh cooked pastries, or a nice bistro style full English breakfast - your choice.
Quirky character - having tried all of the hotels in the area, this is the only one I go back to from choice...I can see how people would rate it low,if they haven't stayed here regularly as it takes a while to rub off onto you.
Free wifi in the bar area and rooms surrounding.

Would have got 4 stars if not for the restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bcbob1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farnham
0.3 mi away
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Farnham
Premier Inn Farnham
#2 of 6 in Farnham
107 reviews
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
1.6 mi away
Farnham House Hotel
Farnham House Hotel
#5 of 6 in Farnham
266 reviews
5.0 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 8 in Farnborough
1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bishops Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bishops Table

Property: The Bishops Table
Address: 27 West Street, Farnham GU9 7DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Farnham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Farnham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bishops Table 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, privately owned and managed 18th century hotel in the heart of this beautiful town offering comfortable en-suite bedrooms, fine dining, cafe/bar, and excellent personal service from a team of dedicated staff. The Plum Brasserie is no ordinary hotel restaurant; it is recognized as one of the finest Brasseries in the area for both its fine cuisine and excellent service. Farnham has easy links to London, and a number of local places of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Bishops Table reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bishops Table Farnham, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing