We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So glad we chose here.......”

Borellis Wine Bar & Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Borellis Wine Bar & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 130 Restaurants in Farnham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$26
Cuisines: Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Situated in the center of Farnham in Surrey. Borelli's is a contemporary Wine Bar and Steak Grill set in the beautiful historic Borelli Yard, being one of the best locations in Farnham, near to the central car park. The olive green and white walls, polished wood and tiled floors create a warm and welcoming space at night, while the big windows let in plenty of sunlight during the day. Dining alfresco during the warmer weather in the spacious courtyard is very popular. Borelli's lunch menu offers a wide selection of wraps, baguettes and jacket potatoes and a range of heartier options from £9-95. The a la carte menu offers seriously good chargrilled beef and chicken dishes. Chefs specials menu changes every week. The relaxed atmosphere in the restaurant, great bar scene and music, friendly service and a comprehensive wine list with many wines available by the glass. Saturday nights are very popular with an 80's night and a Comedy Club every month.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“So glad we chose here.......”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely warm summers evening sitting outside sipping vey chilled wine and eating the most delicious, largest scallops I have had anywhere! Life doesn't get much better.
The staff were lovely and friendly and pointed out if we had 2 large glasses of wine the rest of the bottle was free. An offer they run on a Wednesday!
Perhaps life dies get better!!!The mains were very good my husband had seared salmon and the portion was huge.
If you want excellent food and service you can't go wrong here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank louxloux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    54
    31
    17
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ash, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely food”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Nice seating area at the back of the wine bar. Service was very quick and the waitresses friendly.
Both of us had a lovely moist butterfly chicken breast with BBQ/Piri Piri sauce, french fries and salad. The food was great. Would recommend & will definitely be going back !

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JSP20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Food isn't their thing”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

There's a dining area upstairs, but food isn't their thing.

I had their BBQ Chicken Breast with fries. The chicken was really dry and cheap tasting. When I asked for BBQ sauce for the fries, they didn't have any. Strange for a "grill" and stranger still as I had BBQ sauce on my chicken.

My other half had Fish and Chips. Her fish was quite dry and tasted old. If it wasn't frozen, I'd guess it was less than fresh.

Shame really, as both of those dishes are so simple to get right.

Downstairs its mostly middle aged and older people drinking and listening to loud music for people a third of their age.

Service was good though. Very prompt, friendly and thoughtful.

There's many better places to eat in town. I'll probably not be going back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichardMajor86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveL4, Owner at Borellis Wine Bar & Grill, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
To readers of this review I assure you all that 'Food Is Our Thing' and the majority of our reviews are very positive and reflect this. We have a huge regular clientele who have lunch with us every week! The meals mentioned on this review are two of our most popular dishes on our menu. On the rare occasion a customer is not happy with their meal, we will happily change or refund at all times. We always have bbq sauce available, strange!. Our chicken is free range and of the highest quality and our cod fillets are frozen all supplied locally.
Your comments about our customers, are to say the least very rude! We have customers of all ages, our main age range being 35 to 55. Our wine bar is a very popular music venue at weekends and does get very busy with happy regular drinkers every week. Many customers come to Borelli's as it is the only place in town where you can meet friends for drinks before and after their meal!
Sorry its not your thing, but many people come for the music and buzz of our bar, on Saturdays we even have a Rewind night playing all the popular 80's music, very popular with the 'over 40's' crowd!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had a great night at this wine bar last Saturday. Wonderful meal, great steak and wine with attentive friendly service. Had a great time in the wine bar after dinner which rounded up a top night out! Would definitley recommend a visit especially at the weekend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gootle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Must Visit for food and service”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

First time visit but definitely not the last.
We both had perfectly cooked steaks
The waitress Laura C was attentive and very helpful.
We would recommend this place.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank farnie1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Borellis Wine Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Borellis Wine Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing