We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Be warned car park expensive!

A lovely place for walks. Visited on Tuesday , It's years since Ive been there. The car park used... read more

Reviewed 6 July 2023
Z3580FOjanetw
Nice big pond

Nice big pond in scenic setting. Their is toilets, parking and a small cafe. Nice sandy beach for... read more

Reviewed 17 June 2023
MarkMahoney
,
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Read all 167 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
71
50
17
11
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
71
50
17
11
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews car park nice walk good idea to bring kiosk selling bit challenging picnic tables sailing club builders sand afternoon walk huge disappointment circular walk a national trust member waters edge 'beach' area few hours lovely place to visit big pond
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
161 - 166 of 167 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2015 via mobile

We visited on a weekday over the Xmas holidays and not that early (9ish) but found the place deserted. On a beautiful day the lake looked stunning. Certainly planning to return to the beach when the weather warms up. A great find. Plenty of hungry ducks to feed

1  Thank Airmrbiscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 November 2014 via mobile

I took a wagon load of teenagers here for a walk and we were all dumbstruck at how beautiful the place is. Though it had been raining, the sun came out and the 'pond' looked just stunning.
You can do a lovely circular walk which is marked, and takes about 40 minutes. There is a 'visitor centre' which is actually an unmanned room/ cubicle!
There are toilets and a little unit selling snacks and hot drinks.
After our walk we enjoyed a pleasant rest in the sun at their picnic tables.
It is SO beautiful, I really cannot wait to go back.
The website 'fancyfreewalks' offers a number of larger circular walks taking in the great pond.

6  Thank sbizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 November 2014

Stayed at the Bestwestern hotel on the pond in April/May....the surrounds were scenic peaceful and calm. Beautiful water birds...ducks and swans aplenty...and a beautiful amount of greenery and forests surround this lovely spot. The only "downer' was the surly owner at the pond cafe!

Date of experience: April 2014
1  Thank gammo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Went here for a picnic lunch - well it was the Great Pond. Super sandy beach area and lots of areas to sit and play in. Unfortunately the snack area was a huge disappointment. Don't come here without a picnic or your own food. The snack bar looked dirty and the ice creams were the most synthetic, nasty ice creams ever. Stick to those in a pack! A good day out but avoid the snack bar.

Date of experience: August 2014
1  Thank 421krisb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Went here with the grand children (2 & 3) on the off chance as not been here for many years. It has not changed much except for a snack bar, loos, information centre etc. We took a picnic and the 'kids' thoroughly enjoyed themselves. There was plenty of room to park the car, although it was pretty crowded. We were able to paddle and play in the sand and found somewhere in the shade to have our picnic. Next time we will take our swimming suits, buckets and spades. Be aware although sandy it is a 'dirty' sand and the kids got filthy! Especially our 2 year old grandson who insisted on rolling in it straight after have his sun cream on! Never mind, they soon went in the bath when we got home.
Its a good day out here and our only costs were the picnic, which we took, and ice creams at the end of the day.

Date of experience: July 2014
2  Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews