We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant for one night, but a little shabby”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Farnham
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
202 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Pleasant for one night, but a little shabby”
Reviewed 29 November 2011

My husband and I recently stayed for one night on a business trip. The hotel is located in the heart of Farnham, making it perfectly situated to walk around a very nice town (with many restaurant options). The historic sitting rooms/bar in the hotel are very atmospheric and inviting, but we found the guest rooms are getting a little tired. Dingy paint, poor lighting, but the rooms are good sized and the sheets/bedding were crisp and fresh. The bathroom was in reasonably good condition, although we had to call to ask for a second set of towels. Turns out that the second set is kept in the closet, wrapped in plastic -- okay, but how long have they been in there?? And come on now, it's time for every hotel to offer free internet.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank efpatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    193
    154
    95
    63
See reviews for
122
203
37
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

The Bush is very centrally located in the pretty town of Farnham. The core of the hotel comprising the public areas are in an old and very pretty building whilst the accommadtion is in an attached part that dates from the 70's or 80's. Overall this is a pretty grim place sadly, with nice but clueless staff and no evidence of management. Several of us booked in there on a business trip - our experiences were generally poor.

Booking In - room access cards were issued to a colleague and I, we got to our rooms - a considerable hike away from reception - to find that the cards did not work - another considerable hike - with bags - back to the reception - no phones are provided in public spaces it seems.

New cards in hand I entered my shabby, tired and none too clean room. Howewver my cleaninless expereince was not as bad as my colleagues - her room's bathroom had been used and not cleaned!

A description of the room - tired grubby bathroom, mould on the tiles, original 80's broken tiles had been replaced with various tiles of different designs, encrustation of limescale aroudn the shower head.

One amusing aspect was that a large flat screen TV had been installed - but in front of the two pciture on the wall - very odd to see the TV with half obscured pictures - but the pictures in the room were actually quite nice for hotel pix!

The TV did not appear to work. Reported to reception who said they'd get it fixed - returned to the room on the second night - guess what? Correct. Reported to reception again (but not by the room phone - that too was broken - just as well it was not an emergency) - and was asked if I had switched it on. Given the lights and clock I rathe rthought it was on - however there was in fact a tiny button on one side that was the TV on switch - why didn't recepionist no 1 suggest that? - honestly it was such a tiny button it was very hard to spot.

Night one - woken at about 3 a.m. by a very loud mechanical fan type noise. I could not ring reception to ask about the noise - phoen broken of course - it was really very loud - white noise torture was the best description. Anyway, gave up on sleep and went down to reception - profuse apologies - the heating was faulty.

Retruned to hotel on day 2. Colleague's door card did not work again. Had dinner at the hotel - advice - don't eat here!!! Food was pretty awful. Colleagues had 28 day hung steak, one left his after his jaw muscles gave out. I had fish, but did not expect the fish to have been hung for 28 days too! Accompanied by chips - mostly undercooked and hard and broad beans - also undercooked. It's not as if the resto was busy - there was us and two other people. Strange dining room furniture in the 50 style dining room - melamine topped tables with conference chairs, like eating in a greasy spoon, only the food was not as good. Breakfast was little better food was luke warm and not helped by cold plates. Getting tea and coffee was a struggle. Scrambled egg was very strange - a pale gritty substance swimming in water that somewhere in the mix included a bad egg - it tasted vile.

Apparently there are modernised rooms - I assume mine was not one of them - though maybe...

Please be aware there are three floors and NO LIFTs. If you are disabled or struggle with stairs make sure you are on the ground floor. Better still - stay somewhere else, then you won't suffer the many other problems.

On the bright side though. There are some beautiful fireplaces. Sitting room and dining room have some old fireplaces with Dutch Delft tiles. It's just everything else that lets the hotel down. It really needs to close for a major refurbishment and staff training. After which it could be a really good hotel.

Room Tip: er - go somewhere else. Trouble is, this area is very poorly served for decent hotels. Noet the la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank inari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Farnham hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Slightly dated and a lack lustre feel about the place but cosy none the less! Stayed for one night whilst visiting Farnham for a weekend. Ideal situation in the heart of the town. Mediocre room with very comfortable beds with crisp white cotton linen. Room in newer extension with view over garden...pleasant view and so quiet considering it's proximity to the town. Bathroom fine apart from the tiles need a good clean, not great staring at the black mould whilst relaxing in the bath. (The right cleaning product would get it off in a jiffy!) Felt breakfast was too expensive at £15.50 per head, so nipped over the road to Cafe Rouge. ( Incidentally about 90% of the people in there were from the hotel) Happy, friendly staff at check-in and out. Would stay here again for comfort, easy parking and location.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUSEYG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BUSHFarnham, Front Office Manager at Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear Suseyg,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Farnham Bush. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team and I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all our staff. I have also passed your concerns regarding the bathroom to our housekeeper and I would like to confirm that we are taking appropriate measures to address these concerns and to prevent future occurrence.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasurable as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Joshua Adolph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Me and my girlfriend decided to stay here after comming accross this hotel and am glad we did.

Even before i arrived at this hotel we recieved good customer service, i had e-mailed them and they were very quick and very informative with their replies which was great.

Upon our arrival we were greeted by friendly staff and check in was quick and painless, after a nice stroll we arrived at room 119 ( Dudderidge Room ) and were very pleased with what greeted us on the other side of the door.

We found a Four Poster Bed, a tray with glasses and an ince bucket, a big TV with a mini fridge below it, trouser press and bathroom with good sized bath, the TV had a good selection of Channels and a nice view outside the window.

The bed was very comfortable and had a great nights sleep, the air con kept the room at a nice temperature and didnt get too cold, the room was clean and furnished to a nice standard and feel, overall the room was great and glad we paid for the higher room.

The rest of the hotel was very nice, we arrived in the dark so didnt see it until the morning, we didnt have breakfast or dinner but the bar area looked very confortable and relaxing.

Overall we thought this was a great little find and is near the train station and central Farnham, we shall be returning soon

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c8bondUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BUSHFarnham, Front Office Manager at Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear C8bondUK,

I very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Farnham Bush. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I have shared your comments with our team and I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to us all.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and I hope to welcome you on your next visit.

Yours sincerely,

Joshua Adolph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Very cosy countryside hotel, good location, good parking possibilites. Good service. BUT. Bathroom facilities were out of date. To flush the toilet you need a right technics and/or good luck. There was no handshower. Breakfast was ok even thought it used to be much better, more fruits, berries, cheeses etc.
I have been visiting there few times during 3 last years, and I am worried because quality seems to be going down when prices are going up. Anyway, it is still my choice in that neighbourhood.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BUSHFarnham, Front Office Manager at Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Farnham Bush. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I haved shared your comments about nreakfast with our Food and Beverage team as well as your comments about the bathroom facilities with the Housekeeping and Maintenance teams.

We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back Mercure Farnham Bush and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Yours sincerely,

Joshua Adolph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2011

we have stayed here three years in a row - this time was even better as we had a ground floor room - very modern and gorgeous bathroom - we have previously stayed in the older
part and appreciated it was in need of an update although very clean. The breakfast is outstanding and when we have had dinner it has also been good - however one thing we miss is the toast rack at breakfast -it was a nice touch - now self service toaster - never mind call me old fashioned - we will be staying again next year god willing. One final thing the staff are always very welcoming and courteous.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor annexe are more modern and less noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BUSHFarnham, Front Office Manager at Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear Kim b,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Farnham Bush. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all our staff.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and I trust your next visit will be as pleasurable as the previous ones.

Yours sincerely,

Joshua Adolph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farnham
4.3 mi away
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Bishops Table
The Bishops Table
#4 of 6 in Farnham
104 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Farnham House Hotel
Farnham House Hotel
#5 of 6 in Farnham
278 reviews
4.8 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 7 in Farnborough
1,854 reviews
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Farnborough
Holiday Inn Farnborough
#6 of 7 in Farnborough
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel

Property: Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel
Address: The Borough, Farnham GU9 7NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Farnham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Farnham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Farnham Bush hotel is located in the centre of Farnham, a very short walking distance from the railway station. The Hotel is only 15 minutes drive to Farnborough Airport, around 30 minutes from Heathrow Airport and 35 minutes from Gatwick. Thackery's Restaurant serves modern European cuisine, and the Coachman's Bar is a cosy spot for a nightcap. The 6 fully equipped function rooms can host varying events from small meetings in a boardroom style right up to 140 people for conferences, parties and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel Farnham
Accor Bush Farnham
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing