We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base to explore Farnham.”
Review of The Mulberry

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Farnham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Mulberry
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We stayed here for a weekend, using the Mulberry as a hostel whilst doing activities in the surrounding area. Our plan was mainly to sleep there but the food, drink and hospitality was so good that we barely left the place. The selection of Burgers is fantastic and each one tastes great [well I only had 3.....]

The ambiance is "quiet pub" during the day, turning into a bustling bar/restaurant during the evening and becoming a great place to party towards the end of the night. The fact that you can then crawl upstairs to a simply tidy room with en-suite is perfect.

Also has a fantastic beer garden.

I wish there were more places like this around.

Room Tip: Not great for an early night on the weekend. If you want a lie-in, ask for a room towards the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onion01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quelch, Owner at The Mulberry, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Many thanks for your review and we are delighted you enjoyed. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2013

The Mulberry was the chosen base from my brother's stag weekend, and proved to be an inspired choice.

Very cheap and basic accommodation, but that was what we were looking for.

The staff were very helpful and extremely friendly.

Great food, reasonable bar prices, and a great atmosphere. Clearly very popular with locals

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lord-Westbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quelch, Owner at The Mulberry, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2013

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Rooms were dirty bar staff very hostile. Rooms were cramped and below average . And also very over priced if your thinking about staying I would suggest staying in a wheelie bin instead .but if you do decide to stay make sure u go for a drink on Wednesday day it's student night plenty of people all friendly and very chatty just remember to wipe your feet on the way out !!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Drunkenbuilders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quelch, Owner at The Mulberry, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Usually I would apologise when I have unhappy customers however as you have since tried to book in with us again for next week you can not have been that unhappy. I do believe your inaccurate and unfair review is because we have refused to have you to stay again following your disgusting behaviour, disrespect to our pub and abuse towards our staff. Your login name - drunkenbuilders - says it all. Climbing and jumping all over our furniture, making noise at 1am in the morning and disturbing other guests, and then when politely being asked not to you abused my staff with intimidating behaviour and foul language.

For your information we have lodged a formal complaint with your company for your appalling behaviour. This was done when they tried to book the room again for you next week!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We walked in for lunch and almost walked out given the stroppy reception from the waitress. We only stayed because we were hungry and had limited time to eat. The pub has a nice and welcoming decor, very cosy, relatively busy but not overly loud. The barman who took our food and drinks order was also very rude: if I had written the review then it would have been one star. What makes me want to give the place a second chance is the food, which was actually very good. We had nachos as a starter and burgers, both excellent.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank whiterabbitjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quelch, Owner at The Mulberry, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Thank you for your review and was very sorry to see that you had experienced poor service. I was relieved however that you enjoyed your food. I have looked into your visit which I understand was on Saturday afternoon. The waitress who was working is no longer due to a number of complaints I had that weekend. I can only apologise that you felt the service was under par as I pride myself on good service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

this place struggles to work out what it is. its not a hotel there is no breakfast, its not a hostel, you dont have to make your own bed! it is however a vary popular bar well supported by the people of this town thus can be noisy. basic rooms, clean and ridiculos over enginered beds! hot ensuite showers 20 per cent of food for residents! (food is huge and comforting) excellent wine, roaring fires friendly staff. travel for a living and my allowance goes a long way in this place

Room Tip: wed fri sat ask for room seven
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
Thank rach c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Had the Piri chicken burger and pork chops. Chicken was too dry and almost inedible. Pork chops were good. But the veggies served with them were straight out of the freezer and microwaved, not great. On the whole pretty disappointed with the food, for the price paid.

Interiors are great English Pub'ish. Good verity of board games to keep yourself occupied.

On the whole 3 stars is being over generous, tending towards 2 stars actually.

Would not recommend, unless you dont have too much of a choice.

Around 30.00 GBP for a couple with drinks.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank varun_mukthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Attended the pub on New Years Eve party at the Mulberry and was informed there was a party going on til 4am so there would be loud music and it would be probably best a buy a ticket. Not a problem, I did and it was great.
Attempted to go to bed at 5am after a few drinks and celebrations.
Our room was next door to a room that appeared to be living quarters of the landlord/workers.
At 5:30am loud music and general stomping through the corridors preceded outside our room until approximately 11am when we left. WITHOUT SLEEP.
Tired and not particularly happy with the staff for keeping us awake we then struggled to move our cars as they were blocked in by the party goers, who were either now not in the building as they had started to go home/were unconscious I assume.

Followed this up with an email to the manager who came back with defensive emails about us being warned about the party in the pub. That's fine I said, I was complaining about the party afterwards with all manner of things going on.
Only person who helped us in the morning move the cars, or attempt to was the lovely cleaner as all others were not answering their phones to help.

NO refund of lack of sleep or apology was given for the staff party, as in essence the staff were allowed to blow off some steam after working hard, regardless of who was staying in the hostel, paying or not.

In short, stay for a drink, never any longer.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gkspeedy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Farnham hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel
4.1 mi away
Frensham Pond Country House Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Farnham
Premier Inn Farnham
#1 of 6 in Farnham
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Vie
Hotel de Vie
#3 of 22 in Farnham
306 reviews
2 mi away
Farnham House Hotel
Farnham House Hotel
#5 of 6 in Farnham
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mulberry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mulberry

Address: Station Hill, Farnham GU9 8AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Farnham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Farnham
Price Range: £25 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A trendy hostel offering cheap accommodation. Now under new management, The Mulberry offers 6 en-suite rooms that are warm, clean and comfortable. The hostel caters for the modern traveller, with excellent facilities throughout and a car park. The hostel also offers a restaurant serving Gourmet Burgers, steaks, light bites, salads and a kids menu. The Mulberry also boasts a huge garden split into 3 sections and a children's play area. There is also regular entertainment and bar deals. Situated within a minutes walk of the train station which is on the main line to Waterloo (55mins), just off the A31 (10 mins from the M3 & A3 & 20mins from M25), and a 5 minute walk from the town centre makes it the ideal place to stay for the traveller, holiday maker or business person. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Mulberry Hotel Farnham
The Mulberry Farnham, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing