We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Night Away”
Review of Hotel de Vie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel de Vie
Ranked #3 of 22 Farnham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Romantic Night Away”
Reviewed 30 November 2012

We decided to have a couple night away from the children and so decided to book Hotel De Vie and the Decadence Room. Right from the start the service from Jason was excellent from a lovely greeting and being shown to ur room. The Decadence room has fantastic Kingsize four poster bed, the colours in the room made the atmosphere of the room sooooo romantic and cosy. We stayed in and and had a lovely meal and drinks and once again Jason was great gauging our needs so that we were left alone for a romantic meal and was there when we needed more drinks etc. The Whole theme of Hotel De Vie lends itself to a romantic evening.
The hotel has a spacious lounge and dining area which is tastefully decorated with a slightly sexy theme with the pictures and plaster cast torso (look so good we have ordered the kit to have ago ourselves) which a gives just the right cosy feeling which you don’t seem to get in any other branded hotels.
Hotel De Vie provided us what we needed, a great service, a romantic meal, a great room, no kids running about so that we could be a romantic couple again, thank you Jason.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HdV_Owner, General Manager at Hotel de Vie, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Many thanks for sharing your experiences of staying with us, from staying in the 'Decadance' room recently.

It's great to have read your feedback on so many of the things we've worked hard to find that balance in service and quality.

Of course we're not just a hotel for romantic nights away : the subtly themed rooms, quality bedding and food, are a welcome change for our guests staying in the area on business too! :)

Our child free policy in particular does help the whole building feel a lot more peaceful as you've described though.

We look forward to welcoming you back again, the next time you get some time away for yourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    50
    15
    7
    7
See reviews for
7
231
11
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

I can't praise this hotel enough.

We stayed for two nights and i booked up the scarlet suite for the first night and the gothic nights room for the second night, but due to it being in the week, we managed to stay in the scarlet suite for the second night too.

The suite was perfect and it really was the perfect place to relax and unwind. So romantic and tasteful, but not overpowering. It was very well decorated, the super king size four poster bed puts all others to shame, especially with that mattress and egyptian cotton sheets. The shower was the best i have ever been under, very powerful and big enough for two people to comfortably shower under at the same time. There was even a private dining table to have meals on in the suite.The little touches were the icing on the cake. From the candles to the gigantic two person bath to the breakfast served in the room. Everything was perfect. I ordered some champagne to be delivered to the suite for when we got there and it was ready in the ice bucket along side some flowers that i ordered from a local florist.

The Hotel was clean, tidy and brilliantly decorated and the food was excellent. What more could you ask for? For Jason and the team, nothing was too much trouble and they would go out of their way to help you if anything was asked of them.

Just look at their website and you will be impressed like i was at this hotel.

Jason and the team, thank you for making our stay magical and we will be back soon.

Room Tip: Go for the scarlet suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank naughtynige85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HdV_Owner, General Manager at Hotel de Vie, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
It was great to see your review of us here, and thank you for sharing all your photos too :)

Of course everyone here has worked hard to try and get all the little details just right around the hotel, and it's great they've exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon as you mention :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Booked for our 29th wedding anniversary in the Parisian Dreams Suite.We stayed two nights, which were so relaxing and romantic. The room was very tastfully decorated and arranged. The bath could have been used to train the olympic squad.... candles, bubble bath, and champaign all supplied. Could not fault this hotel in anyway, great service and the breakfast was worth getting up for. What a find this hotel is, will definatly return. Many thanks Jason and the staff for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bb0sw0rth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HdV_Owner, General Manager at Hotel de Vie, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Many thanks for sharing your experience on here, we really appreciate it.

And of course it's lovely you chose to spend your 29th wedding anniversary with us. We're really pleased you had such an excellent stay here at Hotel de Vie, and as you say, your experience was faultless.

We're really pleased all our hard work is proving worthwhile, and we look forward to welcoming you back for many more anniversaries to come :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

I booked the scarlet Room for the weekend so My partner and I could kick back, relax and get some quality time that we dont get at home with the kids around.....
I what we got was just that if not more......the room is stunning the service is excellent the food cant get better well think you can see where I'm going with this review....
I would say you must all go and stay there but I wont only because we might never be able to book the Scarlet suit again as it will be fully booked.....
To Jason and all the crew thankyou for making us welcome, looking after us and helping us make another great memory.....
Nikki and I will see you soon!!!!!!!

Room Tip: The Scarlet suit is a must!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jason w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HdV_Owner, General Manager at Hotel de Vie, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Hi Jason,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience of staying with us, here on TripAdvisor.

Of course all the staff are really pleased you and Nikki had such a great stay with us.

We are open virtually all year around, 7 days a week though, so if the Scarlet Suite isn't available on a Saturday night you're after (generally our most popular day of the week for that room), please do check the other days around it too :)

We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Comfortable, clean, well appointed and very friendly. This hotel may have an unfounded reputation on some web sites but it is not true - this hotel is a great place to stay for business guests and holiday/weekender guests.The rooms do have a theme but it's not overpowering for business travellers. If you are looking for a romantic stay or just passing through you will not go wrong in choosing this hotel. It is an easy walk into town where there are numerous bars and restaurants - if you decide not to eat in of course! Breakfast is substantial....and there is free coffee, tea, fruit and sundries available in the lounge/bar for guests.

Room Tip: I had a quick peek at all of the rooms that were unoccupied and they all look good so go for the the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HdV_Owner, General Manager at Hotel de Vie, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience here on TripAdvisor.

It is a shame that some of our competitors seem to have been trying to damage our reputation by spreading untruths locally and online, despite our best efforts to do all we can to make the Hotel an excellent place to stay.
Fortunately, with the efforts of people like yourself helping to counter these stories with your own direct experience of staying with us, we are finally starting to overcome these myths. So thank you again for that.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, should you be down this way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Visited this hotel again after almost 2 years!
Booked the same room, which was still to a very high standard! Service was great, lovely girl at reception was welcoming and helpful!
The room was clean and beautiful as usual! Had a lovely romantic break!
Only downside since my last visit was that on this occasion they did not bring our breakfast to our room, instead we were asked to come downstairs to the main area before 10am. I didn’t mind much, but the convenience of breakfast in bed on our previous stay was the icing on the cake!
Parisian Dreams suite is our fav! will be returning soon!

Room Tip: Parisian Dreams is my personal fav...very spacious and romantic! although floor boards creak a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rani4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HdV_Owner, General Manager at Hotel de Vie, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post your feedback on here, and I'm really pleased you had such a great stay, and it was still great for you two years on from your previous visit.
I'm sorry that we weren't able to offer you 'breakfast in bed' in the Parisian Dreams room this time. However, this option is still available in the Scarlet Suite, where the room features it's own private dining table/area :)
We look forward to welcoming you back again, possibly in two years again if not sooner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Hotel de Vie is a boutique hotel with a naughty twist. We indulged ourselves with the Scarlet Suite, deliciously decadent. Brilliantly conceived and superbly executed. Stylish, clean, plus wonderfully helpful and welcoming staff. All this and a yummy breakfast!!! We couldn't have asked for a better experience. Thanks to all at Hotel de Vie. D&J

Room Tip: Treat yourselves, go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DandJ0508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HdV_Owner, General Manager at Hotel de Vie, responded to this review, 7 October 2012
Hi D&J,
Many thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts here, after your stay with us.
It’s great you rated us so highly, and couldn’t have asked for a better experience! We really appreciate it.
We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farnham
0.4 mi away
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Bishops Table
The Bishops Table
#4 of 6 in Farnham
103 reviews
3.9 mi away
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 7 in Farnborough
1,849 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
17.3 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
2,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Vie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Vie

Property: Hotel de Vie
Address: 22 Firgrove Hill, Farnham GU9 8LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Farnham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Farnham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Vie 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Vie is a small boutique hotel of 8 en-suite rooms, just a short walk from the historic Farnham town centre, Farnham station, and a host of other local attractions. Hotel de Vie, Farnham, provides comfortable accommodation, with great staff, freshly cooked to order breakfasts, powerful showers, and lots of free snacks, hot drinks and treats. Affordable luxury in a friendly and relaxed environment that many guests keep coming back to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de Vie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Vie Farnham, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing