We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extensive quality menu”
Review of The Lobster Pot - CLOSED

The Lobster Pot
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$85
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Extensive quality menu”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Have driven past The Lobster Pot for years, last week booked a table and had a great surprise. Very extensive menu with a great, varied Al a carte dishes, a grill section, a sea food section and a grill seafood selection, continental dishes, there is something for all tastes as well as vegan and gluten free. Prices range from around £10 for a main selection to £30(live lobster). Desert menu equally extensive and a great range of Chef's Specials. Plenty of seating with tables not too close together which keeps the noise levels very acceptable. staff very courteous, friendly and have good knowledge of menu items and wine list.
Over all a great night, lovely meal and whilst I had plenty to eat, I didn't feel compelled to consume my body weight in food before settling the bill - have to go back soon to try some of the other menu items.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    81
    30
    21
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor - Restaurants ought to cook food from fresh !”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I have known this place for some time - the food seems to be " regenerated " rather than cooked from fresh apart perhaps the steaks - I had the baked Camembert and this appeared to have been brought in ! as the " extensive menu and fancy names to some of exotic dishes " does not live up to much . The décor is also poor with brash lighting that has remained unchanged for years ! I had the pasta carbonara which was " floury " rather than creamy... I find places such as the Lobster Pot expensive for what they effectively provide - No place should be allowed to be called a restaurant when regenerating food - It is a shame .. more effort was put in a few years ago when Bruno was at the Lobster Pot. A good note the white house wine is good and affordable

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nadiah27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Have eaten here on several occasions & always find the food to be excellent but a bit expensive for this type of venue ( basically a tarted up pub).
The staff are always attentive so makes for a very pleasant visit. Well used by locals which is always a good sign.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roderick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“The waitress with the stentorian voice”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The Lobster Pot in Upper Hale near Farnham, Surrey was opened in 2005 and today is a gastro pub and free house which is a rare find these days. The restaurant prides itself on only using food grown locally. Fresh fish and seafood is delivered daily whilst the meat is supplied by the Barn Catering Butchers which has a local reputation for supplying the finest British beef and best quality meat in the area.
Service is swift and the Portuguese waiter was exemplary in his efficiency. The drink order was delivered almost immediately and I enjoyed a pint of the most delicious bitter supped for a long time. Alas I failed to note down its name.
The first bread roll per guest ison the house and we enjoyed the the house sharing platter consisting of crispy mushrooms, brie melter, potato skins, mixed olives & garlic bread and dips ( £13.95).
A large list of lunch dishes is available at £ 8.95 and here are some to whet the appetite; Escalope of pork schnitzel with sauté potatoes & vegetables; Indonesian style chicken stir-fry with savoury rice; Aubergine stuffed with peppers, mushrooms, onions topped with parmesan shavings; Smoked haddock and salmon fish cakes with mixed salad & new potatoes; Braised beef in beer with mashed potato and vegetables.
Our host opted for his long time favourite dish, a sea food pasta with five different fish which included mussels and prawns, my wife chose a small portion of char-grilled chicken and bacon salad ( £ 7.50) which was both filling and tasty whilst I settled for a plate of lamb’s liver and bacon with caramelised onions ( £ 11.95). Offal is hard to find these days. All three plates were given the thumbs up ; in other words delicious.
The coffee to end the lunch was of high quality.
The only small minus was that on a nearby table was a party of military men and their wives. Alas some of the party were very deaf so the conversation was loud to say the least. The waitress serving their table, as soon as she realised that most of the guests were deaf, assumed a stentorian voice to answer questions and take the order. This was jarring to the ear but at least the guests understood every word. In the normal course of events this would have been tolerable; unfortunately our host was a military man and the party was talking about many of the places he had served in. My wife and I come from Gibraltar and eventually the subject turned to the Rock. We just had to listen and when obvious mistakes were made it was hard to avoid getting up and telling them of their factual errors.
The party uses the restaurant on a regular basis so perhaps the staff could show them to a table away from the most popular dining areas. Just a small point. In fact because of what they were talking about the lunch experience was enhanced . But we felt bad in eavesdropping.
Excellent lunch and we shall return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 612Michaeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East England
Level Contributor
93 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Wide menu choice and efficient service. Never been a big fan of the decor but it's always a good choice especially if you're a larger party but book in advance, it's popular.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Orchardsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lobster Pot also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing