We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired and in need of investment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Farnham House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Farnham
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tired and in need of investment”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Its a typical english hotel. all the fixtures and fittings are cheap and so the feel is less than it should be, THe showers are useless - either too hot or too cold (we had the 4 poster bedroom, - just a double not even queen size) and the shower was only boiling - it had a warning saying that it was hot - what it should say is "suitable for tea making", my wife nearly scolded herself badly and the pressure is so great that the shower head wont sit in its cradle. breakfast expensive for what you get (bacon cheap unsmoked, poor quality coffee). Staff are very friendly but I wouldn't recommend it as somewhere to stay. Pity, the grounds are lovely and one day someone will invest in it and make it a success.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickDyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    74
    61
    42
    32
See reviews for
65
90
12
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Have stayed at this hotel a couple of times on business in the past and it was adequate, but will never go back after yesterdays farce, my work colleage was taken ill the morning of our arrival, so i contacted late rooms who i use all the time to try and cancel her room, only to be told that the hotel will not play ball and are sticking to thier policy of 4pm before day of arrival which would have been sunday !
I pushed my point to the hotel direct but they blamed late rooms and said i should have booked direct with them.
So here i am with a grubby room which has cost me £170 not even offered a better room which would have helped, and 2 cooked breakfast's, yes they stood firm on that point too, not that i ate any as it looked so disgusting !
So back to the hotel, on arrival it all looks rather grand from the outside, looks are very deceiving, inside the place is tired and run down, when i arrived yesterday in the rain, thier were several empty maonnaise buckets on the first landing strategiacally placed to catch the rain pissing in from the roof ( see picture ) still thier the next morning when the sun was shining ?
The room was small dirty, dated and a previoud occupant had left me some of her hair in the bath, yuk........
Slept very badly due to constant flow of people coming in at all hours shouting and banging doors, on a monday night in farnham !!!
The lack of staff seem to be preoccupied and not interested, and my take on it, is all they are interested in is money spinning weddings.
Lastly back to the breakfast, the waitress proudly said it is buffet style today, well 2 stainless containers with candles under them which had obviously been burning away for at least an hour unattended or stirred, the scrambled egg was green and floating in liquid, the bacon also dry and green, and the sausages..........don't even go their..............in fact......
DO NOT GO THIER !!!!!
BOOK AT YOUR PERIL

Come and get married in my large back garden, i am sure it would be a better experiance...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Farnham hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

First let me say the staff we met were excellent, friendly, helpful and courteous. The hotel is very tired and needs a refurb, its dark and smells, especially in the bar area. The room we stayed in was small and run down, I've stayed in larger and much cleaner Guest Houses. Unfortunately we chose to eat in their Restaurant, big mistake. I must agree with a previous reviewer that the cook ( not a chef) was either on work experience or didn't care less. Food just thrown together on the plate and not very nice. At breakfast the milk had soured, so the first mouthful of cereal was the first time I realised it, hence one ruined meal. Check out we were asked to pay again even though we had paid in advance, soon sorted though. Plenty of Hotels in the area, try somewhere else, I won't be back.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ponsaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exeter
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

This really wasn't the hotel's fault in many ways - we pitched up out of the blue during a wedding (one of 4 that week) so I think we were given the (only?) worst (dark, tired) room. There was a limited menu of 3 mains, one of which had sold out, and we suffered sleep deprivation due to being opposite the breakfast room/the herd of elephants upstairs/the 2 conflicting and very audible music stations being played. The drinks at the bar were eye-wateringly expensive. On the plus side, we weren't charged for room service, the wedding wasn't obtrusive, and the staff were actually very lovely. Plus you really can't ask for the moon for £65 a night! The new-build rooms with balconies looked a lot nicer

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katherine111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Me ad my boyfriend stayed at farnham house for one night for a wedding in July. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful - it feels like you're miles away from anywhere! Very relaxing environment, food was amazing- couldnt fault it. We had a very large number of guests all having different menu choices yet all meals were served quickly. Staff treated us like family and catered to our every need! Could not recommend more, we will definitely be returning! Thank you for a lovely stay!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waynesworldd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We celebrated our wedding day at Farnham House Hotel on the 1st June 2013 with many close family and friends in attendance. Having viewed the hotel last summer with a winter wedding in mind, we were instantly drawn to the beautiful grounds where we were shown the outside ceremony gazebo and instantly fell in love!! So the summer wedding was booked for outside, weather dependant, and we began our plans in earnest. Leading up to our big day the attentiveness of The General Manager Helen & her wonderful Wedding Co-ordinator Sue could not be faulted and they helped allay any reservations we may have had due to previous negative reviews. The day itself was perfect in every way & the sun shone down on us. The professionalism of the team at Farnham House shown through and nothing was too much trouble for them, ensuring that we and our guests were having a wonderful day. The grounds looked spectacular which made for lots of beautiful photos, in fact the gardens were so good we had an impromptu game of cricket in front of the hotel, bride and all!! The wedding breakfast was in the main dining room which was light & airy and the food served was very enjoyable and served promptly to all guests by helpful friendly staff. The evening buffet was also plentiful and was equally enjoyed by all of our guests. Despite the small size of the bar, it was kept well stocked and no-one had to wait too long for a drink!! Obviously we can only comment on the bridal suite, which was full of character, clean and very comfortable. If we had any small criticism to make (And it is only a slight criticism!!) some of our travelling guests had to wait to get access to their rooms prior to the wedding, although we do appreciate their was a wedding on the day before & are grateful that the Bridal party had access to a room early on the Saturday morning to prepare. All in all a wonderful day that will stay with us for ever, a massive thanks to Helen, Sue and team for making our wedding just perfect!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulBoxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

If you are thinking of planning your wedding at this hotel,don't do it! The rooms are dirty, my bathroom had not been cleaned after the previous guests and the drain outside the room absolutely stunk after a shower. The staff where unprofessional and looked bored most of the time. The food was terrible, the toast served with the pate, was so hard you couldn't eat it, the pate was cheap and nasty, vegetables where cooked to mush but the potatoes where hard and the cream on the shop bought meringue nests was like butter.
The wedding and company was fantastic but the that was in spite of the hotel not because of it

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dd121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farnham
3.9 mi away
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
1.8 mi away
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel
5.2 mi away
The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Bishops Table
The Bishops Table
#4 of 6 in Farnham
104 reviews
6.3 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 7 in Farnborough
1,852 reviews
6.8 mi away
Alton House Hotel
Alton House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Alton
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farnham House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farnham House Hotel

Property: Farnham House Hotel
Address: Alton Road | Surrey, Farnham GU10 5ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Farnham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Farnham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Farnham House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming hotel with comfortable bedrooms in a beautiful peaceful rural area yet convenient location. The hotel is set in over 5 acres of beautiful landscape grounds with a tennis court and garden gazebo. The relaxing bar and restaurant offers both a snack menu and full menu. The hotel provides air conditioned rooms for business meetings and conferences. Well renowned as a wedding venue the hotel is also available for exclusive use. There is good onsite parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Farnham House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farnham House Hotel Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing