We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of potential but dated and a bit grubby.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Farnham
Devon, UK
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lots of potential but dated and a bit grubby.”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

On the positive side, the breakfast buffet was good, and the bedding and the toilet were clean!

Mostly though, the whole hotel looks just a bit grubby. We tried to keep an open mind, but at this price point there are definitely better places to stay. It was passable. The building itself is quite attractive and our rooms were quiet, barring the 5-7am heating system noises from the hot water piping nearby.

We were placed in rooms close together, which was considerate. Visually the room is modern, but on closer inspection there is build up of what appears to be a long term lack of care for cleaning (bathroom grout had ground in dirt/mould, bath panel rusty, carpet mostly discoloured, and the head boards in both rooms have greasy marks). We mopped the floor in the bathroom on arrival and it was grey.

Bear in mind that these are "executive" rooms. The sofa bed was worse than Ikea's basic so don't rely on that. Our dog was allowed to stay in the room for a cleaning charge (oh the irony), but to be honest I felt quite bad she had to sleep on a floor that I wouldn't walk on with bare feet.

We did highlight problems on departure and the receptionist was very understanding and suggested they may have been able to improve the situation if they had been told earlier, so this is probably a good idea for others thinking of staying there.

Room Tip: Rooms 217 and 218 were pretty basic despite being executive rooms, and are both by the hot water sys...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ffordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyTijhuis, General Manager at Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for feeding back regarding your stay at the Bush Hotel.
It appreciate all constructive feedback and I would like to apologize for the shortcomings received. I checked the room and we have meanwhile regrouted the bathroom floor and painted the bathroom panel to bring it back to its original standard. We have also installed a new shower head and put a new strip on the bathroom panel to bring it all back to the original standard.

I was surprised to read your feedback regarding the carpet, as it had in fact been properly cleaned not long before your stay, but we ensured this was done again to avoid any such further shortcomings.

Once again, I do appreciate your feedback and I hope we do have the opportunity of welcoming you back to experience a hassle free stay in the future.

Kind regards,

Tony Tijhuis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    197
    157
    103
    71
See reviews for
128
213
38
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were staying as part of a wedding party and were fortunate to have one of the premium rooms overlooking the garden. The hotel is well positioned in the centre of town and an easy walk to the shops. The service in the hotel was excellent. Room clean and looked after, as were the grounds and common areas. It's very easy to criticise but the hotel is graded 3 star and certainly offers a lot more than that.

Well done the Farnham Bush Hotel!!

Room Tip: if the pocket is deep enough, go for the premium rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyTijhuis, General Manager at Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback following your recent stay at the Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel.
I am pleased to read that you were well looked after in all areas and that you enjoyed your stay.
It would give me great pleasure to get the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.
Once again, thank you for writing your review.

Kind regards,

Tony Tijhuis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

It is an historic building full of flavor and character. Some would say it is plain old. If old and quaint is not your style please avoid this hotel. On the other hand it is smack in the middle of Farnham. Easy walking distance from restaurants and shops

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabrizio E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyTijhuis, General Manager at Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback after your stay at the Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel.
I am glad you thought your stay was comfortable and hope to welcome you back soon again.

Kind regards,

Tony Tijhuis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
507 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

A green oasis just off the High Street of this bustling little town. Surprisingly pleasant and well kept gardens - though you couldn't say the same about the rather gloomy and unwelcoming bar area. Despite what other travellers say, our room was fine - though a trouser press would have helped me smarten up for a wedding we were attending. Only grabbed a glass of juice for breakfast but the diners looked happy enough with their fayre.

Room Tip: Overlooking the lawns
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bryanedwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyTijhuis, General Manager at Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following you stay at the Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel. I was pleased to read that you liked the room you were staying in, the location of the hotel and that you liked our lovely gardens.

The reviews regarding our bar area vary between guests. We refurbished our ground floor last year, but tried to keep the bar area traditional and in keeping with the building. I am sorry you found it to be gloomy.
There is quite a lot of nice dark wood in our bar and with the sun shining outside it might come across as a little darker inside, but it is part of a more historic atmopshere and during the day time, one can always enjoy the lovely flowers outside on our terrace.

We hope to be able to welcome you back soon again for any other local celebrations and once again like to thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards,

Tony Tijhuis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Firstly, nicely situated in centre of town, great old world feel was first impression. However this place needs money spending on it quickly. Our room was in "new" wing and hadn't been touched for years. Dated bathroom cracked toilet cistern, bathroom door bare wood in places. Bed was lumpy and smallish by modern standards, decor years old. Hotel corridors with faded carpets and not particularly clean looking. Housekeepers seemed to leave bags of dirty laundry items all over corridor.
Breakfast adequate but that's all. Menu mentioned freshly cooked choices, but never offered and no one really around to ask. Buffet ok but just looked a mess, no one seemingly in charge.

Room Tip: Avoid new wing other rooms maybe better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank birkonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyTijhuis, General Manager at Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us.
I would like to apologize for the shortcomings you received.
Most of our rooms did have a refurbishment in recent years and I am sorry that you weren't offered one of these rooms. The rooms in question are due to get a refurbishment soon, which will bring the standards up further. This also counts for some of our carpets in our corridors.
These are planned to be changed in the near future as well.

I am sorry that you didn't receive the breakfast we generally pride ourselves in and will focus to ensure this will be avoided in the future.
We do hope you will give us the opportunity of welcoming you back so that we can offer you a genuine hassle free stay. Please do contact me directly on Tony.Tijhuis@accor.com the next time you are coming to the local area and I will personally make the arrangements for you.

Kind regards,

Tony Tijhuis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Farnham hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

We held my 30th birthday partying the hotel restaurant which was ours for the evening, the food was excellent, the staff were outstanding. The only little thing was the bar wasn't near the restaurant and was only offered table service after a friend asked but as I said it was excellent.

The other thing was that we wanted to stay the night, a few of us did but unfortunately they don't have triple rooms so our family stayed in a nearby travel lodge, it's a shame as they could have had three or four hotel bookings, in the end we drove home. There were however double rooms but having two children and being my birthday being in two separate rooms didn't feel right.

Our friends couldn't afford the cost of two rooms so stated with family. It was just a shame but hotel was excellent and everyone had a great time and would hold an event there again!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank filmgeekgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyTijhuis, General Manager at Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback on tripadvisor.
We are very pleased that you and your guests enjoyed your birthday celebrations and that you found the hotel to be excellent.

With regards to our bedrooms, we do offer triple rooms, but wouldn't be able to accommodate a family of 4 in 1 bedroom, unless the children are small.
We do, however, offer interconnecting rooms whereby you have an internal door that connects two bedrooms together. That way it doesn't feel like two seperate rooms, but more like a small apartment.

Thank you for holding your party with us and we hope to be able to welcome you back soon again.
Kindest regards,

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winslow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Whilst centred nicely in Farnham town centre with easy access to some great little shops and nice restaurants this hotel is tired. Parking is right at the back of the hotel by a small back street and doesn't give any confidence of being secure. The bar is expensive and the staff in general lack personality and charisma. We didn't eat in the hotel so are unable to comment. The rear gardens are pretty although tainted by the ill designed architecture of the newer wing of rooms. Despite the hotel being perfectly located for our purpose we shall stay elsewhere next time and travel into town by taxi. The 8.00am fire alarm was not a good start to the day and with no apology from the staff when checking out my cynical side felt it was perhaps deliberate to get guests up and out to provide easy access for the cleaners. I have never written a negative review before which also speaks volumes. Very disappointed.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyTijhuis, General Manager at Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay at the Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel, but I was sorry to read that you were disappointed with your stay.

Please except my apologies for the shortcomings you received.
It is not often that we get negative feedback regarding our staff and I find it very important to deliver true hospitality, so rest assured that I will discuss this with our team to prevent future occurrence.

It goes without saying that we don't deliberately set off any fire alarms. These alarms are there to protect the health & safety of our guests. The alarm was caused by a guest in their bedroom and we dealt with it within a few minutes. We are indeed sorry that it caused some guests to wake up and are sorry that you had not received an apology at the time.

Thank you once again for your feedback.
Kindest regards,
Tony Tijhuis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farnham
3.4 mi away
The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
4.3 mi away
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Bishops Table
The Bishops Table
#5 of 6 in Farnham
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Farnham House Hotel
Farnham House Hotel
#4 of 6 in Farnham
282 reviews
4.8 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 7 in Farnborough
1,923 reviews
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Farnborough
Holiday Inn Farnborough
#6 of 7 in Farnborough
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel

Property: Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel
Address: The Borough, Farnham GU9 7NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Farnham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Farnham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Farnham Bush hotel is located in the centre of Farnham, a very short walking distance from the railway station. The Hotel is only 15 minutes drive to Farnborough Airport, around 30 minutes from Heathrow Airport and 35 minutes from Gatwick. Thackery's Restaurant serves modern European cuisine, and the Coachman's Bar is a cosy spot for a nightcap. The 6 fully equipped function rooms can host varying events from small meetings in a boardroom style right up to 140 people for conferences, parties and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel Farnham
Accor Bush Farnham
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing