We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Colony Chinese Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Colony Chinese Restaurant
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“very disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Had'nt been to this restaurant for a long time, and wish we had'nt gone this time. The food was pretty awful and tasteless, the service was appalling and the atmosphere was dire - apart from our table of 10 there was only one other couple in the restaurant, and this was on a Saturday night.
Will certainly not be returning, and would recommend that you give this establishment a WIDE BERTH.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank roger1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    0
    5
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Aweful, and that's being kind”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Not been in the place since the mid 90's so thought lets see what it's like now. Wish I hadn't. Here is is from the start.

We ask the girl behind the takaway counter if there were any tables for 2, she took her attention away from her facebooking activity on the mobile phone long enough to say, just go up the stairs. As we start to walk up the stairs, the carpets are so old and sticky they haven't seen a clean in God knows when.

We get stopped near the top by a girl dressed like she has just got out of, or about to go to bed. she says wait here. we then get another 2 staff, one that looks like they have just come from washing the dishes and another in some outfit that seems an attempt at a waitress unform. They both tell us come up, then no wait.

Eventually we get into the seating area and shown to a table. the walls and ceiling including light fixings are old, dirty and YUCK.

We are given 1 menu between us and a wine list.. The prawn crackers on the table taste soggy and there is more dipping sauce down the side of the bowl and on the table cloth, than in the bowl.

We order 2 bottled beers which come out pre poored and not to the top of the glass. The food was well below average even for a takeaway. i had deep fried prawns which came out on a bed of lettuce that was dog eared and browning, I've seen healthier more vibrant lettuce in my food recycling bin. The whole plate was swimming in grease.

I ordered another beer. The staff member in the bedroom outfit proceeded to bring out a bottle of beer and literaly up ended it into the glass creating a frothy head the size of half the glass. Expecting her to now put it down along with the still half full bottle of beer, she puts the glass down and walks off with the rest of my beer.

I wish I han't watched her walk off as I was treated to a look at the room she went into and it was disgusting, dirty plates, pans etc in sinks and on counters right next to where the 2 other staff were plating up food

We got the bill and decided to leave.

My wife needed to loo before we got out of there. She reported that it smelt horrible, the toilet itself was filthy, stained and disgusting. the walls and ceiling had cobwebs and the floor had some more sticky old carpet.

I was truely expecting to be ill the next day, luckily it was not the case.

Why oh why has this place not come to the attention of Evironmental Health Officers????

Do yourself, your wallet and most importantly your stomach a favor, stay clear!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HellsKitchen777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shepperton, middlesex
1 review
“If ya want your pants taken down eat here”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Well I suppose I was just helping them pay the rent, no dish tasted like any other Chinesse equivalent I've ever had, expensive drinks in a building that resembles "most haunted" even had to ask to put some music on just to feel a bit like we wernt impossible , oh yeah and there's a service charge to be ware of, won't be going back and DO NOT order the beef in black bean sauce, the beef feels like it's been beaten with a hammer just to tender it up, all in all, never again 2 adults , 3 kids and a baby £87.70 , needless to say I never left a tip....

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bigjohnjack0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“indifferent really”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

It's a Saturday night it's a treat and we are at the Colony. Where to start, Food it was ok you wouldn't write home about it, it is no more special than any other Chinese restaurant in Farnham, none of them are "special" when it's comes to taste, appearance. Drink same no more to say really. Service one in a waitress outfit one in pullover covering takeaway, nothing special. Cleanliness -the last time I went to a toilet like that was in a factory unit and with this in mind surprised the place was open, enough said. Right as a summary, a below average place in decline surviving on takeaways and fill your boots food and cleanliness is not a priority.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank newlandsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Its good value in a good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

This is basic Chinese food at good prices and staff who will go the extra mille for you. At £12.90 for " all you can eat " the decision is simple. If you want to stay late , they accommodate you. Just booked 20 people for a xmas night out . No one will be complaining..

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RollerCoaster999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Colony Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 
Runfold, Farnham
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing