We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - we will be back”
Review of Hotel de Vie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel de Vie
Ranked #3 of 22 Farnham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2008

A lovely place for a romantic break. Clean and very comfortable - probably the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in.

Room (Gothic Nights) was a good size and well equiped.

Quite a lot of road noise, but good double glazing eliminated this when windows were shut.

Excellent Breakfast.

Good location just a 5/10 minute walk into Farnham centre & with plenty of parking.

I am sure we will return for our next anniversary - if not before !

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coca-nut-ant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2008

Great Hotel, very friendly. The rooms are sumptuous and the bed linen is divine! Breakfast was very good.

The hotel is newly-fitted out, so it's absolutely spick and span. It has an intimate, relaxed feel to it. It is quite near a main road, but the noise levels are really quite low.

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank forbinproject
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2008

We had a free Saturday night and didnt want to travel too far. I booked this hotel, direct with Roger at Hotel de Vie, based on the trip advisor reviews. He was very friendly and helpful.
We arrived early, but reception doesnt open until 3pm, so we parked and strolled into Farnham for lunch. The walk is about 10 minutes and very pleasant on a sunny day. We found a nice Italian restaurant for lunch.
Upon our return, Roger welcomed us and showed us the available rooms we could chose. We had the Lady Hamilton which was very cosy, and has a wonderful comfy bed.
We ate at the hotel, a good (but filling!) meal which was freshly prepared, and had drinks at the bar with some of the other guests. We thought the service was excellent and the prices were very reasonable.
We felt very comfortable during our stay, and enjoyed the relaxing break. We'll be back.

Stayed: June 2008
Thank GN&CB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2008

We stayed at the Hotel de Vie having read some great reviews on here, but unfortunately didn't have quite the experience we were hoping for.

Check in was fine, the room was clean and comfortable with a nice design, staff were friendly and we had a good start to our stay. We were at a wedding for the day and everything was locked up at midnight when we returned (fortunately we had checked in and got the keys before the wedding otherwise we would have been stranded).

We were woken at 7.30 the next morning by the noise coming from the room next door (a couple that were clearly enjoying themselves). I'm not sure if our headboard was next to theirs but we felt like we were in the same room...

We went down for breakfast and thought we would order something quick and simple so we could get on our way. A couple of poached eggs on toast seemed to fit the bill so we placed our order with the hostess and sat down with a cup of tea to wait for the food. That cup of tea became 2 cups of tea as the eggs took just over half an hour to arrive. We were both slightly frustrated as it's a dish that takes less than 5 minutes to prepare. When the eggs did arrive all 4 of them were very undercooked with the large amounts of the white of the (microwaved) eggs clear and glupey.

We decided to cut our losses and skip breakfast, checked out and headed into town to buy breakfast there instead (or should I say 'as well' considering breakfast is included in the price). The hostess was suitably apologetic (stating 'staffing problems' as the cause) and offered us a bottle of wine as compensation. Good sentiment but perhaps inadequate considering the slow service, raw eggs and our added inconvenience and expense of buying breakfast in town (i.e. they essentially gave a £5 discount on the bill).

A really disappointing stay. We were looking forward to a rare night away and I'm sure the standard of service we received is not a fair representation of most customers experience.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank EdAndBinnyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HdV_Owner, Owner at Hotel de Vie, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2008

I have to hold up my hands and accept fully that the poached eggs cooked for this couple were not cooked to their liking. Having discussed this issue with the staff on duty at the time they tell me that the eggs certainly looked fine on the outside but were a little runny inside, we made a mistake and did offer to prepare some more poached eggs cooked to their preference but they declined. My staff do dispute the ‘over half an hour wait’ I have checked our CCTV and whilst I accept how frustrating it can be having to wait when one wants to get away, their wait was nothing like 30 minutes.
There is some debate about how best to cook poached eggs you only have to google ‘poached eggs’ to read the many opinions and suggestions. We generally poach our eggs in boiling water but on occasions when busy we have microwaved them in a ramekin in a little water and olive oil. Using a microwave reduces the ability to fine tune the cooking and although we have only used this method on very few occasions we have decided in favour of using the more traditional method i.e. in boiling water 100% of the time, In fact we have invested in some individual poaching ladles which work a treat!
I don’t really understand the guest’s concern about the possibility of being stranded because ‘everything was locked up at midnight...’ that’s why we give our guests a key so they can let themselves in! We do make a point of explaining this during check in and in any event a member of my staff was in the bar when these guests returned and even offered them a drink? Again I have confirmed this by looking at the CCTV.
Obviously I am really sorry that we were unable to meet this customer’s expectation but as they say themselves this is not a fair representation of most customer’s experiences at Hotel de Vie.
Roger Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2008

I arrived late, just as the kitchen was closing, and without hesitation the host offered to prepare something for me - and it turned out to be one of the most memorable meals I have ever had - perfect in every way. The kind service and convivial ambience of the hotel were a wonderful curative for a weary business traveller.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCinParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2008

I have stayed here a few times whilst travelling to the area on business. The theme of the hotel suggests a couples only environment but certainly through the week the hotel guests, with a few exceptions, seem to be lone business travelers both male and female.

Rooms are extremely clean comfortale and the power showers are amazing. The food is good not at all pretentious and the new 'fork N fingers' menu allows you to snack or to go the whole hog dependant on your appetite...try the sea bass. Breakfast is cooked to order and tasty although the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs is definately worth a go !

This hotel is a welcome change, very different friendly clean and suprisingly relaxing.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ladytraveller1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2008

Arriving into Hotel de Vie was like walking into a paradise. Unassuming from the outside, the interior was beautifully (and whimsically) decorated. The public areas were comfortable and inviting and the rooms were fantastic! Clean and tidy, with nothing out of place, our bedroom was a perfect place to read, sleep, work and play. The high speed wireless internet access was wonderful, not to mention the other complimentary services like morning coffee delivered to our room, made-to-order breakfasts, plush towels and high quality linens -- it was royally decadent! Pleasant surprises were around every corner and under every bed. We enjoyed Hotel de Vie to the fullest and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Rapaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farnham
0.4 mi away
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel
3.9 mi away
Frensham Pond Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Bishops Table
The Bishops Table
#4 of 6 in Farnham
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
5.2 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 7 in Farnborough
2,006 reviews
1.7 mi away
Farnham House Hotel
Farnham House Hotel
#5 of 6 in Farnham
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Vie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Vie

Address: 22 Firgrove Hill, Farnham GU9 8LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Farnham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Farnham
Price Range: £100 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Vie 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Vie is a relaxing adults-only Boutique Hotel/B&B with eight luxuriously-fitted bedrooms and is popular for both couples and Farnham business travellers throughout the week. The freshly-cooked breakfasts and fast, free wifi are included in the room rate. Only a short walk from the historic Farnham town centre and Farnham station, Hotel de Vie regularly wins TripAdvisor Certificates of Excellence for consistently being one of the highest-rated hotels in Farnham. The child-free policy gives a quiet and sophisticated elegance to the lounge area which is only open to residents, so guests can enjoy the private bar and restaurant and get away from the stresses of everyday life and work. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de Vie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Vie Farnham, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing