We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, a lovely getaway!”
Review of Hotel de Vie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel de Vie
Ranked #3 of 22 Farnham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Telford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, a lovely getaway!”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I stayed at the Hotel de Vie with my fiance over Christmas and we thoroughly enjoyed our time at the hotel.
We spent one night in the Decadence room, and Decadence is the perfect word to describe it. The bed was soooo comfortable; I sometimes have trouble with hotel beds feeling a bit worn-in with stiff, thin sheets, but the gorgeous four-poster bed in this room was so cosy we both kept snoozing our alarms the next morning so we didn't have to leave it!
Plenty of space to get ready in the morning, with a lovely dresser to sit at to do my hair and makeup for the day.
Breakfast was beautiful, home-cooked to perfection just how we like it. I love the lobby area, being able to help yourself to coffee, hot chocolate and juices whenever you like is a great addition, and I might have helped myself to the oreo cookies perhaps a bit more than I should have ;)
The bar is great too, well-stocked and of reasonable price. My fiance especially enjoyed his Guinness, which is made using a special machine to get the taste and the head perfect. Highly reccommended, and he still talks about the 'Guinness Machine' to his friends :P
Of course the whole place is very clean, as would be expected. The theme throughout the hotel is great too, slightly risque, but in a tasteful way!
Arran and Marta have done a fantastic job with the Hotel de Vie, creating the perfect relaxed getaway for young couples like us, and I'm sure it would be just as luxurious for anyone staying here.
Can't wait to return, and hopefully next time we'll be able to stay in the stunning Scarlet Suite!

Room Tip: If you can afford to choose one of the larger rooms or a suite, definitely go for it! They are all t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    50
    15
    7
    7
See reviews for
7
232
11
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I stayed with my girlfriend in the parisian suite last week and it was one of the most welcoming and respectful hotels I have had the pleasure of staying in. The room was exceptionally clean and the bed was comfortable and enormous!! The bath was one of the biggest I had ever seen and it was a great feature having two showers. The breakfast was really nice also. The staff couldn't be more helpful and friendly. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Fantastic location for a business trip to Farnham with an easy walk to the numerous Farnham restaurants. Delightful room.Delicious breakfast. I am a light sleeper and could hear the traffic although this stopped at night.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

This was our second stay at this hotel, and thoroughly enjoyed it. The hotel is clean, well maintained and the staff are very friendly. We stayed in the Parisien Dreams suite which had the biggest bath we had ever seen and a bed to match. My partner said it was the most comfortable bed she had ever stayed in! There were lovey thoughtful touches in the room like candles around the bath, a nespresso machine in the room etc which made a nice difference to some larger hotels. Although we didn't eat our evening meal in the hotel, the breakfast was lovely and freshly cooked. Well worth checking this hotel out if you want a romantic getaway (with a naughty twist under the bed!)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 71ajh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Parisian Dreams suite which had a huge bed & bath - we found the room to be clean, spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was lovely. We would recommend this hotel for a quiet break away.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Whenever we go away for a short break we try and find places that are not boring and the same as everywhere else. This one is different, a great find!
It had a relaxed feel as soon as we entered, no cold formal reception and we were warmly greeted by the staff. The downstairs has big sofas to lounge on and a large flat screen TV. The breakfast area is close to the bar and looks fresh and modern. There was a large choice of tea and coffee and you could help yourself at any time, large cups too, so often the cups are too small. I really liked helping myself to the oreo cookies on the way out!
Breakfast was good and they were more than accommodating if you wanted something cooked in a particlular way, you just had to ask. I had a Full English and asked for my Sausage to be over done and my bacon with no fat.
We were celebrating our Anniversary so we treated ourself to the Parisian Suite, Wow.... a lovely large room, the bed was so enormous that I could barely find my Husband in it! the room also had a long sofa and wardrobe with hangers for our clothes. There was a hairdryer and small hanging compartments inside the wardrobe for jumpers and underwear storage. There were also two bathrobes.The duvet on the bed was lovely and soft, warm too and the bed was comfortable. The bath, never seen one so big and with two showers so we could both stand in and shower at the same time, we prefer a shower, quicker. There were complimentary toiletries, tissues and two large bottles of water. There was also a coffee maker but we preferred to wait until we were downstairs.
We stayed during the week just before Christmas for 2 nights. We don't like staying in large cold clinical hotels as they lack spirit, so if you are looking for somewhere different to stay this will not disappoint.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TailsTonbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I recently visited this hotel for the second time. (Last time was last January). It was wonderful before but is even better now. The new owners have re-carpeted and the floor in the dining area is beautiful. Even the entrance is more welcoming with heathers and small trees. I didn't consider it lacking last time, but this time I was blown away! I stayed in the Scarlet Suite and cannot even start to say how fantastic this room is. As mentioned by previous reviewers the staff are so helpful and nothing is too much trouble. I really enjoyed the breakfast, delivered to my room at exactly the time I requested, hot and delicious. I will definitely be recommending this hotel to family and friends and this time will not leave it a year before coming back!

Room Tip: Scarlet Suite cannot be bettered!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandymac2209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farnham
0.4 mi away
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel
3.9 mi away
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Farnham
Premier Inn Farnham
#1 of 6 in Farnham
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Bishops Table
The Bishops Table
#4 of 6 in Farnham
107 reviews
5.2 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 7 in Farnborough
1,875 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Vie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Vie

Property: Hotel de Vie
Address: 22 Firgrove Hill, Farnham GU9 8LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Farnham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Farnham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Vie 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Vie is a small boutique hotel of 8 en-suite rooms, just a short walk from the historic Farnham town centre, Farnham station, and a host of other local attractions. Hotel de Vie, Farnham, provides comfortable accommodation, with great staff, freshly cooked to order breakfasts, powerful showers, and lots of free snacks, hot drinks and treats. Affordable luxury in a friendly and relaxed environment that many guests keep coming back to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de Vie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Vie Farnham, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing