We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay apart from rain”
Review of Hotel de Vie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel de Vie
Ranked #3 of 22 Farnham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“great stay apart from rain”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

this is a great little hotel with very nice helpful staff the room was perfect as was the breakfast we will use again its near to the town centre only a two minute walk Farnham itself is not a bad place plenty of choice with pubs and restaurant's if you need a taxi try local company home James

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blackbess2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    50
    15
    7
    7
See reviews for
7
231
11
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Odiham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed one Saturday night based on some of the reviews we had seen as we were attending a party and decided to stay over in Farnham. We had room 3 (front of the hotel) which I believe is the Victorian Memories room. I can’t say that it reminded me of anything Victorian and was a little run down, with the holy net curtains needing cleaning. Everything worked ok and the bed was comfortable and clean. The TV was miniscule. The coffee and tea making facilities downstairs were a nice touch. The bar area and the entrance is not that welcoming although at the front it has a nice seating area. Behind the bar is used as a kind of office with a PC. Not a good look. Finally in my opinion the scrambled eggs were over cooked. I like mine soft not hard. Smoked salmon was great. It’s convenient for the town centre although you do have to walk back up the hill to get to it.

At £115 per night it’s a little steep (Mercure was cheaper) and others must think so as they only had two rooms occupied that night.The Luxury tag is over used in my opinion. It's an interesting average hotel that needs to up it's game to keep some of these glowing comments.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bazzerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South of England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Faultless! Never stayed in a hotel that is more customer focused than this one. The complimentary coffee, tea and snacks are such a good idea, I imagine this only works because it is a child free hotel...another plus. Only 8 rooms making it feel exclusive, and everything had a feel of quality and no scrimping. We stayed in room 3, Victorian Memories which is a nice size, with a king size bed and the en suite had a surprisingly large bath. Very much looking forward to our next stay and wouls higjly recommend this hotel to any couple.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Vincenze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Stayed in the Parisian dreams suite for one night and I can say it is one of the nicest boutique hotels I have ever been to. The decor, size and comfort of the room are superb and the enormous bath does help justify the price. I read some rumours about the hotel before arriving which I am certain are completely untrue! Yes there is a love swing under the bed but it's discreetly stored and you aren't forced to use it!
If you want an intimate night away with your partner (or lover) they are very accommodating and comfortable with this. The breakfast included and help yourself snack bar are a lovely touch. We found the walk into town an easy 10 minute stroll and I am happy to recommend this place and hope to return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flotus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

A repeat visit after a gap of a couple of years, and little has changed.
Still a very comfortable and clean hotel with good friendly service.
Breakfast was very good... bacon butty particularly recommended !

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coca-nut-ant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

"Is this the right place?" my wife asked as we arrived outside the Hotel de Vie. From the outside, it's an unprepossessing large suburban house. As soon as you enter, you realise that you're in for something special!

You enter from the small car park. They only have room for about ten vehicles, but that's enough as they only have eight guest bedrooms. When you enter, there's a well-stocked bar to your right, and a long dining area opening out into a sort of Living Room at the far end. The floors are wooden, and the furnishings are simple, elegant, but opulent. There are rather superb photographs, paintings and drawings hung throughout the downstairs.

We stayed in the "Victorian" room - each bedroom is themed. The furnishings were tasteful and of exceptionally high quality. The bed linen was highest quality Egyptian cotton and the eiderdown was feather-filled. There were four rather luxurious pillows provided on the King-sized bed. The room has a capacious wardrobe, a dressing table and bedside tables. All the furnishings are of high quality and in good repair. The bathroom was equipped with a large bath and an extremely powerful shower.

The chap who designed and equipped this hotel had obviously stayed in many hotels himself, and had decided to eliminate all the minor annoyances that we all usually suffer. Everything works flawlessly. There's FREE high-speed wi-fi (extra in many establishments - often very expensive), and every room has a direct-dial telephone: you can give the number out and receive calls directly to your room. Outgoing telephone calls from your room are free to 01, 02 03, and 07 numbers for calls up to 30 minutes! You can even call mobile phones at no charge! Their rates for international calls are not extortionate either (unlike most hotels).

Breakfast is included in the room rate, and the staff ask you to "book" your required time so that they can have everything ready (freshly cooked) for you. They also take your order for breakfast, but I wouldn't suggest straying far from either the traditional "Full English" or the Smoked Salmon options - both are superb!

Tea and coffee are "serve yourself" affairs, and they have a very wide selection of teas and coffees to choose from. The beverage facilities are available - free of charge - in the bar area 24 hours a day. If you fancy a hot chocolate at 3am, you can indulge yourself! There is also a fridge there with milk and fruit juices - again just help yourself to whatever you want.

Beside the bar, there's a table with snacks - nuts, crisps and sweets - which you are invited to take. These are also free. We had a beer and a wine upon arrival (I had the wonderful local beer and my wife had a glass of superb Sauvignon Blanc). With these we had crisps and were surprised and pleased to discover that these snacks were free!

The attitude of the owner of this hotel is a refreshing change from the norm. He (and his wife) don't want to charge for every little thing - they want you to enjoy the hotel and recommend it to your friends. It's not a cheap stay (when compared to a Bed and Breakfast), but it's warm, welcoming, stylish, quiet and friendly. It is undoubtedly one of the best hotels I've stayed in - it's not huge or grand or gilded, but it's just a lovely place to visit, and so different from the usual that you'll certainly want to return!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Myself and my husband stayed in the Parisian Dreams Suite for 1 night for his birthday. The Suite is amazing...the bed is huge and so comfortable, the bath is just pure luxury and the little touches like the candles, bubble bath, nespresso machine and the little treat under the bed just make this B&B totally unlike any other we've stayed in. When we checked in at 3pm, we were told that the B&B was totally child free and the Bar / Restaurant exclusive to guests only..brilliant idea, we've been to so many other B&Bs for a romantic weekend away only to find children running around the place (we have a little one so don't mind really but it is nice to get away from normal life once in a while) and people just walking in off the street to use the bar / restaurant. I think it's nice to have a closed door policy. We were also told about their free snack / drinks area which includes Cereal Bars, Chocolate Bars, Fruit, Nuts, Biscuits, Cheese, Yoghurts, Fruit Juices, 16 types of Coffee and 12 types of Tea. This is in the intimate Bar / Restaurant which has comfortable chairs and sofas and even romantic music playing in the background. We didn't eat in the Restaurant in the evening as I had booked a table at The Duke of Cambridge in Tilford after a Brewery Tour at Hogs Back Brewery. We did have breakfast the next morning though and that was lovely as expected. We had Bacon, Sausage, Poached Egg and Toast. Cooked to perfection and set us up for the day. We really wish we could have stayed another night. Well done Hotel De Vie...perfection in a B&B!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JoJohn02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farnham
0.4 mi away
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel
3.9 mi away
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Bishops Table
The Bishops Table
#4 of 6 in Farnham
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 7 in Farnborough
1,853 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
1.7 mi away
Farnham House Hotel
Farnham House Hotel
#5 of 6 in Farnham
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Vie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Vie

Property: Hotel de Vie
Address: 22 Firgrove Hill, Farnham GU9 8LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Farnham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Farnham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Vie 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Vie is a small boutique hotel of 8 en-suite rooms, just a short walk from the historic Farnham town centre, Farnham station, and a host of other local attractions. Hotel de Vie, Farnham, provides comfortable accommodation, with great staff, freshly cooked to order breakfasts, powerful showers, and lots of free snacks, hot drinks and treats. Affordable luxury in a friendly and relaxed environment that many guests keep coming back to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de Vie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Vie Farnham, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing