We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing :-(”
Review of Birdworld

Birdworld
Ranked #2 of 24 things to do in Farnham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Set in 26 acres of landscaped gardens, Birdworld is one of the largest bird parks in the UK. In addition to birds from around the world, Birdworld also has an aquarium, Underwater World and the Jenny Wren farm featuring creatures great and small.During a visit there are lots of daily events including penguin feeding, animal encounters and the amazing Outdoor Flying Display (Easter- End October). Not to be missed is Penguin Beach, a fantastic walk through exhibit featuring a colony of African Penguins and new aviaries include’ Wings of Love’ the Lovebird aviary and ‘Outback Landing’ a walk through Budgie feeding exhibit.Birdworld has numerous catering outlets but also plenty of space for picnics and with two well-stocked gift shops you will find everything you need for a great day out.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Disappointing :-(”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We took our 16 month old Grandaughter for a day out (last time I'd visited Birdworld was some 20+ years ago with my young boys (Fab visit back then). This recent visit was very disappointing. Poor Customer Service throughout the visit. The whole place is tired, dirty, neglected & in need of refurbishment in many areas. In many areas the plants and bushes are greatly overgrown. Some of the seating areas are filthy with bird droppings. The penguin area is the original and in need of upgrade. The aquarium is as I first saw it over 20 years ago and is dirty & unkept with some aquariams holding huge fish in small tanks (the glass is dirty). For what you get it is over priced entry. Don't buy a bottle of water! - its way over priced for the smallest bottle!!! Won't be going back :-( Baby changing facilities should ne improved

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maggi Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    250
    94
    45
    18
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
286 reviews
136 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“A Very Enjoyable Days Outing.”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We paid our first visit here yesterday since the late 1980"s & were very impressed with the whole experience. The whole site is beautifully laid out, the aviaries well spread out among many fine trees, shrubs & lawns. My memories of our earlier visit are sketchy but it is obvious that the aviaries have improved greatly. All are beautifully laid out & planted up. It is good to see plenty of cover for the birds.
Worth mentioning, too , are the themed walkthrough areas; the pheasant woodland, the seashore, the temperate house & Robben Island ( a particularly imaginative effort as it contains a potted history of Nelson Mandela's incarceration there & it's subsequent incarnation as a natural haven for bird life & plants-you can see some of those birds & plants in the life as you walk through.)
There is a wide range of birds on show, some rare ( Salvadori's Pheasant, Soccorro Dove, Bali Mynah ) Particularly memorable were the magnificent Hornbills, Toucans, Tragopans & Pheasants & the incredible Victoria Crowned Pigeons.
Not only are the grounds well laid out but they are so good as to be of interest to gardener's as well as bird enthusiasts. A good selection of herbaceous plantings, some choice shrubs & a very well done herb garden are to be found. In addition to the birds there is a terrific tortoise enclosure for the Herman's tortoise, they have a large grassy outdoor run connected to a Hobbit like dwelling by a large pipe.
At the far end of the park is Jenny Wren Farm where children can get close up to animals.
We attended a flying show held in a barn which was well done & informative & featured three birds, a macaw, a touraco & a burrowing owl ( separately! ) There are other shows listed at the entrance.
Quite a big gift shop at the entrance & an adjoining cafe. Also quite a few refreshment booths throughout the park & plenty of seating areas, some under cover. It's not difficult to find a quiet spot if you want. Incidentally, some of the seating shelters contain interesting information on birds.
There are good play areas scattered through the park & a seasonal small funfair but they are well integrated into the attraction & never detract from the birds..
Very well done to the Owner's of Bird world.
One small gripe-overpriced drinks & snacks.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank keith h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“A great day out”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My family and I love Birdworld.

On my last visit, I travelled with three wheelchair users. The facilities are great, and the staff couldn't be more accommodating.

The shows are great, and we loved watching the penguins being fed.

We met a very funny parrot, who had quite a detailed conversation with us! I believe he is quite famous in and around the park.

The park is well laid out, and the petting zoo is an unexpected treat.

I will continue to visit again and again, both with my work and with family.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely day out”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed this trip - particularly the baby pygmy goats in the petting zoo! Also enjoyed the free-roaming set out of the park and the various information points giving details about the different species in the park. Thoroughly enjoyable day out.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west sussex
Level Contributor
137 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A fabulous afternoon out!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Birdworld is fantastic. A large variety of birds which are in general kept well. It was a lovely sunny day so we could really take our time walking around and enjoying the attraction. Some very funny moments with parrots trying to steal my glasses! Jenny Wren Farm was also great, some young goats which you could sit with provided much hilarity with thier cheeky personalities! The aquarium next door was ok, quite small and some of the tanks could do with a clean and a refurb, but some unusual species to view so not bad. Food and drink overpriced but what do you expect from an attraction? Admission fee fairly high but we had a buy one get one free voucher so turned out to be a cheap day out for us. Would visit again

Helpful?
Thank mrsflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Birdworld also viewed

 
Leatherhead, Surrey
 

Been to Birdworld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing