We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indulgent”
Review of Hotel de Vie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel de Vie
Ranked #3 of 22 Farnham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Indulgent”
Reviewed 2 September 2010

I was looking for a boutique hotel for a weekend getaway with the wife for our wedding anniversary. I looked at many so called 'boutique hotels' in and around London and they were ridiculously over-priced. There was nothing special about them. I think the word boutique is just a posh way of saying 'small' in the hotel game!

However, I then stumbled across Hotel de Vie's website and thought - great - this is the type of place I have been looking for. Quirky and different. Let's go for it.

I did a quick google earth to see where the place is and admittedly was a little disappointed to see that it looked like a couple of semi-detached houses patched together but when we arrived we were pleasantly surprised. When you walk through the entrance you are greeted by a very contemporary, chiq bar and lounge. Beautifully styled and decorated. We initially wanted the Parisian Dreams suite because of the huge bath but as that was already booked we indulged in the Scarlet Suite which did not disappoint.

Beautifully decorated room. Large open bath with extremely powerful water pump - filled up in a couple of minutes! Very comfortable bedding and clean luxurious linen from Farnham's very own 'King of Cotton'! Great selection of free DVDs (there isn't THAT much to do in Farnham!). Huge TV, iPod docking station, private living area.

Breakfast was perfect. Staff and owner were very welcoming and friendly. Available when you need them and not when you don't. Very pleasant (and short) walk into Farnham town centre.

Negatives?
Like many, we would have liked to make our own coffee/teas in our room. I really don't want to be disturbing the staff if I fancy a late night cuppa. £190 per night is as much as I would pay for a small hotel but I think it was well worth the indulgence.

One final point: Some reviewers make this place sound a little 'seedy'. I really don't know why. The place is elegant and classy and if I hadn't read the reviews I wouldn't have even known there was a particular 'theme' to this place. Maybe I'm just naive!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dsleazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    50
    15
    7
    7
See reviews for
7
232
11
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Having found the Hotel de Vie on the web, it seemed like the perfect place to celebrate my girlfriend's birthday and get us in the holiday mood as were flying the next evening. On arrival, it appeared that we were the only guests. Our welcome was warm and friendly and it soon became clear that privacy and relaxation are high on the agenda. The Parisienne Dreams room is stunning, the super kingsize bed unbelievably comfortable and the huge bath was just what we'd hoped for. We didn't eat at the hotel that night, preferring instead to eat out in Farnham itself. The breakfast however was extremely tasty and very much appreciated. We found Roger and his staff to be very welcoming and I would recommend this hotel to anybody looking for a quiet, romantic time. Previous reviews have intimated that this hotel is over-priced, I find that incredibley harsh to be honest. Having searched around on the web I found this to be unbelievable value at £125 for the night with breakfast. I would also like to add that the hotel is very tastefully decorated and certainly not tacky in any way - as intimated by some reviews. Overall, it is highly recommended and we both look forward to returning to the Hotel de Vie at a later date.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OK1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2010

Been a while since I stayed here but it's wearing well and still to be recommended. Good value for a comfortable sleep with great bedlinen, good shower and straightforward catering. The hotel does have an unusual and somewhat racey theme, which certainly breaks the monotony of the ubiquitous business hotel. Smile and enjoy.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAW53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey, uk
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2010

Me and my boyfriend recently booked into the parisian dreams suite for one night. The room was very nice and the bath was just amazing! Plenty of hot water to keep it hot.
The room is bigger than it looks in the photos as it doesnt show the sofa and the area around it.
Didnt get a chance to really meet the staff but the hotel itself is nicely decorated and a nice atmosphere.
The only things i could say that would need improving would be to maybe get some air conditioning? I did get quite hot during the night and had to open the window. Some the reviews comment on the noisy traffic outside, this wasnt a problem till we had to open the window.
Also the dvd player on the tv was pretty rubbish, We bought a new dvd to watch and it kept skipping, but this didnt bother us to much as its not what we booked the hotel for :-)
It was less than a 5 minute walk to/from the train station which is handy and its a short walk to the high street which is a nice walk if the weather is nice (we werent too lucky)
All together i think the hotel is great if your a couple looking for a nice night together and i would recomend this hotel to people!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisy1234567890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2010

Have just returned from a perfect night away at De Vie. From the moment we arrived we felt totally relaxed. The design throughout is very tasteful, the rooms are spotlessly clean (we stayed in the decadance room which I have to say is absolutely beautiful), food great and staff friendly and welcoming. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel - not only to other couples seeking a romantic night away - but to others too as, whilst there is a lovers theme to the hotel (erotic artwork and love swing - boxed, under the bed) it is very tastefully appointed throughout and it is clear from speaking to Roger, the owner, that the hotel is used by a wide range of customers. We shall certainly be returning soon...

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebrownfamily6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, UK
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2010

Stayed at this hotel, overall was enjoyable few days.

Nice interior, room fine and breakfast good.

Although what lets this place down is in its value for money.

Having stayed in Farnham a few times, would recommend the Farnham B&B, 5 star b&b at 1/2 the price.

Overall, would recommend, but this area could be improved.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank moon_uk_dundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cádiz
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2010

We stayed there (in the Parisian Dreams Suite) for four nights and were very happy with the room, the service and the food. The bed is huge and the bath is amazing, it´s like going for a swim in a hot spring. However, the most remarkable thing about it is the service. Roger, the owner, is always around and very helpful and makes you feel very much at home. So do his staff. We had a lovely time.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gazules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farnham
0.4 mi away
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel
3.9 mi away
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Farnham
Premier Inn Farnham
#1 of 6 in Farnham
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Bishops Table
The Bishops Table
#4 of 6 in Farnham
107 reviews
5.2 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 7 in Farnborough
1,875 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Vie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Vie

Property: Hotel de Vie
Address: 22 Firgrove Hill, Farnham GU9 8LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Farnham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Farnham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Vie 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Vie is a small boutique hotel of 8 en-suite rooms, just a short walk from the historic Farnham town centre, Farnham station, and a host of other local attractions. Hotel de Vie, Farnham, provides comfortable accommodation, with great staff, freshly cooked to order breakfasts, powerful showers, and lots of free snacks, hot drinks and treats. Affordable luxury in a friendly and relaxed environment that many guests keep coming back to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de Vie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Vie Farnham, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing