We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still great!”
Review of Hotel de Vie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de Vie
Ranked #3 of 22 Farnham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Visited this hotel again after almost 2 years!
Booked the same room, which was still to a very high standard! Service was great, lovely girl at reception was welcoming and helpful!
The room was clean and beautiful as usual! Had a lovely romantic break!
Only downside since my last visit was that on this occasion they did not bring our breakfast to our room, instead we were asked to come downstairs to the main area before 10am. I didn’t mind much, but the convenience of breakfast in bed on our previous stay was the icing on the cake!
Parisian Dreams suite is our fav! will be returning soon!

Room Tip: Parisian Dreams is my personal fav...very spacious and romantic! although floor boards creak a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rani4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HdV_Owner, General Manager at Hotel de Vie, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to post your feedback on here, and I'm really pleased you had such a great stay, and it was still great for you two years on from your previous visit.
I'm sorry that we weren't able to offer you 'breakfast in bed' in the Parisian Dreams room this time. However, this option is still available in the Scarlet Suite, where the room features it's own private dining table/area :)
We look forward to welcoming you back again, possibly in two years again if not sooner!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2012

Hotel de Vie is a boutique hotel with a naughty twist. We indulged ourselves with the Scarlet Suite, deliciously decadent. Brilliantly conceived and superbly executed. Stylish, clean, plus wonderfully helpful and welcoming staff. All this and a yummy breakfast!!! We couldn't have asked for a better experience. Thanks to all at Hotel de Vie. D&J

Room Tip: Treat yourselves, go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DandJ0508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HdV_Owner, General Manager at Hotel de Vie, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2012

Hi D&J,
Many thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts here, after your stay with us.
It’s great you rated us so highly, and couldn’t have asked for a better experience! We really appreciate it.
We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Soooo lovely, I will definitely come back.
Very boutique, thoughtful touches everywhere..
I notice attention to detail, felt it had been thought about with guests comfort in mind.

Staff-
Jason- really nice friendly (and rather cute, lol) chap
Anka (is that the right name?): lovely lady, nothing was too much trouble or ruffled her, looked after us all really well even though it was busy with a full house.
Breakfast chef- VERY GOOD, proper tasty, decent local sausage etc...especially impressed as it's included in the price, even if you have 2 people :>) norm if you have a GOOD hotel breakfast as opposed to a cheapo one it'll be £15 on top per person! i.e another £30 for two..

Refreshments in general- really appreciate the good quality coffee (including water extracted decaff), fancy herbal teas, fruit, biscuits, proper filtered water etc etc...I'm quite demanding in terms of getting fed and when you're away these costs can really add up- the all-inclusive help yourself means you can have what you want when you want- yay!! As my world centres around food this is my idea of luxury :>)

I'm also very partial to tasteful decor and I really like the look of hotel, and the fact that it's rather sexy, it just adds to the whole experience of being away somewhere luxurious....there were a few of us staying so I got to see most of the rooms, and I really enjoyed the exclusive feel of having a smaller hotel.

I just need to come back when I've found an excuse to book the scarlet suite- because that one is beaaaautiful :>)

But, as a bit of a skinflint have to say it's very good value because it's all inclusive, so it's probably no more than booking in a cheap impersonal hotel when you add it up, and much nicer- yay! Not that I don't like premier inn- cos they have v good beds too, but they're sausages aren't as good :>)

Think it would nice to come as a couple when it's quiet...mmmmmm......

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JessicaNHG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HdV_Owner, General Manager at Hotel de Vie, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2012

Many thanks for your lovely and detailed review. It’s great to hear all the excellent and detailed feedback about your stay.

As you discovered, we focus a lot on the details within every aspect of the hotel, and try to offer a wide range of choice around the foods, drinks and rooms available.

I’m really pleased that everything met your expectations in terms of quality and value. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future as you describe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed here to finish off a weeks holiday - how perfect. Outside does not prepare you for the inside. Inside all is calm, serenity and splendour, with great taste in furnishings and only eight rooms. We stayed in the Victorian Room - spacious, light, quiet. Huge bathroom - with a bath just made for two! This hotel is not for the prudish , erotic art on walls and love swings in the bed room are a nice touch!
Breakfast service did let them down though - waiter/chef really did seem confused and we didn't get what we ordered (either of us!) What we did get was good and it was easier to eat that than try to make ourselves understood.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HdV_Owner, General Manager at Hotel de Vie, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2012

Many thanks for sharing your thoughts on your stay with us. I’m just really so sorry about the confusion over your breakfasts.
As you can see from the other reviews, we normally do particularly well with the choice and quality of our breakfasts, and it’s so disappointing to me to hear that one of my staff wasn’t able to get it right for you that morning. As a result of your feedback, that particular member of staff has since undergone both further training and disciplinary procedures, so I sincerely hope that type of issue will now never happen again.

Despite this though, I am really pleased you could still rate us so highly, and still had a wonderful stay. We really appreciate your custom and look forward to welcoming you back again to show you how we can do your choice of breakfasts!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

My husband booked room 4, the Decadence room, for our first wedding anniversary. From when we checked in, until when we left we had the most perfect stay.
We were greeted by a lovely member of staff who was very polite and courteous; check in was a breeze and we were shown straight to our room. The room itself is full of the character that you would expect from a house this age, with the odd squeak, but such a refreshing change from 'chain hotels'. The four poster bed was most comfortable and the shower was amazing. The range of complementary toiletries were luxurious. There was even separate shampoo and conditioner; a plus for anyone with longer hair.
We chose to stay in and have our evening meal, and after a game of chess we had the Thai green chicken curry which was delicious. For puddings we had crème brûlée which was decorated with dark chocolate drops and spotted dick with vanilla ice cream. Both were very yummy. The range of beer and wine at the bar was good. The prices charged were exceptionally reasonable and the staff on duty even played our favourite music as we relaxed.
After a good nights sleep, we had the full English breakfast: a jewel in this crown. The eggs were poached to perfection, the sausages had a lovely spice in them and the bacon was divine. Jason the owner even gave us a talk through on how to get the perfect poached egg!
Check out was a sad affair as we did not want to leave... Jason even gave us details of his supplier of earplugs as they were the best quality ones we have come across in a hotel. (The hotel is not noisy, the husband can be lol).
There are several pointers that make this a unique place to stay -
- This is an adults only hotel, so do expect a little naughtiness! From the love swings provided in the rooms, to the slightly erotic art on the walls, this is a hotel that is for the more amorous :0)
- Complimentary ear plugs are provided. Fantastic if you are a lighter sleeper.
- There are complimentary teas and a huge selection of Nespresso coffee, along with fresh fruit, yoghurt, biscuits and chocolates for snacking if you get the midnight munchies.
- The staff go above and beyond to make your experience a memorable one.

Thank you for the most wonderful stay, we cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: Check the website for a detailed explanation of the hotel and its themed rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nara74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HdV_Owner, General Manager at Hotel de Vie, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2012

Many thanks for such a lovely and detailed review. I do remember helping you with details of our earplug supplier, and how we do our poached eggs :)

I hope both elements of information have been put to good use since your stay.

Of course we're really pleased you had such a wonderful stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We stayed here last month for our friends wedding just up the road and we loved it. Great room, Great Service and Great Breakfast. The room was a great size and comfortable and great bathroom.

we will definatley be coming back to stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MSW1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HdV_Owner, General Manager at Hotel de Vie, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2012

Many thanks for sharing your great review on here with other potential guests. And of course we really appreciate the '5 star' rating you've provided.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future as you describe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Just back from the Hotel de Vie . We stayed in room 4 Decadence. When you first arrive as others have said the outside does not reflect inside. As soon as you enter you know you are some where a little different, this can take some adjusting to as it is quiet and beautifully decorated.
There are biscuits fresh fruit and Nespresso coffee to have as you please. Our room was lovely and the bed and linen very comfortable. The room is on the road side which can be noisy but we personally didn't find it a problem.
A tip to improve would be to extend the dinner serving time. It stops at 8pm . 9pm I think would be better on a Saturday night, we would have eaten at the Hotel and had more drinks there rather than going into Town.
Also no Sunday papers,maybe ask if people would like one the night before and just add to to
the bill

Breakfast was superb
We will be back




We came away very relaxed and we will be back

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gizzmox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HdV_Owner, General Manager at Hotel de Vie, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review on here, we're really pleased you had a relaxing stay.

I'm sorry that the 8pm restaurant ending time was a little early for you during your stay, although fortunately as you discovered the restaurants in town are only a 5-10 minute walk away from the hotel.
For your information, we did previously have our own restaurant open until later in the day, but unfortunately found that with allowing time to prepare each course after a late order, time for the guests' leisurely eating, and then the time to clean up afterwards, the noise from the kitchen washing could go on later than we'd hope for the comfort of our guests, hence the current 8pm order cut-off for everyone else’s comfort.

In relation to your thoughts about the morning papers: this is something normally people request the night before if they wish (as you can appreciate we’re very busy once we’ve started preparing our fresh breakfasts). I have however now added a small notice about this to our customer notice board, by the snack area, to help encourage greater awareness about pre-ordering their preferred paper.

We of course look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farnham
3.9 mi away
Frensham Pond Country House Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Farnham
Premier Inn Farnham
#1 of 6 in Farnham
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Aviator Hotel Hampshire
Aviator Hotel Hampshire
#1 of 7 in Farnborough
2,056 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
0.4 mi away
The Bishops Table
The Bishops Table
#4 of 6 in Farnham
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Vie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Vie

Address: 22 Firgrove Hill, Farnham GU9 8LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Farnham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Farnham
Price Range: £94 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Vie 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Vie is a relaxing adults-only Boutique Hotel/B&B with eight luxuriously-fitted bedrooms and is popular for both couples and Farnham business travellers throughout the week. The freshly-cooked breakfasts and fast, free wifi are included in the room rate. Only a short walk from the historic Farnham town centre and Farnham station, Hotel de Vie regularly wins TripAdvisor Certificates of Excellence for consistently being one of the highest-rated hotels in Farnham. The child-free policy gives a quiet and sophisticated elegance to the lounge area which is only open to residents, so guests can enjoy the private bar and restaurant and get away from the stresses of everyday life and work. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel de Vie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Vie Farnham, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing