We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ordinary from the outside, but a hidden gem on the inside.”
Review of Hotel de Vie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel de Vie
Ranked #3 of 22 Farnham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2008

We attended a wedding at Cain Manor ( stop it...!!! CAIN...not CANE...lol) on 4th October and opted to stay at the De Vie simply because the Bridge was full.
At this point let me formally thank Roger for his help in arranging an earlier check in( necessary because of the time of the wedding).
On arrival the Hotel looks very ordinary from the outside but please do not let that put you off. It has treasures hidden within. Parking is available at the rear of the hotel and the parking bays are marked out using ..LOGS. For reasons only really explorable on the couch of a psychiatrist, I found this to be a really amusing/ individual idea and it was just a hint of the individuality displayed throughout the entire hotel. We were greeted by a very nice and friendly proffessional chap from Romania. This for me was a real bonus. I absolutely ADORE Romania and have been there 5 times. So to be greeted by one of the country's finest was a real bonus for me. We were shown to our room which was named gothic. It was smaller than expected and to be honest not quite as gothic as we had anticipated. But having said that , this is the only remote critisism we cound think of. The room was nicely appointed with good sized fluffy towels in the bathroom. Everywhere was clean. Even the two copies of Scarlet looked unblemished. :). A good plus point was that the foot of the bed is wide enough to actually sit on...Quite essential when two long haired people are fighting for the mirror.....
The breakfast the following day was very good and served by the same excellent Romanian man who had made us feel so welcome on arrival.
To me personally, what makes this hotel different is the downstairs. It has been decorated wonderfully right from the bar area to the front bay window. There are photos that are just very faintly suggestive as opposed to erotic, and one painting that , in its depicted simplicity of a woman adjusting her stockings, is quite divine.
In the introduction to the hotel I seem to recall that it had been Rogers dream to open such an individual place. It always gives me great pleasure to see someone who is not part of one of the big hotel chains acconplish something that can really give the big boys a run for their money. That dream has been accomplished here. And as for THAT mirror and the beautiful decor surrounding it half way up the stairs...Its my birthday on christmas day Roger... :))).
In conclusion , a fine hotel worth every one of its good reviews. You can almost feel the stares from the net curtains of vanilla land over the road as the more ordinary residents of Farnham try to peer at a place where they would love to know its secrets but are far too conservative ( in the true sense of the word) to enter.
Any one who can achieve that in Surry is fine by me!! Well done !!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Electricwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2008

We really liked the Hotel de Vie. We stayed in the gothic room although the room itself was smaller than I had expected.the large and Luxurious room soft furnishings large mirrors and a double ended bath all make for a romantic time in the privacy of your room. You could stay hidden here quite happily for a few days, or walk downhill into town to one of many local public houses or bistros. We enjoyed The Lamb with its comfy leather chairs open fires occasional live music and friendly staff (details available online).
We also found a very reasonably priced and very tasty italian restaurant about 10 doors up from the pub.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LeeOny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2008

We were looking for somewhere to stay over the Goodwwod Revival weekend and had left it a little late. We found this hotel through a 3rd party website and phoned Roger directly. Although it was a little further out than we would have liked, it was definitely worth the drive. We were welcomed by Roger and shown to the one remaining room which we had managed to secure - the Decadence room. The room was exactly as described on the website and more - plush furnishings, very comfortable bed which we didn't want to get out of ( after we had finally got in it after finding the box under the bed!) and excellent surroundings - very quiet. The breakfast was cooked to order and was a great start to a long day. Would definitely recommend and can't wait to go back when we can stay in the room a little longer.
Thank you Roger and staff for making us very welcome and turning a good weekend into a great one.
This was great find!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KentHappycouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2008

I booked the Decadence room as a surprise birthday treat for my boyfriend after reading the excellent reviews on tripadvisor. I was not disappointed by my choice. We arrived late in the evening due to train problems, yet the kitchen prepared dinner for us despite being about to close for the night. Our room was beautiful, well decorated with some unique finishing touches (such as the swing!), whilst the bathroom was more than adequate (shower big enough for two). Both the room and bathroom were very clean - it would have been easy to believe that we were the first people to stay there. Breakfast was laid-back, with cereals and juices available self-service and full-english breakfasts to order, and staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is only a few minute's walk from the train station and the town is in easy walking distance. A lovely hotel, to which I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomorrowistoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2008

Hotel de Vie in Farnham is more like an upmarket (and imaginative) B&B than a boutique hotel with the friendly hospitality more akin to staying in someone's home (the hotel itself is a converted house just outside the town centre). We were unexpectedly upgraded on arrival which was a lovely surprise and treated to breakfast in bed at no extra cost - very decadent and very representative of their proposition in general - of sensual indulgence. The hotel offers a hint of kinky so it's definitely not the obvious choice for a family get away but it certainly helped spice things up for the two of us! It is very discrete though so do not be put off.

We didn't get the manager's name (a German lady) but she was fantastic - friendly, helpful and thankfully flexible about our check out time, a welcome relief after a big wedding down the road the night before.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2008

I have to apologise to Roger for the lateness of our review, but this hotel is fabulous. We stayed in the decadent Parisian Dreams room and I think this is the only time we have been on holiday where we happily spent a whole day not leaving our room! The bath big enough for 4 was also a lovely experience, make sure you treat yourselves to bubbly especially for it. I am surprised to read a comment about the food, when we stayed it was excellent, the duck breast I had just melted in the mouth, and in fact the next evening we had an average meal in Farnham and wished we'd stayed in the hotel.

The small size of this hotel means you can be really casual and get to know other people staying there, I happily meandered down to dinner bare foot, and Roger is perfect bar-side host, complemented by very friendly staff.

This is our favourite hotel now and we can't wait to come back and try another room! But I almost hope it doesn't get tooo successful otherwise everyone will know about it!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank misslinaoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2008

Recently stayed at the Hotel de Vie for one night whilst attending a nearby wedding.

This is a most comfortable hotel made all the more so by Roger and his staff.
We stayed in one of the basic rooms, which was more than adequate. Extremely clean and well equipped with robes, hairdryer and the most perfectly positioned tv high up overlooking the bed.
The bed was extremely comfortable with crisp linen and a fantastic power shower accompanied with large and plush towels.

We ate in the lounge / bar area and had the most fantastic spaghetti & meatballs with a real kick.....very relaxing (maybe the music a little loud?)

We decided to take a light breakfast in our room and Roger accommodated with toasted bacon sandwiches, juice & coffee......Bang on time!

If we are due to be in this neck of the woods again we will most definitely make the de vie our hotel of choice.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssexBarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farnham
0.4 mi away
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel
3.9 mi away
Frensham Pond Country House Hotel & Spa
5.2 mi away
Aviator Hotel Hampshire
Aviator Hotel Hampshire
#1 of 7 in Farnborough
2,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
0.5 mi away
The Bishops Table
The Bishops Table
#4 of 6 in Farnham
116 reviews
1.7 mi away
Farnham House Hotel
Farnham House Hotel
#5 of 6 in Farnham
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Vie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Vie

Address: 22 Firgrove Hill, Farnham GU9 8LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Farnham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Farnham
Price Range: £98 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Vie 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Vie is a relaxing adults-only Boutique Hotel/B&B with eight luxuriously-fitted bedrooms and is popular for both couples and Farnham business travellers throughout the week. The freshly-cooked breakfasts and fast, free wifi are included in the room rate. Only a short walk from the historic Farnham town centre and Farnham station, Hotel de Vie regularly wins TripAdvisor Certificates of Excellence for consistently being one of the highest-rated hotels in Farnham. The child-free policy gives a quiet and sophisticated elegance to the lounge area which is only open to residents, so guests can enjoy the private bar and restaurant and get away from the stresses of everyday life and work. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Hotel de Vie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Vie Farnham, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing