We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good mains”
Review of Forest Inn

Forest Inn
Ranked #97 of 127 Restaurants in Farnham
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pontypool
Level Contributor
147 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good mains”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Only the second time I've eaten at this chain. You seat yourself and order at the bar. Meals large and even larger if you upgrade them :) All mains enjoyed. Our daughters fancied the novelty sharing desserts (not cheap). One selection looks like burgers and kebabs and one looks like pizza. The pizza dessert was made up incorrectly and as it's not cheap we pointed this out and asked for the correct dessert. This was done but practically slammed down in front of us. Not sure why - we didn't see "our" waiter to point out the mistake and did so at the bar. Maybe our waiter took offence at this. His little strop was so obvious we burst out laughing. The pizza nearly bounced off the plate. His tip is still in my pocket though!!! I would eat at the chain again but wouldn't pay for the novelty desserts again - the pizza was the better of the two. The all day breakfast was particularly enjoyed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    24
    24
    16
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Don't Bother”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Went out of our way to go to a restaurant with a name we knew Fayre and Square. Wish we hadn't bothered. It was ten to nine at night, the place was virtually empty but we were still told there would be an hours wait for food. Needless to say we didn't bother.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank my o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Inn, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear my o

Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review.

I would like to apologise that we failed to meet your expectations at the Forest Inn in regards to the service you received. I can confirm that I have passed on your concerns to the management team who would like to investigate your feedback. We have sent you a direct message to discuss this further.

Kind regards

Fayre & Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Does exactly what it says on the tin”
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

How people moan about the food here is beyond me, our food was hot, tasty, served with a smile and served quickly. The no quibble quarantee is great, we ordered an ale which was not at it's best which was promptly changed for a different drink.....no quibble. Stop hating or go spend a fortune else where.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bruised_n_broke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walton-on-the-Naze, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A change for the better”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Decided to try this place again, having been there a year or so ago. I wasnt reviewing then but rating would have been 2( poor ) . Food is better now ,as is the service.The place was cleaner and tidier. Offering a good choice of reasonably priced meals.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north yorkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Queued and queued and queued”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Terrible service..queued 25 minutes for a round of drinks and the same again for food.Not really over busy,just a lack of staff,and no one really bothered .Food cheap but not great,when we complained about one ofthe meals not being cooked thoroughly were told the chef said that was because it was fresh!
Would have left at the start but had elderly parents with us so had to sit it out..at least my mother in law said it was an experience she would talk about for months to come!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steveandkaren19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Forest Inn also viewed

 

Been to Forest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing