We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Total luxury”
Review of Hotel de Vie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de Vie
Ranked #3 of 22 Farnham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Total luxury”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Myself and my husband stayed in the Parisian Dreams Suite for 1 night for his birthday. The Suite is amazing...the bed is huge and so comfortable, the bath is just pure luxury and the little touches like the candles, bubble bath, nespresso machine and the little treat under the bed just make this B&B totally unlike any other we've stayed in. When we checked in at 3pm, we were told that the B&B was totally child free and the Bar / Restaurant exclusive to guests only..brilliant idea, we've been to so many other B&Bs for a romantic weekend away only to find children running around the place (we have a little one so don't mind really but it is nice to get away from normal life once in a while) and people just walking in off the street to use the bar / restaurant. I think it's nice to have a closed door policy. We were also told about their free snack / drinks area which includes Cereal Bars, Chocolate Bars, Fruit, Nuts, Biscuits, Cheese, Yoghurts, Fruit Juices, 16 types of Coffee and 12 types of Tea. This is in the intimate Bar / Restaurant which has comfortable chairs and sofas and even romantic music playing in the background. We didn't eat in the Restaurant in the evening as I had booked a table at The Duke of Cambridge in Tilford after a Brewery Tour at Hogs Back Brewery. We did have breakfast the next morning though and that was lovely as expected. We had Bacon, Sausage, Poached Egg and Toast. Cooked to perfection and set us up for the day. We really wish we could have stayed another night. Well done Hotel De Vie...perfection in a B&B!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JoJohn02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    50
    15
    7
    7
See reviews for
7
230
11
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2013

All in all, a very pleasant hotel to stay in. The staff are friendly, the room was clean and comfortable, and the whole hotel is very stylishly decorated. Having looked at its website, I had been a little bit apprehensive about the exact nature of the hotel and whether, being adults only, it catered for, ahem, a particular market, but I needn't have worried: it's just an ordinary, but very nice small hotel. The cooked breakfast was very good. My one tiny quibble is that at breakfast I would prefer to have someone bring me a cup of coffee, rather than have to make it myself using a machine, but I guess I'm just lazy! :-)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NVC62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

This hotel is probably the nicest one we've ever stayed in and we have stayed in quite a lot of different styled hotels.
We can't wait to go back there again, we just hope the new owners don't change the way it is run. Very relaxing stay, the double bath was great, can't fault anything about the place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

The hotel is situated in a residential area, on one of the roads out of Farnham, about 15 mins walk from the centre. We only stayed for one night while attending a wedding in the town and were able to leave our bags and collect the keys when we dropped off the car at 11.00. There is a rather disconcerting note on the door saying that the place is completely closed from 11.00 to 15.00 and there is no overnight desk cover so if you will be arriving outside the acceptable hours you do need to arrange it in advance. On arriving outside the hotel our hopes were not raised by the weeds in the parking area and the dead plants in the wooden trellis outside the door. However when the door was opened the impression of the reception/bar/breakfast area matched the expectations we had from the web-site and the other trip-adviser reviews. The ground floor is very stylish, interesting artwork, comfortable sofas and plenty of varied places to sit. A daunting array of sixteen different coffees is available all day, as well as snacks. Our bedroom (the Oriental) was a little small but well equipped and comfortably furnished. The bathroom had an excellent hot and powerful shower, but lack of space to put a wash-bag and no toothbrush glass. Breakfast was superb and although we were supposed to order it the day before, the fact that we had not done so was not a problem. My wife had smoked salmon with scrambled eggs and I had poached eggs with toast and bacon. All very well prepared and elegantly presented. Overall, a very nice hotel for Farnham and I would happily stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arborfieldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for our wedding anniversary and it was perfect, especially seeing as the new owners had taken over that day. We stayed in the scarlet suite and we thought it was lovely I would highly recommend to friends and we can't wait to return many thanks for making our stay so memorable

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abz197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Had a lovely stay. The hotel was very nicely decorated , rooms although not large were nicely decorated and very clean lovely friendly staff, and a superb breakfast. Wish we could have stayed for more than 1 night

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Y14ley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My boyfriend and I spent a few nights at the Hotel De Vie during a short stay away from London and fell completely in love with the place. The decor is beautiful throughout, the rooms immaculate and extremely comfortable, and the staff and hospitality second to none. The standout feature of the Hotel De Vie is found in the owner's attention to detail - every possible guest need is anticipated and catered for.

I would recommend the Hotel De Vie to those travelling for both business and pleasure and am certainly looking forward to a return visit in the near future.

Room Tip: We stayed in 'Victorian Dreams' and found it to be incredibly comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farnham
0.4 mi away
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel
3.9 mi away
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Bishops Table
The Bishops Table
#4 of 6 in Farnham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Farnham
Premier Inn Farnham
#2 of 6 in Farnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
5.2 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 7 in Farnborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,819 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Vie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Vie

Property: Hotel de Vie
Address: 22 Firgrove Hill, Farnham GU9 8LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Farnham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Farnham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Vie 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Vie is a small boutique hotel of 8 en-suite rooms, just a short walk from the historic Farnham town centre, Farnham station, and a host of other local attractions. Hotel de Vie, Farnham, provides comfortable accommodation, with great staff, freshly cooked to order breakfasts, powerful showers, and lots of free snacks, hot drinks and treats. Affordable luxury in a friendly and relaxed environment that many guests keep coming back to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de Vie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Vie Farnham, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing