We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carpe Diem at the Hotel de Vie”
Review of Hotel de Vie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de Vie
Ranked #3 of 22 Farnham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2008

Charming boutique style hotel that while obviously oriented towards couples is also suitable for business travel solo. Innkeeper (Roger) very helpful with directions/suggestions for site seeing and friendly during our evening pint. Roger was also very accomodating when we needed a place for a last minute business meeting. Cooked breakfast to order was excellent and evening menu did not disappoint (I recommend the scallops) and was fairly priced. Service was very good and all the staff were just as friendly as Roger. Room was exactly as pictured and very clean. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank KimWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2008

We first visited in Jan and stayed in the Gothic room which was lovely, very well decorated an gorgoues bathroom. On our second visit yesterday we stayed in Lady Hamilton room which was just as goregous, four poster bed was lovely.The [--] swing was a treat :-) ! Fantastic service all round from all staff an made to feel very welcome. Aim to try all the rooms in time, lovely little gem of a hotel close to home. Great for a romantic night away
Sophy & Marc

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sophy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2008

As someone who spent several years travelling around the world staying in hotels from New York to Tokyo it was a real pleasure to find this little gem of a hotel in Farnham. It far outstrips any hotel I have ever stayed in and has set a stiff standard for other hotels to follow, if they can.

Extremely clean, with even friendlier staff (if that is possible), a wonderful room and overall a great experience. The beds are AMAZINGLY comfortable btw.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Geordiebert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2008

What a lovely hotel, and restaurant, for couples to stay. It doesn't matter whether you're young or old, it only matters that you enjoy each other's company.

Immaculately clean, beautifully presented, tastefully decorated with nice friendly staff.

We had valentines night there and will definitely make a special trip again to have some 'us' time.

The restaurant had an interesting menu and the food was well cooked, nicely presented and pleasantly served; there were also local couples enjoying a valentine's meal there who were bemoaning the fact that as they are local, they can't stay there ?!

Excellent coffee.

Bev Brown, Kent

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KentBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2008

Beautiful hotel. Clean, spacious and welcoming. We booked the Victorian room but had a free upgrade to the Parisian room, with the super king size bed and super king size bath! We had an evening meal in the hotel which was lovely and a super breakfast which was ready early for us, as requested. A very friendly, chic hotel, would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank love2travel024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2008

My boyfriend and I have stayed in the hotel de Vie three times already, having the pleasure of experiencing a different room on each occasion: Lady Hamilton, (cosy, well laided out, making the best of the space) Decadence, (wonderful four poster bed adding ambiance to the feeling of being a royal guest) and Victorian Memories (luxurious with the double ended bathtub, superb to relax in together!). We have fallen in love with the place – the area is surprisingly quiet and the beds most comfortable which certainly encourages one to have a nice lie in every morning; the showers are very powerful and you’ll find a pile of fresh, soft towels in the bathroom, almond soap, shampoo, shower gel and body lotion, even white dressing gowns in the wardrobe! Each room is filled with stylish furniture, unique mirrors and a few other surprises...each one is immaculately clean and decorated with great taste and sophistication. The hotel staff is most helpful, warm and friendly and as is the owner; the atmosphere light and romantic, the whole place very sensual – ideal for special occasions as well as any other time … (we always manage to find an excuse!) The food is most delicious, fresh and mouthwatering (choice of smoked salmon or full English breakfast, cereals, an ice cold orange or grapefruit juice, hot, strong coffee or aromatic tea). Pure luxury, indulgence and decadence – unforgettable experience every time! We’ll certainly be back!
Bee & Ra

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Bee-Ra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2008

We have just been to the Hotel de Vie for the weekend and found it to exceed our (already high) expectations. Food was fantastic, service excellent, rooms very clean and well decorated. Would definately visit again.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank xyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farnham
0.4 mi away
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel
3.9 mi away
Frensham Pond Country House Hotel & Spa
5.2 mi away
Aviator Hotel Hampshire
Aviator Hotel Hampshire
#1 of 7 in Farnborough
2,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
0.5 mi away
The Bishops Table
The Bishops Table
#4 of 6 in Farnham
116 reviews
1.7 mi away
Farnham House Hotel
Farnham House Hotel
#5 of 6 in Farnham
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Vie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Vie

Address: 22 Firgrove Hill, Farnham GU9 8LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Farnham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Farnham
Price Range: £98 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Vie 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Vie is a relaxing adults-only Boutique Hotel/B&B with eight luxuriously-fitted bedrooms and is popular for both couples and Farnham business travellers throughout the week. The freshly-cooked breakfasts and fast, free wifi are included in the room rate. Only a short walk from the historic Farnham town centre and Farnham station, Hotel de Vie regularly wins TripAdvisor Certificates of Excellence for consistently being one of the highest-rated hotels in Farnham. The child-free policy gives a quiet and sophisticated elegance to the lounge area which is only open to residents, so guests can enjoy the private bar and restaurant and get away from the stresses of everyday life and work. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Hotel de Vie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Vie Farnham, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing