We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely dog friendly pub”

The Duke of Cambridge, Tilford
Ranked #18 of 137 Restaurants in Farnham
Price range: £14 - £25
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Duke is an award-winning pub located in the quintessential village of Tilford, near Farnham in Surrey, forming part of the Red Mist Leisure family of pubs. Offering a terrace and large pub garden with a dedicated bar and grill enabling you to relax in the summer sunshine whilst you watch your little ones at play in the custom-made, fenced off, safe play area. In the winter months, the pub has its log-burning fire roaring to create a wonderfully cosy and relaxed atmosphere. The pub is well known and popular for it's fresh, local and seasonal dishes, local craft ales, artisan gins and a great wine list that attracts custom from far and wide.
Reviewed 12 January 2014

How nice to find a country pub that not only serves delicious food, but is very dog friendly. Our dog was able to tuck herself under the table rather than spend a couple of hours in the car on her own. Waiting staff are friendly and service quick despite being extremely busy on a Sunday lunch time. Happy to recommend and very happy to return.

Date of visit: January 2014
2  Thank Lovetravelx
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,150 - 1,154 of 1,311 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

I hadn't been to The Duke of Cambridge for some time although I had heard good reports. It was just the sort of place we were looking for - country pub, out of the way, fresh local ingredients - Our meals were cooked as we like them and the service was attentive but not intrusive. We were able to have a much needed relaxing afternoon. after the rigors of the Christmas period.

Date of visit: December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 38magic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We had lunch here just before Christmas and have eaten here several times. The food is always good but get there early to catch their 'specials'. Pleasant venue, friendly staff.

Date of visit: December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TJ1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We spent a family birthday lunch here on New Years Eve. As ever the food and service were terrific. The food comes out promptly and everyone got served together (sometimes a challenge when there are 11 of you). Would highly recommend.

Date of visit: December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

This is a venue that ticks all the boxes for good quality casual dining. The service is great from arrival in the small but well stocked bar to he table. The staff all know the products and food including daily special and it makes for a wonderful experience. The four if us chose a variety from the menu and specials board, mussels, fish, lamb and pork all cooked well, presented well and delivered to the table hot. We shared puds which was the only downer as the orange and clove creme brûlée didn't have much flavour and was somewhat over cooked, both the custard and he top. That said it was minor and will not stop me going back again, and again. Consistency is the name of the game here, in all they do.

Thank Juls3456
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Duke of Cambridge, Tilford also viewed

 
Stratfield Turgis, Hook
 

Been to The Duke of Cambridge, Tilford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.