We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good service; what you would expect from Accor Hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Farnham
manchester
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very good service; what you would expect from Accor Hotels”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

A very pleasant stay at the Mercure Bush hotel. The location is good; right in the centre of Farnham, but big gardens and car park. There is the old inn, which is characterful, and a large extension running beside the gardens. Accor group- please consider replacing the 1st floor corridor carpet, as it is fraying, and sun-faded; a shame, as the rooms are of a good size, with a large bathroom and ferociously powerful water pressure! Staff are courteous and hard-working; I like the manager hovering at reception, ready to help. Breakfast buffet is definitely above average, with a strong French influence, as you might expect. A very good two night stay.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank johnbuchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyTijhuis, General Manager at Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind review following your 2 night stay at the Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel.

Your positive comments will certainly boost our staff motivation. We are pleased you enjoyed your entire stay.
Thank you also for your feedback regarding the 1st floor carpets in the wing extension. These had been on order for a while and our carpet fitter is about to replace these in the next few weeks.

We look forward to getting the opportunity of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Kindest regards,

Tony Tijhuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    189
    149
    92
    54
See reviews for
117
192
36
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My wife and I were married at the Bush Hotel at the end of May 2014, we had a wonderful day and the hotel were fantastic. The staff couldn't have done anything more to make the day more complete than it was. The venue was just what we wanted, flexible enough to be indoors if the weather doesn't want to play ball and the grounds are lovely if it does, we were lucky. Some great backdrops for the photos, such as the courtyard and the benches on the lawn. Thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyTijhuis, General Manager at Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your recommendation of the Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel as an ideal wedding venue. We are very pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your wedding.

We look forward to welcoming you back for many more occasions in the future.
Kindest regards,

Tony Tijhuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
246 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The good aspects: centrally located, near castle and shops. Parking- free to residents. Breakfast was also ok.

The bad: service in general.. only 1 person on reception - although usually a second person around but not dealing with those waiting.. bar- very slow and lucky if you can find anyone. They are also not overly friendly and the receptionists did not seem to know the area....
Price- if you pay £75- ok-ish but any more and it is not worth it.
The hotel looks tired and dated. Bedrooms are of a reasonable size but pls note- there are only stairs and no lift to upper floors .bathroom was adequate- but nothing special.
Noise- this is an old property and has creaking floorboards and no sound proofing so if you want to sleep- you will be lucky.. you can hear people in the bar and I had neighbours arguing in the early hours- and could hear every word....and was woken up again very early by people in the corridor.
I would not recommend this hotel....

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyTijhuis, General Manager at Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay.
It is nice to see that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and our breakfast.

We are sorry that you wouldn't recommend our hotel and will use your feedback to improve on our services.
As our hotel has 94 bedrooms, please do feel free to request a room away from the bar if you ever require a room in the future, as we have many quiet bedrooms in quiet corridors as well.
Thank you once more for your feedback and we do hope to get the opportunity to offer you a completely hassle free experience.
Kindest regards,

Tony Tijhuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Farnham hotels

East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I have used this venue, on a number of occassions, for informal business meetings. The last two occassions have been breakfast meetings; as the food is good and the tables adequately spaced for a private chat.
The staff are attentive without being intrusive. We were still chatting as they started to lay up other tables for lunch, so we offered to move to the coffee lounge and were immediately met with, "No problem sir, you're welcome to stay there as long as you like."
I have recommended this venue to others, at networking events, as it is a little gem - even if a little expensive. However, you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wings712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyTijhuis, General Manager at Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback following several visits to the Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel.

We are very pleased that you enjoy our service and our breakfast and I have passed on your feedback to the team, which boosts our staff motivation.
Thank you also for your recommendations.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back on many more occasions.
Kindest regards,

Tony Tijhuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We arrived late on a Friday evening and greeted by friendly staff on reception. The lady informed us the bar served food from 9-11pm which was a God send given our long journey.
Upon entering the room on the 3rd floor (note no lifts in the hotel) we couldn't get in due to faulty keys but even when they were changed it still took around 8 or 9 tries to get in the room. The rooms were clean and well presented however the bathrooms are awful and facilities are broken in most cases and riddled with mould.
After finding a sofa in the bar area as there are only a handful of tables to sit at for dinner we waited 20 minutes at the bar before trying to find someone to serve us. After 35 minutes we were finally served and 45 minutes later our cold bland food arrived. That's all I'll say.
We retired for the evening at 11pm and were woken constantly throughout the night from midnight to 4am by the happy drunken people from the bar roaming the halls. Had we not had to be up at 4am that morning we probably could have overlooked it but after calling reception 4 times they still did nothing about the excessive noise in the next room.
Breakfast was cold, dry, over cooked and served with out a smile.
Overall highly disappointed considering the price.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannahBBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyTijhuis, General Manager at Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel.

We are sorry for the shortcomings you received. Pleased rest assured that these will be addressed to improve on our service and product.
We hope to be able to welcome you back to experience a hassle free stay in the future.
To discuss your feedback further, please do feel free to contact me personally at any time.

Kindest regards,

Tony Tijhuis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a wedding last weekend. It is in all honesty, an average to good hotel but nothing special. The room was fine apart from the blind being rickety and set at a 45 degree angle that had to be fiddled with for some time to get straight again. The room itself was OK but nothing more than you would get in a Premier Inn (no robes, additional touches, water). For the money charged, I thought it was just about fair.

The staff were good although the barman who was on _all day_ for the wedding was, in truth, clearly hacked off by late afternoon! His rotund _sometimes_ colleague was the polar opposite – all quips and jolly observations. Reception staff were friendly although the much anticipated exit code and ordered newspaper didn’t appear under the door as promised (we then had to ask for it to be removed from the bill).

Breakfast was very good indeed. Absolutely no complaints there.

So, in sum: it is an old (Crossroads style ‘modern’ wing notwithstanding) character hotel that is wonderfully located in town and is enclosed by very nice parkland style gardens. It does feel ever-so slightly tired in terms of décor but that isn’t so unusual with these aged old buildings and, in all honesty, I’m not too bothered by that as it makes (when in the mood) a rather nice antidote to the pristine corporate sleeping factories you can find yourself in in the big cities. It’s really not bad; it just ain’t great that’s all!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank haywa_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyTijhuis, General Manager at Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review following you recent stay at the Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel.
We are pleased that you enjoyed the setting and gardens of the hotel, as well as our breakfast offering.
We take your feedback fully on board and hope to welcome you back in the future to experience further improvements to our facilities. Thank you again for your detailed review.

Kindest regards,

Tony Tijhuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

As afternoon teas go this wasn't bad but it wasn't great either ..... very average. The cakes were shop brought apart from the scones that were the size of 50p pieces hard and flat. Plenty of clotted cream but the jam was the cheaper variety with no bits or flavour ..... The sandwiches were ample although the fillings a little sparse - the cucumber ones were bland and I was expecting some cream cheese. Tea good although no choice and only 1 pot between two. Service was good and the waiter courteous when we requested more tea. the surroundings are generally comfortable although the décor in the hotel is very dark and unwelcoming - rather dated. I would not want to spend time much time here.

Room Tip: Cannot comment on rooms - only saw communal area's
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tabletopeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyTijhuis, General Manager at Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your visit to have afternoon tea with us at the Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel. We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy the afternoon tea. We intend to go back to making all our cakes in house and hope this will help to regain a positive score in our guest experience.
We have a wide ranges of teas on offer as well and have discussed your feedback with the team to ensure this range is offered at all times.

The decor in our Oak Lounge is traditional oak, which in this case is a dark oak. Some guests really love it and we are sorry that others including yourselves find it to be too dark. It can be very cosy surroundings near the log fire in winter and in summer I would always recommend to enjoy the afternoon tea in our lovely gardens. (weather permitting)

We hope to be able to get the opportunity of welcoming you back and have a different experience. Kindest regards,

Tony Tijhuis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farnham
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Farnham
Premier Inn Farnham
#2 of 6 in Farnham
107 reviews
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel
3.4 mi away
The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Bishops Table
The Bishops Table
#4 of 6 in Farnham
100 reviews
1.8 mi away
Farnham House Hotel
Farnham House Hotel
#5 of 6 in Farnham
266 reviews
4.8 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 8 in Farnborough
1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel

Property: Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel
Address: The Borough, Farnham GU9 7NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Farnham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Farnham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Farnham Bush hotel is located in the centre of Farnham, a very short walking distance from the railway station. The Hotel is only 15 minutes drive to Farnborough Airport, around 30 minutes from Heathrow Airport and 35 minutes from Gatwick. Thackery's Restaurant serves modern European cuisine, and the Coachman's Bar is a cosy spot for a nightcap. The 6 fully equipped function rooms can host varying events from small meetings in a boardroom style right up to 140 people for conferences, parties and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel Farnham
Accor Bush Farnham
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing