We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bat & Ball Freehouse

The Bat & Ball Freehouse
Ranked #15 of 126 Restaurants in Farnham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$39
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Your first time here you might find us a little difficult to find as the pub is down an un-adopted lane in the bottom of a valley, backing on to the Bourne stream. "The Bat" is a traditional country/village pub retaining the charm and atmosphere of what a pub should be. An open fire, panelled walls, nooks and crannies, hops hanging from the old oak beams, cricketing memorabilia and six shining brass hand pumps for ale. Outside there is a covered patio area with grape vines overhead and a large garden with flower borders, a children’s play structure and plenty of seating. There is also a large car park.We offer a good and wholesome selection of light snacks, main meals and a mouth watering selection of homemade puddings and desserts. All our food is cooked and prepared in house by our team.Crossing the generations ,the pub is a meeting place for all and you will be sure of a genuine welcome
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

We went to the Bat and Ball two evenings running. We were so impressed with the friendly service and amazing home-cooked food. Highly recommended!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tomafpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maffy-and-Liz, Manager at The Bat & Ball Freehouse, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Fantastic, we are so pleased you enjoyed our food so much! Thank you so much, we hope you have been back since. Thank you for taking the time to rate us, we really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    80
    19
    16
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful, very welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Found this little gem of a pub today. My husband and our dog were met with an extremely warm welcome from the landlord behind the bar. Lovely and cosy atmosphere with a idyllic log fire. Locals were extremely friendly. Food was superb, especially the home made desserts. Will be recommending to friends and returning again soon.

Helpful?
Thank kmadams20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not Dissapointed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Popped in for a Drink ended up having a meal the food was fantastic. Good Quality Great Value. Desserts Looked Fantastic however I was so full from my meal next time I will have a dessert.
Friendly Pub Great Atmosphere!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Goodfoodlover321321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very relaxing place for mid-week drinks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

We keep coming back to this pub for quiet drinks during the week when it is quieter although we have eaten here with children during the weekend. That gets a bit frantic.

The food is great if quite expensive, the atmosphere is lovely . . . . .but the only thing is THE TOILETS. To be frank the corridor to the ladies is best taken at a run while not breathing the pervading aroma of toilet blocks from the gents on the way.
Best to have a couple of pints and then go home without having to use the facilites.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank slugbreff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Top notch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely pub, staff friendly, and food alway fantastic , it's our once a month treat, have been here a few times and never been disappointed , gets very busy during summer, car park always full so if you can walk I would recommend that, my husband likes the real ale too almost as much as the food.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bat & Ball Freehouse also viewed

 

Been to The Bat & Ball Freehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing