We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Enjoyed the summer garden” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Duke of Cambridge

The Duke of Cambridge
Ranked #3 of 122 Restaurants in Farnham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$22
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the summer garden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We were down visiting friends and stopped by for a drink and to see if there were tables available to eat. The restaurant was fully booked, however given it was sunny and hot, we grabbed some of the burgers in the garden from the garden bar. Food was quick, very tasty and generous portions. Not too bad value wise either.

A few too many kids playing noisily in the garden but not something that ruined our meal or the pub could do anything about. A highlight for us, a horse being parked in the garden whilst rider had a cheeky beer!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    178
    68
    21
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hindhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Rack of Lamb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Just returned after having the most amazing Rack of Lamb absolutely superb the chef did us proud.
The staff always look after us attention to every detail, especially Joe who looked after us this evening.
Thank you you are favourite restaurant.
Sheila and Keith a Hindhead

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sheilacole1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“avoid the caesar salad!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Being local, we have visited The Duke of Cambridge in the past. Being summer, we thought that we would try The Caesar Salad - big mistake. Nice pice of chicken and the lettuce was crisp but every thing else was mediocre. The dressing was bland, parmesan cheese was hard to find and the croutons were awful, bit like damp cardboard. We mentioned our disappointment to the waitress, who passed our comments to the chef, who agreed that the croutons were not good and that they would prepare a fresh batch.
When we came to pay the bill, no consideration was made to the poor standard of the main dish. The serving staff are always friendly, so we may give the restaurant another try later.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex F, Manager at The Duke of Cambridge, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time for providing feedback following your recent visit to the Duke of Cambridge. I am disappointed to hear that one of dishes wasn't up to our usual standard and that we didn't do enough at the time to rectify the situation. This has been fed back to the team and we have redesigned this dish to ensure that your feedback is acted on.
We pride ourselves on high standards of food and service, so I do hope you will try us again soon and trust your future visit is more enjoyable.
If you would like to discuss further I am available through the pub.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Had such a lovely night here. Food was fantastic and the staff were great, especially our waiter Tom who went above and beyond to please us. Would definitely come again and recommend it to friends.

Helpful?
1 Thank Josiemeredith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely pub - Dirty cutleries”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely pub. Went there on a sunny Sunday with friends. We sat at the back yard. It has a very nice atmosphere. Most of the visitors were families with kids but it was not noisy. The food was delicious but it was very disappointing that the cutleries were VERY dirty. Thankfully, we had vinegar on the table and we cleaned them!!!

Helpful?
Thank Christina_Cyprus28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex F, Manager at The Duke of Cambridge, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent visit to the Duke of Cambridge. I am pleased that you found the ambience and food enjoyable, but I am disappointed to read about our cutlery, for which I am sincerely sorry. Your feedback has been shared with our team as this is not the standard we look to deliver to our guests.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again at the Duke soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Duke of Cambridge also viewed

 

Been to The Duke of Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing