We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad for a last minute booking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Farnham House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Farnham
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Not bad for a last minute booking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

I booked the Farnham House Hotel very last minute, less than 24 hours before arrival, so I was expecting something fairly basic. However, I was pleasantly surprised!
On arrival, there was a wedding fayre event on, but that didn't create too much disturbance, other than needing to use the overflow car park. The greeting at reception was warm and friendly, and my room was warm and welcoming too. The room was nothing special, per se, but it had everything I needed and the shower was a lovely temperature and a good size.
I had dinner in the hotel restaurant, and the waiter was lovely. He recommended me a good local bitter, and told me what was good on the menu. Food came very quickly and it was a massive portion.
I slept fairly well too - there was a bit of noise from pipes whistling and doors slamming, but nothing I couldn't block out easily enough.
Breakfast was good - I wasn't really feeling hungry, but what I ate was delicious.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJM88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    72
    60
    38
    32
See reviews for
61
88
12
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Attended my friend's wedding here and stayed for one night - lovely hotel, beautiful grounds. Kids loved the pond and conker trees! Room was clean and spacious but was in need of an update. The central heating made very strange noises early in the morning!! Wedding food was simple but tasty. Breakfast was poor in comparison - 'hot' food was cold and not tempting, sausages looked undercooked and scrambled egg looked pale and watery. However, the hotel staff were friendly and polite.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoEvans1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We have just attended my son and his new wife's wedding here. The hotel was lovely as a wedding venue, just unfortunate that it rained all day and that we were unable to take advantage of the stunning grounds. The staff were helpful and professional, food was lovely and brought out very speedily.
However the rooms do not live up to their promise, very clean nice linen but very dated. The bed was very soft and bouncy, and not the kingsize that we had requested and the pillows were too flat, meaning that four were not really enough. Reports from other family members indicated that the child beds were not up to standard even for their four year olds and are in dire need of replacement. Being an old building it does have a "life of it's own" at night. Breakfast was nice and cooked to order with friendly and welcoming staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank voyager017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Ageing rooms and dated decor, extraordinary central heating noises leading to intermittent hot water and generally poor service added up to a less than satisfactory stay. Plenty of potential here, just needs to be realised to become a very special venue.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPHFULFORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Farnham hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

My nephews wedding was a beautiful day (as was his bride),helped by Dean and his staff,who catered for our every whim.
The food for the wedding breakfast was delish,although the 10 year old son of our friends, would've much preferred the meat and veg the adults had. :o)
The evening buffet was lovely too,although not a lot of choice in sandwich fillings.
When we arrived on the Saturday,there was a wedding going on (ours was sunday),so we were warned that there would be abit on noise from the music. We were in room 20,,it felt like we were at the reception,yes it was that loud! Did'nt worry us,but you might want to avoid that room,if you want a good nights sleep.
Room was very basic,but very clean,our only problem was a chipped mug,all around the rim of the mug,but was sorted very quickly,leaving us happy bunnies.
Rooms need updating (badly).
Beautiful place to get married,bride and groom went away very happy and all the guests (including us) want to say a big thankyou to Dean and his poor staff,who have to put up with his many jokes!! ;o) hahaha 21st - 23rd

Room Tip: If you have have trouble climbing stairs,ask for a room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COLETTE5061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Well ill start with the booking in this was done swiftly and was made to feel welcome from the start, got our key then straight into the bar. The bar is some what small to say the least was definatly cosy, 4 draft beers which were reasonably priced for this area and always served with a smile. The hotel in general was nice a little on the dark side which made it look dated but was still nice, the room we stayed in was on the top floor which was ok until alcohol was added then it was a little challenging but that was my fault. The room was booked for three of us one double bed and a camper bed my son is 16 and 6ft the camper bed was not suitable for him so ended up taking the mattress off so he could sleep on the floor, it had a shower but no bath in our room, the shower was really hot so we had to be careful but with a little playing around got it right, tea and coffee was provided in the room and there was a trouser press in the room. The restaurant was located downstairs we had a even meal on our first night then breakfast the following morning, the meals were very tasty and good quality food was served the staff were friendly and very accommodating.

The Wedding we attended went really well and was very well organised they helped on every occasion, the sit down meal was fantastic which made the day a success, we had the disco then a buffet was fetched out this was a little disappointing and was expecting more than a few sandwiches pizza and quiche, but this didn’t spoil the evening.

The breakfast the following morning was a buffet style breakfast which had been out a while and was a little rubbery and was a let down from the previous breakfast, i asked for poached eggs and told no as this is all what was on. On check out gave my room number and was told i had 2 drinks on my room i was not happy as id paid cash for the two nights and didn’t place anything on my room, i asked to see the slips which i was supposed to have signed but this was not my signature and the room number what had been put on the slip had been altered, we refused to pay as this was not our fault, the staff rectified this and we were happy.

All in all we were happy with our stay but i would say it’s a little over priced for the hotel it is, but the staff were very friendly and always smiling. Thank you

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mos1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

my niece got married there a beautiful place for a wedding or a short break. i have to say they dealt with the wedding in every way the whole reception was carried out to perfection.
great food every thing done to a very high standard weddings can be out in the grounds or in the hotel my only downside would be the bar could be a bit bigger three people stood at the bar and it is full. rooms ok but quite basic could do with brightening up but all in all had a great time wood not want to put any body of staying there or holding there wedding there

Room Tip: be careful not to miss the turning into the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank james d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farnham
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel
1.8 mi away
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel
5.2 mi away
The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Farnham
Premier Inn Farnham
#2 of 6 in Farnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Bishops Table
The Bishops Table
#4 of 6 in Farnham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
6.3 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 8 in Farnborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farnham House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farnham House Hotel

Property: Farnham House Hotel
Address: Alton Road, Farnham GU10 5ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Farnham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Farnham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Farnham House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming hotel with comfortable bedrooms in a superb peaceful yet convenient location. A unique country house hotel set in over 5 acres of beautiful landscape grounds with a tennis court and garden pavilion. The relaxing bar offers a great snack menu or for extensive a la carte dining there is the restaurant. The hotel provides air conditioned rooms for business meetings and conferences with Wi Fi through out, good on-site free parking and the opportunity of having the hotel on an exclusive use basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Farnham House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farnham House Hotel Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing