We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent atmosphere and friendly staff”

Borellis Wine Bar & Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Borellis Wine Bar & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 133 Restaurants in Farnham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$32
Cuisines: Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Situated in the center of Farnham in Surrey. Borelli's is a contemporary Wine Bar, Steak Grill & Pizza restaurant set in the beautiful historic Borelli Yard, being one of the best locations in Farnham, near to the central car park. The olive green and white walls, polished wood and tiled floors create a warm and welcoming space at night, while the big windows let in plenty of sunlight during the day. Dining alfresco during the warmer weather in the spacious courtyard is very popular. Borelli's lunch menu offers a wide selection of wraps, baguettes and jacket potatoes and a range of heartier options from £9-95. The a la carte menu offers seriously good chargrilled beef and chicken dishes. Chefs specials menu changes every week. The relaxed atmosphere in the restaurant, great bar scene and music, friendly service and a comprehensive wine list with many wines available by the glass. Saturday nights are very popular with an 80's night and a Comedy Club every month.
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I visit this restaurant/wine bar at least once a month with my wife and friends. Over the last couple of years the menu has evolved, but I am pleased that at each change, it gets that little bit better. The excellent food, coupled with the great atmosphere and friendly staff, consistently put this place at the very top of my list for places to eat or drink in Farnham.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 251 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2013

Having not been for a number of years (10+), one Saturday afternoon whilst shopping in Farnham we decided to eat out. Having ruled out a number of the restaurants in and around Farnham, as it was a lovely hot day, we decided to try Borellis as we remembered there was an outside area. We sat down and within minutes, we were greeted by a friendly waitress who gave us some menus and asked if we wanted a drink. We placed our drinks order looked at the menu to decide what to eat. Well, the choice was endless. Their menu is incredible. We eat there now at least once a week, if not twice! The food is outstanding and the price is extremely reasonable. Their menu is split and there is a choice of ‘main meals’ which are £8.95 and include homemade cottage pie, jambalaya, fish and chips, chilli con carne, toad in the hole or thai chicken Curry (all taste delectable). Or if you fancy a light lunch, you can choose a jacket potato for £5.95, a baguette for £4.95 or a sandwich for £3.95 with a selection of fillings including duck & hoi-sin, sausage & fried onions or tomato, avocado & rocket or prawn & crayfish. The choice is endless. Then there’s the wrap selection, which are so delicious, a soft tortilla wrap with a choice of fillings, served with a side salad and rustic chips for £7.95. Choices include brie, grape and cranberry, tuna melt, cajun chicken caesar and pulled pork and halloumi. The chips are honestly to die for!! Children’s menu is just £4.95 for any meal from the main menu, which is such a good price. There’s also the grill menu where you can have anything from campfire trout with bacon to homemade seasoned gourmet burger. The menu is endless. They also do a special 2-course meal, which includes a starter and main course for £9.95 which all taste so mouthwateringly good that you just can’t decide which one to go for! There are plenty of starters to choose from, lots of healthy salads and of course wonderful desserts such as baileys bread & butter pudding or white chocolate and raspberry crème brulee. You will honestly not get bored! There’s also the added bonus of having Peroni on tap! All I can say is that if you haven’t been to Borellis in a while, honestly give it a go as like us, you will be making it a regular restaurant to eat out with a partner, with family or with family and friends. You will honestly not be disappointed. Plus you have their fantastic outside area to enjoy when the sun comes out (again hopefully!).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank carslates1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Visited Borellis on Saturday night. Really enjoyed the Duck starter and the Scallops. Our waiter was very attentive and made us feel very welcome. Service was neither slow or rushed. The only slight downside was the bar and music were very loud downstairs which travels up to the restaurant. Not so good for a romantic meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Nickwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We moved to Farnham town centre last December and have visited many of the towns eating and drinking establishments, some good, some not so good. Borellis is always a great place to go for a drink or a bite to eat and have always found it a lively, but relaxing place to visit.
We have only eaten there a couple of times but found it excellent on both occaisions.
There is an excellent choice of beers available, both lager and bitter and a great choice of wines too.
Highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PODLETSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Booked on recommendation and warmly welcomed in the restaurant - there were only two other couples there which seemed rather strange for a Saturday night!
The service was fairly good and staff attentive although not very knowledgeable about certain items on the menu. We all decided to have a steak as it was a special occasion and as this was the most expensive item on the menu (more than we would normally pay) we expected the meat to be good. The presentation was good but the meat definitely NOT- we all found it difficult to chew and were very disappointed. We told the waitress when she cleared the plates and the only comment was 'oh, I will tell the chef'
The presentation of the deserts was very amateurish - a tall sundae glass, no saucer under and ice cream just squashed in to it - not good!
We will not be going again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Bhgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidFarnhamSurrey, Owner at Borellis Wine Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

We are sorry to hear you were not happy with the quality of your steaks served to you last Saturday night. I note you had 3 rib eye steaks and i porterhouse. The rib eye steak does have a marbling of fat which gives the meat more flavour. We will always offer to change a steak if there is any problem with quality or how its cooked. As regards price we do remain very competitive in the town and can only assume you are referring to prices you will find in some of the large chain outlets.
As regard to your other points, yes the restaurant was unusually quiet, as we are always normally fully booked, which we are this Saturday. Eleanor your server is a new member of staff, but any questions you had should of course have been answered. Presentation of your ice cream was poor and this is being changed. I should point out most reviews with trip advisor and top table are very positive and feedback with our steaks is at most times also very positive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Borellis Wine Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Borellis Wine Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing