We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks good from the outside but inside needs an update”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Farnham
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed here for a wedding. Positives always first. The outside of the building looks good, and inside the reception and general decor looks lovely. As you drive in to the hotel car park you get a feeling that the hotel is going to be good, The gardens create a feeling like you are in a hidden space you never would know was there in Farnham. The location meant that at night time it was nice and quiet which was great. The negatives. The room we had needed an update, the corridors and the room looked a little bit shabby at the edges and seems over due for a refurbishment. The bathroom had cracked tiles on the floor and the shower head unfortunately was covered with limescale. My only other complaint is with the pillows on the bed, they were rock hard! Overall not a bad night stop, and not bad for a three star hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank mel123Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyTijhuis, General Manager at Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at the Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel.
I am pleased to read that you liked our gardens, which offer a nice calm setting for our hotel.

I also note your feedback regarding the room, which will be updated soon. Whilst this is being sorted, we have meanwhile organized for the bathroom floor to be retiled and apologize it had some cracks in it.

We will continue to further improve on our facilities and do hope to be able to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards,

Tony Tijhuis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (653)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

386 - 392 of 653 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed at the Mercure Bush Farnham for 2 nights for our daughters wedding nearby. For a 3 star hotel the accommodation is good- our room in the old part was spacious comfortable and had air conditioning. The lounge and bar were ideal for relaxation and TV in bar (and outside at times) showed World Cup. The gardens and courtyard provide tranquil areas away from the bustle of the high street. The breakfast choice is great for a 3 star and buffet style means it meets your own needs without being rushed. All staff were polite and very helpful.
Would we return(the acid test)? Yes definitely.

Room Tip: Rooms in the old part tend to be larger but avoid a room fronting the high street.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bian01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyTijhuis, General Manager at Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback following your stay at the Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel.
I am very glad you enjoyed your stay very much and that you liked your room, our breakfast offerings, the bar and our very calm gardens.
I also passed on your kind feedback regarding our staff to our team, which is always a good motivator.
We hope you enjoyed your daughter's wedding nearby and hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Tony Tijhuis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I stayed for a week with my family whilst relocating from abroad. We had a family room with a double bed and a double sofa bed. The room was in the modern bit of the hotel, overlooking the car park. Surprisingly quiet! The room decor was ok. Nothing bad butt nothing great either. The mattress on the double bed was ok. The room had all the basic mod cons most hotels have: coffee/tea facilities, extra pillows/blankets, tv, desk, power points, ironing board, iron and toiletries. At check in we were given the run through the various things on offer including timings for breakfast (at no point anyone pointed out that this was extra!). Breakfast was ok. Cereals, pastries, toast, jams, fruit (of the canned variety), cooked breakfast (ok but nothing great), yoghurt and coffee/tea and juices. Breakfast is self service, apart for hot beverages. The restaurant is in a beautiful room overlooking the garden. Service is ok, but nobody gets out of their way to give any extra help/suggestion. We had dinner a couple of times and the food was ok. The bar is ok but there is little sitting/standing space, particularly when an event is on. I believe the old part of the hotel has refurbished rooms. Our end, the more modern one was ok, but some of the carpets/furnishings were showing their age. All in all a good stay, convenient for the town. The hotel has on site parking. Considering the size of the facility, it's great location and the large amount of people that use it, it could do with being kept up a bit better and staff trained to be more courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iside26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyTijhuis, General Manager at Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your deatiled feedback following your stay at the Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and take your feedback on board to further enhance our product and services.

I hope you family are meanwhile nicely settled back into the UK and that you we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel for any future visits you may have.

Kindest regards,

Tony Tijhuis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

On the positive side, the breakfast buffet was good, and the bedding and the toilet were clean!

Mostly though, the whole hotel looks just a bit grubby. We tried to keep an open mind, but at this price point there are definitely better places to stay. It was passable. The building itself is quite attractive and our rooms were quiet, barring the 5-7am heating system noises from the hot water piping nearby.

We were placed in rooms close together, which was considerate. Visually the room is modern, but on closer inspection there is build up of what appears to be a long term lack of care for cleaning (bathroom grout had ground in dirt/mould, bath panel rusty, carpet mostly discoloured, and the head boards in both rooms have greasy marks). We mopped the floor in the bathroom on arrival and it was grey.

Bear in mind that these are "executive" rooms. The sofa bed was worse than Ikea's basic so don't rely on that. Our dog was allowed to stay in the room for a cleaning charge (oh the irony), but to be honest I felt quite bad she had to sleep on a floor that I wouldn't walk on with bare feet.

We did highlight problems on departure and the receptionist was very understanding and suggested they may have been able to improve the situation if they had been told earlier, so this is probably a good idea for others thinking of staying there.

Room Tip: Rooms 217 and 218 were pretty basic despite being executive rooms, and are both by the hot water sys...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ffordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyTijhuis, General Manager at Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for feeding back regarding your stay at the Bush Hotel.
It appreciate all constructive feedback and I would like to apologize for the shortcomings received. I checked the room and we have meanwhile regrouted the bathroom floor and painted the bathroom panel to bring it back to its original standard. We have also installed a new shower head and put a new strip on the bathroom panel to bring it all back to the original standard.

I was surprised to read your feedback regarding the carpet, as it had in fact been properly cleaned not long before your stay, but we ensured this was done again to avoid any such further shortcomings.

Once again, I do appreciate your feedback and I hope we do have the opportunity of welcoming you back to experience a hassle free stay in the future.

Kind regards,

Tony Tijhuis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were staying as part of a wedding party and were fortunate to have one of the premium rooms overlooking the garden. The hotel is well positioned in the centre of town and an easy walk to the shops. The service in the hotel was excellent. Room clean and looked after, as were the grounds and common areas. It's very easy to criticise but the hotel is graded 3 star and certainly offers a lot more than that.

Well done the Farnham Bush Hotel!!

Room Tip: if the pocket is deep enough, go for the premium rooms!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyTijhuis, General Manager at Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback following your recent stay at the Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel.
I am pleased to read that you were well looked after in all areas and that you enjoyed your stay.
It would give me great pleasure to get the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.
Once again, thank you for writing your review.

Kind regards,

Tony Tijhuis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

It is an historic building full of flavor and character. Some would say it is plain old. If old and quaint is not your style please avoid this hotel. On the other hand it is smack in the middle of Farnham. Easy walking distance from restaurants and shops

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Fabrizio E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyTijhuis, General Manager at Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback after your stay at the Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel.
I am glad you thought your stay was comfortable and hope to welcome you back soon again.

Kind regards,

Tony Tijhuis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

A green oasis just off the High Street of this bustling little town. Surprisingly pleasant and well kept gardens - though you couldn't say the same about the rather gloomy and unwelcoming bar area. Despite what other travellers say, our room was fine - though a trouser press would have helped me smarten up for a wedding we were attending. Only grabbed a glass of juice for breakfast but the diners looked happy enough with their fayre.

Room Tip: Overlooking the lawns
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bryanedwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyTijhuis, General Manager at Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following you stay at the Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel. I was pleased to read that you liked the room you were staying in, the location of the hotel and that you liked our lovely gardens.

The reviews regarding our bar area vary between guests. We refurbished our ground floor last year, but tried to keep the bar area traditional and in keeping with the building. I am sorry you found it to be gloomy.
There is quite a lot of nice dark wood in our bar and with the sun shining outside it might come across as a little darker inside, but it is part of a more historic atmopshere and during the day time, one can always enjoy the lovely flowers outside on our terrace.

We hope to be able to welcome you back soon again for any other local celebrations and once again like to thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards,

Tony Tijhuis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farnham
3.4 mi away
The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
4.3 mi away
Frensham Pond Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Bishops Table
The Bishops Table
#5 of 6 in Farnham
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Farnham House Hotel
Farnham House Hotel
#4 of 6 in Farnham
287 reviews
4.8 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 7 in Farnborough
1,982 reviews
5.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel

Address: The Borough, Farnham GU9 7NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Farnham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Farnham
Price Range: £72 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Farnham Bush hotel is located in the centre of Farnham, a very short walking distance from the railway station. The Hotel is only 15 minutes drive to Farnborough Airport, around 30 minutes from Heathrow Airport and 35 minutes from Gatwick. Thackery's Restaurant serves modern European cuisine, and the Coachman's Bar is a cosy spot for a nightcap. The 6 fully equipped function rooms can host varying events from small meetings in a boardroom style right up to 140 people for conferences, parties and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel Farnham
Accor Bush Farnham
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing