We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice food and helpful staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Forest Inn

Forest Inn
Ranked #99 of 126 Restaurants in Farnham
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice food and helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Stopped here on the way home on a busy Sunday afternoon. I must say that I was pleasantly surprised as having read some of the previous reviews I thought that it was going to be pretty bad. However the staff were friendly, helpful and eager to please. The food was very good and served within a reasonable time. The prices are great and we had a complete meal including coffee's etc for under £25. All I can say is that if people are expecting gourmet dining then you should look elsewhere and expect to pay much higher prices. Ideal for families etc, we will certainly be returning for another visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    22
    24
    15
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AVOID!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

We went here for a birthday meal, there were five of us, we were there half an hour before we were asked if we would like anything to drink, we then ordered our food which took an hour!!
When it finally came out they had forgotten about two of the meals, so myself and nan had nothing! the meals that did come out were cold and the well done steaks were bloody.
We asked to speak to the manager who was very aggressive and ended up leaving and going to the Woodlark pub in Whitehill which was excellent,
It totally ruined the occasion and I would never ever go back here again!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank smaguire01920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Inn, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Dear smaguire01920,

Thank you for tking the time to provide your review, we have asked our senior management team to investigate the issues you have raised.

We have sent you a direct message to discuss your review further.

Thanks
Fayre & Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hants
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“the worst food i have had”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

me and my friend or the some meal which had lots of different meat on it which was not cook right and also did not ask us both how we wanted the meat to cooked

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
819 reviews
304 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 499 helpful votes
“I JUST CAN'T MAKE UP MY MIND!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

Must admit we've been here a few times, including back in the day when it was Millers Kitchen. Overall the place has improved both in decor and staff atitude which can only be a plus. The staff are friendly and attentive. The problem is with the food service - on the majority of occasions we seem to get the wrong orders or a delay in some of the dishes arriving at the table. This is inconvenient, especially in a group environment. Also, on this visit I chose a mid range wine (white/medium dry) and it was the worst I've had in a long time The waitress did advise me to have the slightly more expensive Banrock but I ignored her advice which was a big mistake

Food portions are good and it must be remembered that you're not paying for a gourmet meal or a fine dining experience. Prices are very reasonable but we seem to always have difficulty working out the "deals" and end up paying slightly more than expected.

However, it is a convenient location and price range if you're in a group (especially on those family occasions when I end up with the bill!). With an out of town location there is always plenty of parking. Overall I might have considered a lower mark if it wasn't for the staff.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nnmercman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great Prices, Great Location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

We went to the Forest Inn on Saturday, which is now a Fayre & Square chain restaurant, previously a Millers Kitchen, me and partner with our two mums, they have many meals on a two for a tenner deal which is great. Lots of veggie meals, I had the veggie sausage toad in the hole a MASSIVE yorkie pud with 3 chunky veggie sausages (not pretend meat-a-like ones!) and a huge dollop of mash not enough peas for my liking though but I am a pea addict!absolutely scrumptious! My mum had a jacket with prawns and was happy with that. Our food came out mega quick BUT my partner and his mums came out 20 mins later than ours which made us feel a tad uncomfortable, but we ate ours anyway as it wouldve got cold. They ordered a bucket of fish which came in a sandcastle bucket! very quaint, he said it was scrummy shame it arrived so late though! we would go again even though half the dinners arrived late. Great prices, its a take your table number and order at the bar type restaurant right next to Bird World and Alice Holt so ideal after a family day out!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mariamerton10x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Forest Inn also viewed

 

Been to Forest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing