We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I like staying here...just the food needs to vary.”
Review of The Princess Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Princess Royal
Ranked #1 of 22 Farnham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I stay quite regularly for work mainly because of the location but also as it represents good value.

The rooms are large with nice bathrooms with free tea/coffee and toiletries. Also, Parking and WiFi are free (Hooray!). Aside from large rooms, I always find them clean and tidy however, if you get put upstairs, the creaking floors are a little off putting.

Food-wise, it's not bad by any stretch, however it is a little pricey and not very adventurous so if truth be told either add some more options or drop the prices.

Breakfast however is normally included in the room rate and this is always nice and fresh.

Staff are always pleasant too

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (695)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

640 - 646 of 696 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2013

my husband and i and the dog stayed here 10thJan 2013, as our dog was having an operation the next day and we travelled from wales. they really are pet friendly, i asked for some table scraps for the dog and he loved them , they even asked if we wanted a dish of water for him as we sat in the corner because he is afraid of bigger dogs ! room was spacious and clean, staff very friendly food was reasonable. i left a pair of boots behind and called back later to ask if they had found them there and they had!
so thank you to all concerned, you know who you are !

Room Tip: rooms on either of the far ends are away from fire doors and people coming and going.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gaynor12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

GOOD THINGS
Spacious room
Clean
Bath/shower
Excellent free WiFi
Much improved food in restaurant - really quite good but the chef appears not to serve vegetables with the mains so you have to order separately.
Generous breakfast.
£69 per night
Very friendly staff who try hard.

BAD THINGS
Hot water taps not working in room
Electric space heaters switch on at 02:00 and make loud squeaks and groans as they warm up
Bath too small even to sit in

I will use again.

Room Tip: Ask to stay up stairs in the accommodation block outside. It's much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bertybign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Hadn't been to the Princess Royal for a couple of years and was looking forward to a bit of Christmas food and an evening stay next door. Unfortunately I was denied the Christmas menu, despite the website and boards suggesting it was available, a bit of a shame, but the normal menu was good quality Fullers fare.

The accommodation block is just behind the pub with well-sized and appointed rooms. A couple of details were disappointing though - a rather spongy floor in areas of the bathroom suggested damp and the bed was the softest and most uncomfortable I have ever slept on; I don't know whether this is the standard bed but is worth checking; I woke up with aches and pains.

Breakfast is served in the pub, a few items on a self-serve buffet, others including a full English on a menu. Most of the items were great quality, especially the sausages. Unfortunately the bacon was the streakiest I've ever been served and no white bread for toast as it was still frozen. I should love this place, it has all the right ingredients but is let down by the details.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012 via mobile

We took my mother here for a meal: bless her, everyone else was really pleased with their meal but mum. Lots had been left off her meal and she was very disappointed. To be fair to the staff, they swiftly deducted it from the bill and gave mum a free coffee as an apology which definatly made her feel better!
The real ale was mostly good except one pint of very cloudy London pride... I was told it was because it was a new barrel, hm, if they say so; though in my experience its usually the end of it that makes a ropey pint! I didn't stay but have been shown the rooms, they are very reasonably priced and nicely finished. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it as an alternative to a central farnham stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BimboDarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Enjoyed several nights stay while in Farnham on business. The rooms were very large and the breakfast was included in the price. Free WiFi, good food, and you get to say you stayed in a pub! The pub was nice with local ales, good food, and friendly staff. They even invited us to a quiz night but we were too tired from the flight to stay up for it! This is a nice intimate area of the English countryside. We were on business so didn't do too much other than check out the miniature town in the middle of a roundabout!

Room Tip: Stayed on second floor. By the window it was a bit chilly but the radiator had plenty of heat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Our second overnight stay at the Princess Royal and we were very satisfied. Rooms are in a separate block, a few yards from the pub. Parking is conveniently available right outside the door. Room was good with a very comfortable bed. Traffic noise not a problem - nothing more than a background hum. We had dinner in the restaurant and the quality and portions were impressive. Very good value too. Breakfast was excellent as well. Staff were friendly and helpful. Will happily stay there again when next in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simon f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Farnham hotels
1.5 mi away
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Farnham
Premier Inn Farnham
#1 of 6 in Farnham
222 reviews
4.9 mi away
Frensham Pond Country House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
1.7 mi away
The Bishops Table
The Bishops Table
#4 of 6 in Farnham
118 reviews
3.3 mi away
Farnham House Hotel
Farnham House Hotel
#5 of 6 in Farnham
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Princess Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Princess Royal

Address: Guildford Road | Runfold, Farnham GU10 1NX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Farnham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Farnham
Price Range: £61 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Princess Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you stay at the hotel, or just call in for a meal, we can assure you of a varied menu of freshly prepared home-made food, conplemented with a selection of award-winning Fuller's ales or a glass of fine wine.There are 21 comfortable en-suite bedrooms. All rooms have Sky Sports, satillite TV, hairdryer, ironing facilities, tea and coffee making facilities, free parking and free Wifi.Weddings, functions, meetings. conferences and private receptions all catered for.Situated close to Farnham, Farnborough, Aldershot and Guildford a warm welcome awaits for both the business and leisure traveller.we look forward to welcoming you to our hotel in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Princess Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Royal Hotel Farnham
The Princess Royal Farnham, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing