We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, immaculate and extremely comfortable”
Review of Hotel de Vie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de Vie
Ranked #3 of 22 Farnham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My boyfriend and I spent a few nights at the Hotel De Vie during a short stay away from London and fell completely in love with the place. The decor is beautiful throughout, the rooms immaculate and extremely comfortable, and the staff and hospitality second to none. The standout feature of the Hotel De Vie is found in the owner's attention to detail - every possible guest need is anticipated and catered for.

I would recommend the Hotel De Vie to those travelling for both business and pleasure and am certainly looking forward to a return visit in the near future.

Room Tip: We stayed in 'Victorian Dreams' and found it to be incredibly comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

Just needed some time away and felt that this hotel would tick the boxes and it did not disappoint. We had a very nice appointed room, excellent coffee and snacks downstairs to use as much as you liked and a great breakfast the next morning. It was quiet and a 10 minute walk from the restaurants. We had an excellent fish meal at the Loch Fyne fish restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

A warm welcome awaits you here. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable, let alone, styled with time and elegance. Decoration and layout are perfect, chilling you out within seconds of arrival. It was hard to get out of the large shower.. "Massage by water" should be the sign on the bathroom door! I cannot think of what I could do to make our stay any better... Several choices of teas, coffees were made freely available, alongside juices and soft drinks. A large selection of treats and 'picky' bits also on tap for that little extra touch. The Hotel De Vie goes that extra mile to make sure your short stay is a break you will not forget.. Thank you all for the great service.. We Will Be Back!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TelboysTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I cannot speak highly enough of the staff and amenities at the hotel de vie. What I can say is that I have never stayed in a hotel that had staff that were more accommodating and willing to assist. They were also not disingenuous as in some hotels but came across as actually pleased to help in any way possible and interested in you as the guest.

The room was perfectly as described on the Internet. The information pack within the room was great for learning about where and where not to go in the local area and refreshingly candid.

There were free fresh drinks available round the clock in the bar area, as well as snacks. The hotel itself was beautifully decorated and absolutely spotless.

It is located in a great location, being only about a 5-10 minute walk into Farnham town and only 5-10 minute walk from the train station.

One point to note if you are walking from the train station and following google maps is that it may suggest to you to walk up Approach Road. This road does not have a path alongside so I would avoid this, especially with luggage. Instead, walk up Tilford Road and take a right onto Alfred Road. Walk to the end and the hotel will be on the opposite side of the road about 20yds on the left.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wishes to visit Farnham and the surrounding area. This hotel does not just facilitate a holiday, it enhances it.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clangowland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Went there for a couple of nights whilst we were in Farnham for a party. Great place.

Really good quality rooms, perfectly clean everything and the breakfast was wonderful. Had some Loch Fyne smoked salmon with scrambled eggs the first day, brilliant "Full English" the next.

Can't really fault it except that you need to allow time for your breakfast to be cooked unless you warn them when you are coming down the previous evening.

Room Tip: Don't go for the cheapest - there is not much cash difference but the bigger rooms are more room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pau1mi11er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Stayed here last weekend for me and my husbands 2nd wedding anniversary and was amazed at how beautiful it was. It was classy and the staff were extreamly attentive and friendly. The decor is artistic and the rooms.... Beautiful. I will be planning to go back for my birthday and spending more time just relaxing in the room . We both stayed in the parisian suite and it was gorgeous and had everything you could possibly need and more. It's nice to see a hotel that has a real personal feel and at the same time you're getting top quality service. Love it Love it Love it... I reccomend this hotel for a romantic get away or a business trip... really works for both

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayleighrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I booked myself and the wife into the scarlet suite as a early birthday present and the look on her face when we walked in was a picture. The room was beautiful, the staff were extremely helpful and catered for our every need if you're looking for a romantic break look no further couldn't find any faults what so ever

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farnham
0.4 mi away
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel
3.9 mi away
Frensham Pond Country house hotel & Spa
5.2 mi away
Aviator Hotel Hampshire
Aviator Hotel Hampshire
#1 of 7 in Farnborough
2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
0.5 mi away
The Bishops Table
The Bishops Table
#4 of 6 in Farnham
116 reviews
1.7 mi away
Farnham House Hotel
Farnham House Hotel
#5 of 6 in Farnham
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Vie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Vie

Address: 22 Firgrove Hill, Farnham GU9 8LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Farnham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Farnham
Price Range: £99 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Vie 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Vie is a relaxing adults-only Boutique Hotel/B&B with eight luxuriously-fitted bedrooms and is popular for both couples and Farnham business travellers throughout the week. The freshly-cooked breakfasts and fast, free wifi are included in the room rate. Only a short walk from the historic Farnham town centre and Farnham station, Hotel de Vie regularly wins TripAdvisor Certificates of Excellence for consistently being one of the highest-rated hotels in Farnham. The child-free policy gives a quiet and sophisticated elegance to the lounge area which is only open to residents, so guests can enjoy the private bar and restaurant and get away from the stresses of everyday life and work. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Hotel de Vie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Vie Farnham, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing