We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place for afternoon tea”
Review of The Vintage Cake House - CLOSED

The Vintage Cake House
Description: The Vintage Cake House is a traditional English style tearoom run by a small team who each have a passion for vintage style, baking, tea drinking and providing friendly service, good quality fresh food and fantastic tea & coffee. Located in the historical town of Farnham, Surrey - situated on Downing Street, we are blessed to be surrounded by other beautiful listed buildings. We thrive on being a completely independent business & the only Tearoom in Farnham. Please browse our website for more information
Restaurant details
Description: The Vintage Cake House is a traditional English style tearoom run by a small team who each have a passion for vintage style, baking, tea drinking and providing friendly service, good quality fresh food and fantastic tea & coffee. Located in the historical town of Farnham, Surrey - situated on Downing Street, we are blessed to be surrounded by other beautiful listed buildings. We thrive on being a completely independent business & the only Tearoom in Farnham. Please browse our website for more information
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Beautifully presented tea shop with lovely cakes too. Love the bone china and vintage furniture too. Staff are really friendly & would love to be able to visit again sometime, but as I live in Devon it will be a while!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EmmaG987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vintage c, General Manager at The Vintage Cake House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for your comments. We hope it is not too long before you get to visit us again. Kind regards, the Vintage Cake House team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 45 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013

A hidden gem tucked away at the bottom of Downing St. Piping hot coffee, a wide selection of teas, scrumptious sandwiches and the types of cakes your grannie used to make when you were a kid. Friendly and helpful staff. All in all a welcome change from the ubiquitous corporate coffee conveyor belt chains

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vintage c, General Manager at The Vintage Cake House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for your review. We are so glad you had a great experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kindest regards
The Vintage Cake House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I took my friend for a cream tea on Saturday. The tea room looked stunning from the outside with a cute summer window display (I think they have now changed it to an Autumn theme?) which I love because it shows the creativity and attention to detail! Inside the decor is shabby chic without over doing it.

We entered the tearoom and were greeted by three lovely smiling faces in spite the fact that the young girls were rushed off their feet! We had to wait about 10 minutes for a table which we didn't mind at all - we were given a menu to read and even offered a glass of water while waiting.

When we sat down our table was promptly cleared and we were asked if we were ready to order - we ordered our cream teas - they arrived within about 15 minutes, the young girl serving us apologised for the wait - again we competently understood seeing as there wasn't a free table in the room - every time someone left another table entered!

Our scones were served WARM, with a large pot of clotted cream and strawberry jam! The scones were clearly freshly baked they were so soft and delicious! The tea was loose leafed which is a lovely change from the regular teabags you get elsewhere!! The tea was served with pretty bone china, jug of milk and small teaspoons - I loved the fact there was a sugar bowl with real sugar cubes and a little sugar tongs aswell. Our cream teas were £5.95 each - we felt this was great value for what we received and the service that came with it..

All in all me and my friend had the most wonderful experience here - we felt so welcome, almost at home ... even though they were packed out for the whole time we were there. It is a small tearoom because its obviously an old building and they use the space well - so theres no point in getting upset if you feel a little cramped! We felt very cosy and warm seeing as it was a rainy day.

Love this place - great value for money and we would recommend to anyone!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kristina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vintage c, General Manager at The Vintage Cake House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for your review. We are so glad you had a great experience with us. Kindest regards
The Vintage Cake House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Visited today with a friend for the Vintage Cream Tea and was very impressed. Expected it to be really busy as we arrived in Farnham just after 2 pm but needn't have worried as we're easily able to get a table. Our order was taken very promptly and the choices explained clearly.

We were each able to pick a sandwich choice from the menu which was freshly made, we chose egg mayo with rocket and a smoked salmon one and these are cut into fingers and presented nicely on the bottom tier of the cake stand. Then we had the choice of fruit or plain scone with clotted cream and jam which went on the second tier (scones were warm). And finally two slices of Victoria sponge on the top.

We chose the English Breakfast Tea which was loose tea and served in a teapot with tea strainer (had forgotten what one of those was!) and we each had three cups of tea from this. Wonderful, none of this weak dishwasher tea as I call it.

All in all a lovely afternoon and my friend had a lovely belated birthday treat. The only slight negative if u can call it that was I wanted to buy her some of the loose tea and they had just sold out. Shows that people really appreciate a good cuppa! :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vintage c, General Manager at The Vintage Cake House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor.
We really appreciate the feed back and we are very happy you enjoyed your visit to the tearoom - we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards
The Vintage Cake House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I love visiting the Vintage Cake House. Everything about the Cake House is amazing!

Really is a great value lunch. All the paninis and sandwiches are made for you fresh after you have ordered and all taste like they should cost twice as much. Everything is served by a collection of really happy enthusiastic ladies, all the time enjoying the cute little interior and decor.

Would recommend this to anyone who vales an independent high street and wants to have a great value lunch in Farnham.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank s0a0m0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vintage c, General Manager at The Vintage Cake House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor. We really appreciate the feed back and are very pleased that you enjoyed you visit. Kind regards The Vintage Cake House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Vintage Cake House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing