We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Somebody buy a Hoover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Farnham House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Farnham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Somebody buy a Hoover”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed on business on jan 20th. Having read the reviews I wasn't expecting much and therefore wasn't disappointed! Rack rate £91 I wouldn't give £29. I arrived at 6.45 and was offered 7.00/7.30 or 8.00 for dinner. I accepted 7.00. Arriving at 7.00 I entered the restaurant to be greeted by .., you want a table? Yes I have booked for 7.00! Sorry could you take a seat in the bar! ... Why? There were only 3 tables occupied and at least 10 empty. The answer was chef only wants 3-4 tables at a time. If so why accept my booking? No I didn't want to sit in the bar. So under duress I was seated by the kitchen. I had to endure shouting and clashing pans competing very nicely with the far to loud awful music. The poor waiter had no idea although in fairness was polite but totally lacked customer care. My meal took an hour to be served even though everybody else was eating. The carpets were filthy hadn't seen a Hoover for a long time. As for my room. It must have backed onto the boiler room because I was kept awake by the clanging and humming of old plumbing all night. Not refreshed the next morning I tried breakfast. Cheap bacon value beans with fresh bloomer bread... Value cheap sliced more like. In total very unsatisfactory for price and totally agree with other reviews. Stay if your desperate.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Chef2304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    72
    60
    39
    32
See reviews for
61
89
12
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Do not go any where near this hotel on any circumstance. The owners should have sold it off as a care home long ago. We were delighted to have been charged over £50 per head for the worst canteen food imaginable on Christmas Day. The room was freezing. The floor was dirty. One wine glass was clearly broken and we had the excruciating experience of the poor man's Mr Tumble trying to be a jovial host. Overwhelmingly painful. Couldn't even deliver warm coffee. Staff wearing scruffy black 'requirement' were all huddled by the fire in the lobby. Just awful. Really. Have absolutely nothing positive to say. If you are planning on dying the next day, why not? If that isn't the case there are many other options.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollybournehotels, Director of Sales at Farnham House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
We are sorry you were disappointed, despite the great efforts made by our team at the hotel to overcome problems arising from power cuts over the Christmas period.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Farnham hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

Without question this is the very worst hotel stay I have ever had to endure. My husband and I stayed for 2 nights from the 20th December 2013, as we had a friend's wedding in the area. We arrived late Friday night, too exhausted to complain about the filthy state of the bathroom (dirty floor & hairballs everywhere) we went straight to bed. In the morning my husband showered, but it was only after I had taken my shower that I noticed it...............a used condom, wrapped up in a thin plastic bag, it was vile and had me near to heaving up my breakfast.

On leaving for the wedding, we complained to 2 members of staff at reception, they apologised and asked for the exact location of the afore mentioned used condom. Which we explained was on the window sill of the shower.

It was much to our disgust and horror to find on returning to our room that evening after the wedding, the used condom was still in the shower. We complained to the night manager who came and took it away and said he would be informing the general manager.

On checking out in the morning, the night manager soon disappeared once he saw my husband and I arrive, and left the receptionist to check us out. She attempted to check us out without mentioning the incident, on complaining she apologised and said that there was nothing she could do, charged us for the stay and promised that the general manager (who was apparently away at another location) would give my husband a call to address the complaint personally.

Well it is currently the 24th December 2013 and he/she hasn't bothered ringing.

Only stay at this hotel if you want to wallow in other people's love juices, however if you want a clean room then go elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jaya112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Very oldy worldy and cosy hotel. All the basics on offer but not luxury which isn't to be expected as very reasonably priced. In lovely grounds, staff very friendly. I would definitely return if I had the need to stay in Farnham again

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kate williams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

I do not normally complain about places that I have stayed at but the Farnham House hotel was an experience and in the end I just had to laugh at how bad it was.

1st impression not great. Hungry after traveling, I asked if we could book dinner and the receptionist said that she could book a table for us in an hour because they were extremely busy. I noted that there was no one in the restaurant at that point and two people there in an hour. Extremely busy?? I dread to think how they would cope with more than two tables.

A very similar experience to the reviews that have been posted - unclean, dated, too hot, noisy during the night, shower either really hot or really cold, poor bar (No staff) and dinner service (One hour in between courses) but the incident that stood out the most was my breakfast the next day.

I had a croissant and as I took a bite, it was completely raw and sticky inside. I showed this to the waiter and he said that the chef was making more and that I would get a cooked one. As I was served another I was a bit more cautious with this one as a result of the previous croissant. The new was not raw this time, but completely frozen on the inside. I again showed this to the waiter and explained it's arctic state and the waiter replied "I thought that was the case" and walked off. Myself and my colleague that was having breakfast with me just laughed.

As I checked out the receptionist asked me how my stay was and I said "not good" expecting her to ask why. I think she gets that response from customers often as she merely responded with "O.K".

An absolute shambles of a place, which is a shame because the grounds of the hotel are really nice and with investment could be a cracking hotel. I would advise no one to visit even if it is a short overnight business stay like me, however if the hotel changes hands then someone has the potential to make it really quite nice.

Warning - do not have a croissant unless you like raw pastry or frozen pastry.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Stayed here for one night for our friend's wedding and had a great time. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, the food and drink were nothing special but perfectly acceptable for the event and the room was just what we needed. We didn't get chance to visit the grounds but hear they're worth a visit. Only downside for us (and several other guests) was the heating - it was far too hot. We turned off every radiator and opened every window we could find!!

Aside from the heat, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandomTravels_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Stayed last night and the venue is nice with plenty of potential, however service was slow, I guess due to limited staff numbers. Breakfast was the real issue for me, they'd run out of glasses for the orange juice, run out of toast, run out of mushrooms, run out of hash browns and then ran out of coffee so quite a limited "full English breakfast for us. When I raised the matter at reception the lady there said "there was toast etc when I looked" which was a great help, I only wish she could have given us the 2 minute slot when everything would have been available, she then said "I'll make a note of it" so sadly it was more then clear she'd heard this many times before and she wasn't interested in doing anything to fix the issue we had.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mets59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farnham
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel
1.8 mi away
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel
5.2 mi away
The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Farnham
Premier Inn Farnham
#2 of 6 in Farnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Bishops Table
The Bishops Table
#5 of 6 in Farnham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
6.3 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 8 in Farnborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farnham House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farnham House Hotel

Property: Farnham House Hotel
Address: Alton Road, Farnham GU10 5ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Farnham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Farnham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Farnham House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming hotel with comfortable bedrooms in a superb peaceful yet convenient location. A unique country house hotel set in over 5 acres of beautiful landscape grounds with a tennis court and garden pavilion. The relaxing bar offers a great snack menu or for extensive a la carte dining there is the restaurant. The hotel provides air conditioned rooms for business meetings and conferences with Wi Fi through out, good on-site free parking and the opportunity of having the hotel on an exclusive use basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Farnham House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farnham House Hotel Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing