We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pub”

The Duke of Cambridge
Ranked #3 of 127 Restaurants in Farnham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$23
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Caterham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Lovely Sunday lunch after a great walk in the area. Very nice staff good choice of food, and although busy we were not rushed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bushbaby2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    197
    72
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic burger”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stopped for a couple of beers and a bite to eat in the garden. Food was prompt and faultless. Painless service thanks to satellite bar in the garden.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HarrisPony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“cracking all round pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

if i could, i would give this 9/10 rather than 4/5. well, in the 1980's this pub was a grubby, down at heel, bikers pub. everyone then went to the pub on the green at tilford. greeted by the worlds largest car park (for a mid sized pub), the initials omens are good. the landscape gardeners employed by the owners made a good job of the external landscaping, including the car park itself, the children's play area and the external bar area. all ideal for the Farnham masses and jodpur clad surrey horsey types to descend to.

excellent choice of real ales, interesting food menu and an internal refurbishment/decor befitting an old pub. all beer, wine and food menu pricing that i saw was par for the course for this type of pub in the affluent south. i have no idea why the whining reviewer "nikki23" complains of expensive food, maybe she should say in MaccyD's.

now the service: we went on a saturday lunchtime. we had not booked a table though were fortunate to only have to wait five minutes for one to become available. the young foreign girl whose name i cant remember, took us from the initial finding of the table all the way to the generous cash tip on the final conclusion of the visit. this girl was the best waitress that i have ever encountered at any restaurant, ever, and not just those reviewed on tripadvisor. she had it all: efficiency, courtesey, eye contact, smiles and a genuine interest. if only there were more out there like her, it really is not that difficult, and it makes such a difference to the overall experience and enjoyment of the visit. Bravo to her and the ownership on finding her!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank richard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Pubs don't get much better than this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Our first visit to this highly rated pub was not a disappointment. We visited on a quiet weekday lunchtime and enjoyed the sun on the peaceful and attractive terrace. A welcome break in the middle of an idyllic walk this pub provided great food (we enjoyed a club sandwich and halloumi salad) and efficient service. Loved the fact that they immediately brought a bottle of chilled water to the tables without us having to ask. Quite pricey but will definitely return in the future.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gilliantomlinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely location- but overpriced good and disappointing service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

I visited the Duke Of Cambridge with some friends today this sunny bank holiday. The garden is gorgeous with a little hut that sells drinks and a BBQ menu. It was a great atmosphere and my friends 2 year old son very much enjoyed the playground.
These things said, the menu was on the expensive side for what you got, a burger which was pretty tasteless and small portion of potato salad for £10. I was also quite disappointed with the service. They were clearly struggling on a very busy afternoon (our food took one hour to come) and perhaps they needed more staff on but the staff that were there really didn't seem to want to be there. We had ordered some chips on the side (as the burgers don't come with them) and these weren't delivered. We asked after them and the young girl just looked at us and said "yeah- they're coming"...on going inside the pub to find the loo I encountered another young woman who I asked if she could direct me to the bathroom- she looked at me as if I had been very rude and rolled her eyes- she then said "it's over there" in a very condescending tone.
A real shame as the pub itself is gorgeous and perhaps on a less busy day the systems would run better...

Helpful?
Thank nikki23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian C, Owner at The Duke of Cambridge, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for your recent review when you visited the Duke of Cambridge. I am pleased that you found our location enjoyable but I was disappointed to read that we did not meet your expectations with regard to the food and service and that overall our service was particularly disappointing for which I am sincerely sorry. All your feedback has been shared with our team as this is certainly not the experience we look to deliver for all our guests despite how busy we are.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback and please accept my apologies again for not delivering our usual standards to you.

If you would like to discuss this matter further I would welcome the opportunity to do so and I can be contacted via the Duke.

Regards

Julian Clarke - Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Duke of Cambridge also viewed

 

Been to The Duke of Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing