We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure luxury at superb cost.”
Review of Hotel de Vie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel de Vie
Ranked #3 of 22 Farnham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Midlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pure luxury at superb cost.”
Reviewed 4 May 2008

Having read previous reviews, we arrived at the Hotel de Vie expecting a weekend of luxury - especially as we were on honeymoon! We were not disappointed. We stayed in the Parisian Suite, which was massive and beautifully decorated. The bed is enormous and incredibly comfortable, the bath was approximately 6ftx6ft, which made for some seriously luxurious pampering. No tea and coffee facilities in the room, but the staff believe you shouldn't need to lift a finger, so a quick phonecall to reception in the morning resulted in Roger bringing us some delicious tea and coffee (complete with breakfast bars as we'd missed breakfast - how thoughtful!). The room was superbly equipped, complete with huge fluffy bath towels and bathrobes, luxury toiletries etc. Dinner in the restaurant was absolutely delicious, and we were pleasantly surprised by the cost. All in all, this hotel is pure luxury at a more than reasonable cost, and we're already making plans to book again for our anniversary next year.

  • Liked — The total luxury
  • Disliked — Nothing - it was all excellent.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DivadelTeatro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    50
    15
    7
    7
See reviews for
7
230
11
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
devon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2008

the most amazing place ever . having stayed in feb 08 we love it so much we booked for our honeymoon in aug .. with all the pre stress of a looming wedding we took off last weekend april 26th and had the most amazing relaxing night at this fab hotel . roger & kerrie made us so welcome just like old friends and we had a lovely meal and far to many glasses of wine !!!!!!!!!!!! . the rooms are beautiful and tasteful but also very sexy . the only place to be for a naughty or romantic weekend away . a must for lovers

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing to dislike
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank partygirldevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2008

Charming boutique style hotel that while obviously oriented towards couples is also suitable for business travel solo. Innkeeper (Roger) very helpful with directions/suggestions for site seeing and friendly during our evening pint. Roger was also very accomodating when we needed a place for a last minute business meeting. Cooked breakfast to order was excellent and evening menu did not disappoint (I recommend the scallops) and was fairly priced. Service was very good and all the staff were just as friendly as Roger. Room was exactly as pictured and very clean. We'll be back!

  • Liked — The friendliness of the staff.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KimWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2008

We first visited in Jan and stayed in the Gothic room which was lovely, very well decorated an gorgoues bathroom. On our second visit yesterday we stayed in Lady Hamilton room which was just as goregous, four poster bed was lovely.The [--] swing was a treat :-) ! Fantastic service all round from all staff an made to feel very welcome. Aim to try all the rooms in time, lovely little gem of a hotel close to home. Great for a romantic night away
Sophy & Marc

  • Liked — all of it
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sophy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S'oton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2008

As someone who spent several years travelling around the world staying in hotels from New York to Tokyo it was a real pleasure to find this little gem of a hotel in Farnham. It far outstrips any hotel I have ever stayed in and has set a stiff standard for other hotels to follow, if they can.

Extremely clean, with even friendlier staff (if that is possible), a wonderful room and overall a great experience. The beds are AMAZINGLY comfortable btw.

  • Liked — The ambience
  • Disliked — Leaving!
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Geordiebert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
133 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2008

What a lovely hotel, and restaurant, for couples to stay. It doesn't matter whether you're young or old, it only matters that you enjoy each other's company.

Immaculately clean, beautifully presented, tastefully decorated with nice friendly staff.

We had valentines night there and will definitely make a special trip again to have some 'us' time.

The restaurant had an interesting menu and the food was well cooked, nicely presented and pleasantly served; there were also local couples enjoying a valentine's meal there who were bemoaning the fact that as they are local, they can't stay there ?!

Excellent coffee.

Bev Brown, Kent

  • Liked — The thought and care that had gone into the layout of the room, for example a dimmer switch for the lights at exactly the right spot by the bed
  • Disliked — the car park
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KentBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2008

Beautiful hotel. Clean, spacious and welcoming. We booked the Victorian room but had a free upgrade to the Parisian room, with the super king size bed and super king size bath! We had an evening meal in the hotel which was lovely and a super breakfast which was ready early for us, as requested. A very friendly, chic hotel, would definately stay again.

  • Liked — Clean, spacious and friendly
  • Disliked — going home
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank love2travel024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farnham
0.4 mi away
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel
3.9 mi away
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Bishops Table
The Bishops Table
#4 of 6 in Farnham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Farnham
Premier Inn Farnham
#2 of 6 in Farnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
5.2 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 7 in Farnborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,819 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Vie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Vie

Property: Hotel de Vie
Address: 22 Firgrove Hill, Farnham GU9 8LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Farnham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Farnham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Vie 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Vie is a small boutique hotel of 8 en-suite rooms, just a short walk from the historic Farnham town centre, Farnham station, and a host of other local attractions. Hotel de Vie, Farnham, provides comfortable accommodation, with great staff, freshly cooked to order breakfasts, powerful showers, and lots of free snacks, hot drinks and treats. Affordable luxury in a friendly and relaxed environment that many guests keep coming back to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de Vie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Vie Farnham, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing