We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thank You!! Outstanding Service and Care.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de Vie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel de Vie
Ranked #3 of 22 Farnham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Thank You!! Outstanding Service and Care.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

This was our first stay at the Hotel (but will not be our last) and we booked the Scarlett Suite.
The pictures simply do not so the room justice, it is far more beautiful than in the photo and does not adequately capture the smaller detailes that creates such a sumptuous and romantic experience. The bath and rain shower were wonderful!
Everyone who looked after us during our stay was friendly, professional and attentive but without being intrusive.
The dinner and the breakfast were superb and as with everything in the hotel are excellent value, although I would probably pay double as we came home relaxed and even more in love all thanks to the staff and a great night.

We will be booking again for our wedding night.

Thank You so much

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel de Vie, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Hi Carrie,
It’s really lovely of you to have written your feedback about your stay here on TripAdvisor. Of course it’s always great to hear you had such a wonderful stay, and also how it continued to kindle your love for each other.
We do try not to oversell the rooms on our website (one of the reasons our photos aren’t taken with fish-eye lenses), so of course it’s great that we exceeded your expectations during your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    50
    14
    7
    7
See reviews for
7
228
11
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here last weekend, in Room 1. Overall the stay was very plesant and we had a good time. The staff were so helpful and polite, and the complimentary refreshments in the reception were lovely. Breakfast was delicious and cooked fresh. Only quibble was that we had no hot water in the morning, even after leaving the shower running for a good few minutes. The staff were very apologetic and gave good reason for the problem, so I do not feel annoyed.
Thank you

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel de Vie, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Thank you for your review Vicki. It's great to hear you had a lovely stay with us.

Unfortunately you discovered the extremely rare time that virtually everyone had one of our high pressure power showers simultaneously, so the normally copious amounts of hot water was pushed beyond its high capability. Fortunately, around 20 minutes later is would have been reheated.
We do try to stagger breakfast times for large groups (to also help prevent this), but unfortunately on this occasion we didn’t succeed.

We do really appreciate you going out of your way to write your lovely review though, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

This was our second stay at Hotel de Vie, and on both occasions we have booked the Scarlet Suite. We were looking for some piece and quiet together, downtime from the kids and a chance to re-connect with each other. Yet again it didn't disappoint. Great attention to detail, wonderfully furnished and equipped room plus a bath to die for. If you choose the Scarlet suite they will even deliver breakfast and dinner to your room if you wish. Great Service and welcome from Anka who was very attentive during our stay. So if you are looking for downtime and to get some adult time together look no further than the Scarlet Suite at the Hotel de Vie.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wwryfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HdV_Owner, General Manager at Hotel de Vie, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write your thoughts on here, especially after your second visit to our Scarlet Suite.

We're really pleased you've appreciated all of the little details around the hotel, and had a wonderful stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back again on your third visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

I have stayed here a few times on business during the week and it is very good value for Farnham. If you are working within *10* miles of Farnham consider this hotel as everywhere else apart from Farnham is horrible, and this is the best hotel in Fanrham. Farnham is very nice, lots of decent real ale pubs and Indian restaurants.
The breakfast is excellent.
The hotel has a kind of double life (never inappropriate) that allows it to entertain business clients (like me) who appreciate the very friendly and professional staff.
It also seems to have a different following - as evidenced by the inclusion as standard equipment of a "Love Swing" under the beds of most of the rooms.
I love this different side of the hotel and it distinguishes it from the the average Holiday Inn.
The result is that I feel like I am missing out on a party :-) but I can't fault it otherwise. Definitely somewhere I would stay in with my wife, if the opportunity arose.

Highly recommended, from somebody who lives half his life in hotels.

Room Tip: If you CAN stay here,STAY here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlenWarburton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HdV_Owner, General Manager at Hotel de Vie, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Hi Glen,

Many thanks for your lovely review on here, especially from a seasoned traveller.

Of course just to clarify, 'entertain' is not referring to any other services as such. Just a quality hotel, where we provide great beds and breakfasts for our guests, and where our staff treat each person as an individual. We also like to make genuine conversation with our guests, and often remember those conversations on future visits.

As you mention, fortunately we do seem to have unusually reached both markets of business travellers (generally during the week), and leisure travellers (particularly at weekends).
As a result, we are a busy hotel most days of the week.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

I have stayed at the hotel De Vie three times this year! You only have to stay once to realise why people come back again and again! i have always stayed in the scarlet suite which is just the most sensual and romantic room I ever had the pleasure to stay. This hotel has the niche it has everything you could possibly ask for! From the four poster bed with luxury bedding, to the sensual lighting, candles and huge bath for two! This room has lots of little extras such as ear plugs, shower gels, shampoo and conditioner too water tea and coffee via nespresso. Fluffy gowns a huge over sized comfy chair for two a huge plasma tv and a docking station what more could you ask for well wait a minute this room has a little eroticness to it in the form of a love swing tucked away under the bed we used it for the first time last week and it was amazing its the perfect way to spend a romantic evening or weekend away from it all!

The staff are very friendly and polite there is always snacks and refreshments available in the bar however we often just book in order champagne on ice and stay in our suite when you have all that you dont really want to leave and to be honest you could be the only people there for we have never heard any noise from other guests at all. I had been a regular visitor to the four seasons but now choose to come here instead this place is definetly my guilty pleasure.

Room Tip: The Scarlet Suite is just the ultimate experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajay m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HdV_Owner, General Manager at Hotel de Vie, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Many thanks for your lovely and detailed feedback for our Hotel. Of course all of the staff are really pleased we've been able to provide you with an excellent stay, and that you'll be continuing to return.

There's no need it to be a 'guilty pleasure' though: as seen from our other reviews lots of people genuinely like staying here, both whilst in the area on business, and for a romantic weekend away :)

We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

We chanced upon the hotel de vie when looking for a place to stay in Farnham and lucked out.

Room 3 was spacious, ensuite had a fab shower and double ended bath. Service was a really friendly welcome from Anka and breakfast from Jason the next morning.

We loved the attention to detail, the touch of eroticism and quirky signs. If you like keeping your pound local, go with this independent hotelier and reward all their hard work!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank linso1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HdV_Owner, Manager at Hotel de Vie, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review of us on here.

We're really pleased of course that you picked up on our attention to various details around the place, and had a wonderful stay!

We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

We'v just returned from an amazing weekend at the Hotel De Vie in Farnham. I've never felt compelled to write a Trip Adviser review before (Endless dreary travel lodge type places will do that to you!) but Hotel De Vie is worth recommending to others.
Firstly its easy to find; don't let other reviewers put you off by saying it's tricky, follow the signs to Farnham railway station as opposed to the town centre. This will avoid Farnhams fantastically annoying one way system (Which is saying something as I'm from Oxford) and by going over the railway crossing and up the hill you will see the hotel on the opposite site of the road, just to the left (the big sign saying Hotel De Vie is a bit of a giveaway). Oh and parking is behind the hotel and there's plenty of it.
The staff are lovely and very attentive; it makes a change to actually get asked your requirements and be shown your room rather than 'fill in this questionnaire, 3rd floor and down the corridor'. Both at night and in the morning they were friendly, smiling and relaxed, with nothing being too much trouble.
We went for the Parisian Dreams Suite and were in for a hugh surprise with the gigantic bath! To say it's enormous is an understatement. It's not a jacuzzi or any whirlpool-aqua nonsense, just a hugh space to relax in (two people, a bottle of champagne and some candles...you get the idea). Also has two showers and a seemingly endless supple of hot water.
The bed is also huge and very comfortable; plenty of bedding and pillows. The room also had a coffee maker, radio/ipod dock, TV, DVD player and some 'entertainment' (more on that later).
Everything worked, was clean and the room was very tastefully decorated. Just a quick point - it is near a road so with the window open you will get traffic noise, however the hotel owner is very aware of this and the room has ear plugs and a welcome pack full of information on local restaurants, amenities and useful things to know.
In terms of 'entertainment', this is a fun hotel, it's not crass or sordid or in the least bit sleazy. It's a place to unwind and indulge. The room was supplied with some erotic literature, DVDs and the famous love swing. If you are a couple and enjoy life, like we do, then you'll definitely have fun. If you are a miserable man call Geoff who doesn't love anything then you probably won't.
We chose to eat our evening meal in Farnham and there's a great selection of restaurants, so it might be worth wandering into town if you are there for a couple of nights. The hotels menu looked it, it's just we fancied getting out and seeing what the town had to offer.
Breakfast was an expertly cooked and extremely well presented fry-up and all the juice, tea/coffee and cereal you could help yourself too...kinda wished we'd stayed at the hotel for our evening meal now!

Overall it was a brilliant weekend and we're already planning our next trip.
Many thanks to the staff for a fantastic stay!

Room Tip: Parisian dreams - go for the huge bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HdV_Owner, Manager at Hotel de Vie, responded to this review, 18 March 2012
Thank you Mark for such a detailed, informative, and somewhat entertaining review!

We’re of course really pleased you had such a great stay with us, so much so that it inspired you to write your first review on here. That's great to see. And of course it's excellent you had such a wonderful stay.

We really appreciate you also taking the time to highlight so many details about your stay, even responding to some other reviewers too!

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future, should you manage to make it back this way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farnham
0.5 mi away
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Farnham
Premier Inn Farnham
#2 of 6 in Farnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 8 in Farnborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,761 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bishops Table
The Bishops Table
#3 of 6 in Farnham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
17.3 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Vie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Vie

Property: Hotel de Vie
Address: 22 Firgrove Hill, Farnham GU9 8LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Farnham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Farnham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Vie 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Vie is a small boutique hotel of 8 en-suite rooms, just a short walk from the historic Farnham town centre, Farnham station, and a host of other local attractions. Hotel de Vie, Farnham, provides comfortable accommodation, with great staff, freshly cooked to order breakfasts, powerful showers, and lots of free snacks, hot drinks and treats. Affordable luxury in a friendly and relaxed environment that many guests keep coming back to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de Vie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Vie Farnham, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing