We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Tilford Woods Lodge Relaxing Break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tilford Woods Lodge Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tilford Woods Lodge Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Tilford Woods Lodge Relaxing Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Just returned from a four day break at Tilford woods, we found the lodge easily enough although the four o`clock check in time seems late in the day, the sat nav took us straight to the turning, the accommodation we booked was the Corbett Lodge with hot tub and sauna, we got it a reduced price and we have thoroughly enjoyed our break, the lodge is spacious with the hot tub sited out the back and is fairly secluded although as another reviewer has written the gate needs to be as secluded as the fencing and the kids can be a pain, the temperature was great and the jets provide a nice relaxing time. the sauna is placed just off of the bathroom and whilst it is easy enough to use, I did manage to set the time incorrectly which had I not noticed looked like the sauna would have come on at two in the morning, one tip is to leave the top bathroom window/skylight open, we closed in one evening and the whole place ended up like a sauna. we stayed in lodge number 29 and it is far enough away from the golf club, car park and main road to be very quiet indeed. would we go again? yes but only if we got the same deal and probably the same lodge.

TIP: Avoid lodges 1,2,3,4,5,6 as these are sited by the golf club approach road, there are 33 in total , but not all have hot tub and sauna, all in all a superb four days with enough places of interest near by, enough pubs to visit and woods to wander in.

Room Tip: pick lodges at the far end of the site as these are the quieter ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steveflisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    34
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
43
113
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Stayed in the cobbet traditional.. Gorgeous inside.. Hot tub was lovely, although had to shoo a couple of kids away from being nosy... The back gate could do with the same privacy as the sides... Would definitely go again as long as I got another great saving (a tad expensive otherwise)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinotprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Me and my partner stayed at the Cobett contemporary lodge for 3 nights. Firstly I would say its not very well signposted and could do with a sign off the main road pointing in the right direction! However upon arrival we were really pleased as the lodge is lovely, really clean and modern.
Its been mentioned before however a big disappointment was a lack of shower, they could really do with putting up a shower curtain as the whole bathroom floor gets soaked! Also, the bedroom has no window, only a patio door (Which I was reluctant to leave open all night long, even on such a hot weekend, so maybe a fan or something would have been appropriate)
The hot tub was brilliant, although we struggled turning the temperature down as it was such a hot weekend, the maintenence guy helped and changed it for us though no problem.
Didnt really like that the decking area at the back was covered with a plastic roof, would have been nice to have this open, having said that though it wasnt too much of a problem.
Overally though, the lodge was lovely, well maintained and really good for a chilled out weekend away in the countryside.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CheshireCat_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

The lodge was lovely but in the brochure the pictures show the lodges overlooking ponds with decked areas where you sit and relax, we booked the luxury lodge with hot tub and all we overlook is another lodge. Our hot tub is about 10ft from the golf club car park and the road is being dug up so pneumatic drills drown out the birds. I've never been so disappointed, the brochure led me to believe Telford was miles from anywhere a secluded haven, quite frankly I've driven 2 hrs and given half a chance would go home now, as it was quieter at home.

Room Tip: Don't book number 5 the hot tub is practically in next doors car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sumer110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013 via mobile

We could live here. The lodge was a Cobbett contemporary and was lovely. On arrival it was very clean and they had left some washing up liquid, tea / coffee, and a dish washing tablet etc. The rooms were tastefully decorated and the bed was the comfiest we'd slept on. We used the hot-tub at least twice a day. A previous reviewer had said that they'd felt like an extra from 'Tenko' because the hot tub area is covered with Reed matting and there is nothing to see but in all honesty we were happy with it because we wanted it to be secluded. The notice said the tub would be checked three times a day but we never saw anyone but then we were out most of the day anyway. The spa bath was lovely and the sauna was good. We stayed in lodge 23 which saw the sun first thing in the morning and had the ducks congregating outside looking for a cheap breakfast. One of the little beggars came into the lounge one afternoon!

The Duke of Cambridge pub is a hundred yards away which you access through the site and it serves good ales and food. It has a good play area for kids. We couldn't fault it. Another pub three miles away you must visit is the Mill at Elstead which has an absolutely beautiful setting. We went on trip advisor to look at its reviews and were disappointed to find they all complained about the food. We never visited until our last day and were so impressed with its location that we booked a meal for that evening. The pub has new owners (9 weeks) and the food was great. Some of the poor reviews are very recent but I can't help but feel these are maybe locals who perhaps have a vested interest in other establishments. We are from Kent so are completely impartial.

As for Tilford Woods - we will be going back to chill out again.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Have just returned from a 3 night stay in a Cobbett Contempory Lodge. Lodge was perfectly clean with everything included that you could want -bar one thing, but I will come to that later. Furnishings all modern and excellent, plenty of space for just two people. Didn't use washing machine, dishwasher or suana so can't comment on those. Nice to find washing up liquid and tablets, j cloth and scrubber as well as a basket with tea, coffee and uht milk - even though I'd taken all my own as very rarely find them at other places.
Used the hot tub every day - sometimes twice and although there was a notice to say it would be checked three times a day we never saw anyone- he must of made a point of coming around when we were off site. Had a few issues with screaming children running around the back of our decking where the tub was, which in one area is not covered in so you can be seen, but soon put them right.
If I had to complain about anything it would be the lack of a shower. There is a lovely bathroom with a jacuzzi bath but only a hand held shower with no attachment high up or a curtain or shower door so if you hose yourself down after using the hottub you end up wetting the entire area. Personally I would do away with the sauna and have a proper walk in shower which would be much more beneficial, especially for such a high end lodge.
All in all enjoyed it and would return if we had the opportunity another year. If you go have a visit to Farnham which is the nearest small town - very nice even in the wet!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sootycat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

We stayed for a long weekend in the Sturt lodges, great price for 3 nights, lovely and clean too, well furnished too, however slightly let down by broken dustbin and bathroom fittings. Also the cutting of the grass should it really be done on a Sunday morning??????? Good location, and the lodges even though there are many they aren't really over looked. When booking via hose axons they could of been more helpfull too.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cvh1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farnham
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel
3.8 mi away
The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
3.6 mi away
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 7 in Farnborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
11.5 mi away
Premier Inn Farnham
Premier Inn Farnham
#2 of 6 in Farnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
4.4 mi away
Farnham House Hotel
Farnham House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Farnham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tilford Woods Lodge Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tilford Woods Lodge Retreat

Property: Tilford Woods Lodge Retreat
Address: Tilford Road, Farnham GU10 2DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Farnham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Farnham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tilford Woods Lodge Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tilford Woods Lodge Retreat offers luxurious log cabin accommodation in the heart of beautiful rural Surrey. Enchanting woodland and open commons surround the park, which is nestled within the Surrey Hills Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. All of our self-catering lodges are designed to the highest specifications and feature all modern conveniences including a television, DVD player, fully fitted kitchen and veranda. Some of our lodges even feature a hot-tub, sauna or spa bath. Tilford Woods is the perfect holiday location, whether you want to relax or are looking for a base to explore the south of England. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tilford Woods Lodge Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tilford Woods Lodge Retreat Farnham, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing