We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!”
Review of Hotel de Vie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de Vie
Ranked #3 of 22 Farnham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2008

We have just been to the Hotel de Vie for the weekend and found it to exceed our (already high) expectations. Food was fantastic, service excellent, rooms very clean and well decorated. Would definately visit again.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank xyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2008

Stayed on the 26/1/08....needed a break from normal & all the stresses & strains from the couple of weeks i had had.....Quiet room, clean, food, alcohol & a comfortable atmosphere....Well what can i say - Was i suprised????...........This place i thought was absolutely excellent......We stayed in the "Gothic Room" (Room 2).....We was greeted by the owner who was very pleasant indeed & straight away you knew it was a very friendly & relaxed atmosphere. After showing us some reviews that they had received & explained the theme to the hotel he showed us to our room...... This was very clean & comfortable in every aspect with a large bed which you just sunk staright into & the bathroom facilities were extremely good with a proper power shower & deep double ended bath......The bar was very well stocked along with a number of wines & champagnes & a very pleasant comfortable seating area with large leather sofas.......The restauraunt had a small varied menu which caters for everyone. The food is cooked from fresh which allowed us to have a drink in the bar while it was being prepared. The food itself was very good & the cooked breakfast again cooked freshly........The staff were very pleasant (& all spoke English) ..........The whole experience was just what i needed & i left there on the Sunday feeling very refreshed & relaxed......I will be recommending this hotel to all my friends........i shall be returning very soon....Oh & the suprise being the swing!!!! HAVE FUN

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank TigerTone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2007

We stayed in here one night as a special treat in November and chose the Parisian Dreams suite partly for the bath that was almost big enough swim in! We were impressed with the meals, in particular the lamb shank. The bed was very comfortable too. Wish there were hotels with the same on offer in our local area, and within this price bracket.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank spikyhedgehog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2007

Handy for getting into the centre of Farnham.

very clean rooms and public area, but the bedrooms, though looking nice are so small, even the bathroom door would not open fully as it hit the bed. No tea or coffee facilities in rooms.
Bathroom so small with a cloakroom size hand basin.,no where
to put wash bags.
Breakfast was a disaster, no milk on tables, help yourself to tea from a machine in the corner. Choice of breakfast cereal, just two
a general lack of laying out a table for breakfast and choice.
Would not stay again at these prices they charge for tiny rooms. One gets a better quality in some B&Bs with larger bedrooms and bathrooms.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fittraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HdV_Owner, Owner at Hotel de Vie, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2007

At Hotel de Vie the quality of our guests experience is our No. 1 objective. Obviously the review from this guest is a marked contrast from the other reviews written so far on trip advisor and whilst I am extremely disappointed that this guests stay with us did not meet their expectations I do feel that there are some important points for me to make in response to this review.
The rooms at Hotel de Vie are themed, individual and vary in size and price accordingly. This review appears to suggest that all of our rooms are small. I can assure readers that this is not the case. The room which is the subject of this review is our Mirrors & Lace room it is a smaller, in fact our smallest, double room it is also the cheapest room, that said like all our rooms, this room has a flat screen TV with DVD a power shower, quality furniture and Egyptian cotton linen. This guest booked with us through a third party online agent where are rooms are listed by size and price only so we were unable to discuss options and needs with the customer which is something we usually do when guests book directly with us.

The whole concept of Hotel de Vie is geared to ‘informal luxury’ and it is for this reason that we do some things a little different to other establishments e.g. we do not put Tea & Coffee making facilities in the room, we do not believe that our guests should have the hassle & mess of making tea in the room with long life milk! However as it states in the Bedroom info pack... just push the reception button on the phone and we will bring you a fresh hot cuppa free of charge. At breakfast we do offer guests the opportunity to help themselves to juices, freshly brewed coffee or alternatively to select a standard or Earl Grey tea bag with readily available hot water & fresh milk. The review might suggest to some readers that we have an instant tea or coffee machine, this is not the case. We also have an extensive cooked to order Breakfast menu with free range eggs, smoked salmon, Kippers & the usual sausages, bacon, tomatoes & mushrooms, toast & preserves etc.

Clearly this guest has not had a good experience at Hotel de Vie and so for whatever reason we have failed on this occasion but I do hope that I have managed to put some perspective into the situation. I would also like to thank everyone who has taken the time to write a review.

Regards

Roger Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2007

My fiance and I recently stayed for a saturday night at Hotel De Vie. We chose the Gothic Nights room and were in no way disappointed with any aspect of the hotel. Having read such fab reviews on this site I did wonder if it would be able to live up to our expectations - but it did! The staff were friendly and helpful, we had a beautiful meal (chocolate and baileys parfait was honestly the best pudding we have ever had ), the chef was happy to have a chat and we can't fault the meal in any way. The whole hotel is beautifully decorated and the attention to detail is fab - our room was lovely - kingsize bed with gorgeously soft linen, double ended bath in our en suite, flat screen telly with in built dvd player, and gorgeous dark wood furniture. We are definitely going to return to this sensual and romantic hotel, as we cannot find fault with our stay. Can't wait to try a different room!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank hanabananar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2007

This small hotel is a real ‘gem’ of a find in Farnham.

We only stayed one night to celebrate a special occasion and the owner and staff we so friendly and attentive is was a wrench to finally retire for the night.

Our room (the Parisian) was beautifully decorated, immaculately clean and sumptuous. This room is a 'must book' for the amorous.

Our meal was superb, although a little wider choice would not have gone amiss and very reasonably priced. The wine list was also a little restricted but was more than adequate. (Look out for the ‘special offer’ wines, which are cheaper but do not sacrifice ‘quality’)

Room service was prompt and friendly and did not feel ‘intrusive’. We both felt ‘at ease’ and that both the owner and staff welcomed ‘constructive critism’ well in order to improve the already high levels of service and that any request or problem would be dealt with in an efficient and friendly manner.

Breakfast (included) was excellent, unhurried and relaxing a perfect way to start the day.

The ‘adult’ nature of this hotel should not be confused with ‘sleazy’ this is a top quality hotel at a very reasonable cost. We have stayed in many hotels charging twice as much with half the levels of service and room quality.

We will both definitely be returning.
.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BandASurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2007

Calm, cool, comtemporary and laid back! Great rooms at the right price. Great food in the evening. A special place!

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Beggarsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Farnham hotels
0.4 mi away
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel
3.9 mi away
Frensham Pond Country House Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Farnham
Premier Inn Farnham
#1 of 6 in Farnham
215 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bishops Table
The Bishops Table
#4 of 6 in Farnham
117 reviews
1.7 mi away
Farnham House Hotel
Farnham House Hotel
#5 of 6 in Farnham
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Vie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Vie

Address: 22 Firgrove Hill, Farnham GU9 8LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Farnham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Farnham
Price Range: £86 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Vie 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Vie is a relaxing adults-only Boutique Hotel/B&B with eight luxuriously-fitted bedrooms and is popular for both couples and Farnham business travellers throughout the week. The freshly-cooked breakfasts and fast, free wifi are included in the room rate. Only a short walk from the historic Farnham town centre and Farnham station, Hotel de Vie regularly wins TripAdvisor Certificates of Excellence for consistently being one of the highest-rated hotels in Farnham. The child-free policy gives a quiet and sophisticated elegance to the lounge area which is only open to residents, so guests can enjoy the private bar and restaurant and get away from the stresses of everyday life and work. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de Vie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Vie Farnham, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing