We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Pete C

Nice Peaceful Hotel

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 Aug 2021
Very nice historic building with lovely scenic gardens. Nice food in the Restaurant. Nice quiet room. Good service. The hotel is in a very good location close to Richmond Park. We enjoyed our stay and wished we could have stayed longer.
Date of stay: July 2021
Room Tip: Ask for a Garden view. Our room overlooked some roof tops.
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £109
  • Official Site
1.3 miles from Warren House Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Doubletree
    £153
  • Hotels.com
1.6 miles from Warren House Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £73
  • Algotels
1.5 miles from Warren House Hotel
Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £73
  • Travelodge
1.6 miles from Warren House Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £141
  • Official Site
1.9 miles from Warren House Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Premier Inn bedroom
£66
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £78
  • Algotels
1.6 miles from Warren House Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £104
  • Hotels.com
2.5 miles from Warren House Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £50
  • Algotels
3.0 miles from Warren House Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £85
  • Hotels.com
2.9 miles from Warren House Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Front Image1
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    £64
  • eDreams
1.3 miles from Warren House Hotel
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Kingston upon Thames
Reviews (1,404)
Filter reviews
1,404 results
Traveller rating
897
267
114
69
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
897
267
114
69
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviews richmond park afternoon tea feature room lovely grounds old house beautiful hotel sandwiches deluxe room lovely room one night stay a lovely stay member of staff cooked breakfast coffee machine hampton court palace yogurt annex
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
386 - 391 of 1,404 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2021 via mobile

Having moved back recently to the area, our local friends recommended for us to visit Warren House, having been locked up for over a year, we thought it would be nice for us to experience a bit of history with a quick bite or drink. Unfortunately we chose a day where the weather wasn’t the greatest, however still wanted to get a good feel of the place for any future gatherings or celebrations, especially since it’s so close! The drive in was breathtaking, such a building! Couldn’t believe we missed this when we lived around the same area 10 years ago!
When we walked in, it was quite an odd scenario. No one or no receptionist to welcome us in, instead there was a group of people unpacking right at the entrance of the reception, it’s a small entrance and the entire floor and area was taken over! After standing around a minute or so awkwardly not knowing where to go or what to do, we tried to shimmy our way over all the things, upon doing so one of the ladies got extremely passive aggressive. Not really sure why, if she thought we were trying to steal her things, or step on them? Regardless, she was very possessive over her (cheap looking) items! Not too sure if it was staff unpacking or a guest, but definitely not a great first impression. We managed to clamber over the marketplace and found our way to the bar. With views onto the garden it definitely would have been a spectacular place to have a bite to eat if the weather wasn’t so atrocious. Took a little while for a member of staff to come to the bar but service was great and friendly, we didn’t order any food this time but the menu looked good. I would suggest draught beer and more bottle beer selections? Why not use a local brewery? Great ambiance! Wanted to use the gents, however after being directed that I would need to go through dragon lady again and her marketplace tat, decided to use the ladies (sorry!) which was a little cupboard under the stairs, quite quirky. There was a beautiful piano, would have been great to have a live pianist, I hope you offer live music in the future? By the time we left the market place had disappeared and we finally saw a friendly smile from a receptionist that thanked us for our visit (how nice!) We hope to be back again soon with some friends to try the food!

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank T7575QQliamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 July 2021 via mobile

SO disappointing! It was our mini honeymoon- short because we only had 3 days as I work in the care profession and so we chose Warren House as it had such good reviews and was not too far to travel ! What a mess and a muddle when we got there - no one at reception and when someone arrived - found by a scruffy looking workman - we were told they were full and very busy with a wedding . We were promised an upgrade which when we got to our room wasn’t what we had been led to believe- they had ‘dressed’ the room with a couple of towel swans and a few flowers something they said they normally charged for but for us was complimentary.
Part of our deal was a bottle of Prosecco which we asked to have in our room straight away . We waited and waited and in the meantime went on the website to check our room which came up as a standard room on their website picture. My new husband went down to explain that we didn’t think we had the promised upgrade to be told very abruptly we absolutely had got one of the best rooms , they were very busy and no other room would be available til the next day . Still no Prosecco. We gave up waiting and after about an hour and a half went down to the bar to get a drink when we passed someone with our fizz. We were enjoying our Prosecco outside and were 20 mins late to our table - booked for 7.30- so they came and got us at 7.50 and said we really needed to go and sit and order as the chef finished at 8.30 ! . They insisted we chose all 3 courses then and there . My new husband is a chef and has never worked anywhere where the chef finishes that early !! Nor anywhere where we had to give all 3 courses in one go !
The restaurant was SO bare - no flowers on the tables as is pictured on the website and throughout our stay we never had a properly laid up table with the correct cutlery- I think twice we ate our puddings with forks - they never brought any dessert spoons , & knives & forks were also missing at other meals .
The food was excellent! But on the deal we had booked with - the set menu was limited and got a bit repetitive- we were never given the option to upgrade to the bigger menu.

The fridge in our room and the fan on the ceiling were both broken - something we mentioned as we thought they would like to know as we left for a trip out -to reception- the response was shocking ‘ well how would I know I haven’t stayed in there ‘ !

Our new room was an improvement- lighter, brighter and with a fan & fridge that worked- however we were missing the promised bathrobes and we didn’t have a plug for the bath .
We asked if we could have breakfast in our room- as they advertise 24 hour room service - this had to be checked to see whether the chef would be prepared to do it . After the waiter went and discussed it and the chef agreed we did get our breakfast but we got coffee instead of the tea we ordered, no milk and no butter for our toast !

After having to cancel our wedding twice and also after working through the entire pandemic in a really stressful environment of a care home , losing both friends and residents , we were desperate for this to be a really magical few days where we could just breathe , be pampered , and celebrate finally being married. At nearly £900 for three nights with the included extra wine & drinks we had during our stay we feel utterly cheated and let down by what we were led to believe would be a really extra special stay .

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank bolneybetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 July 2021

Stayed at the hotel for three nights as our daughter had just had a baby and we wanted to be near her without intruding on her space. Our room looked over the beautiful walled garden. The hotel was very calm and peaceful and allowed us to relax. The housekeeping team were excellent as were the bar and restaurant team Nothing was too much trouble for anyone. Perhaps our one minor comment would be that it was disappointing that the only cider stocked was one from Sweden. It would have been nice to support UK businesses by stocking a British cider. We would highly recommend this hotel and thank you for a lovely stay.

Room tip: Booked a standard double room which included a comfortable arm chair, desk/dressing table along with a chair. Bathroom was a walk in shower
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CAYEMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 July 2021

Stayed for 2 nights as our daughter was graduating from Roehampton Uni. The hotel is a lovely historic building in a quiet secluded spot. Staff were friendly and breakfast good. We had 2 rooms in the annex building and there were a few minor issues such as fan not working, bath slow to drain but everywhere was clean and spacious.
What really makes this hotel special is the beautiful gardens, which we were lucky enough to enjoy in the sun. Lots of lovely plants and features to wander around, including a hidden lower garden. Illuminated at night, with the lovely table shades lit with fairy lights, giving a magical feel.
The hotel is located along a private road and there was ample secure parking (mostly on grass). There are lots of lovely areas nearby, including Richmond Park but we got taxi's to Roehampton and to Kingston Upon Thames town centre (recommended) for an evening meal and wander. We also went from Barnes Station to Waterloo in central London following her Graduation, which takes about 20 mins.
The hotel didn't provide much information about the history of the house and grounds which is a shame, as I've looked online since and it has quite a rich interesting history including a local uprising when the road was made private and various royal visitors - it would be nice if they could provide a leaflet.
Overall a really special experience.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MKFinchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniela Denker, Other at Warren House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2021

Dear MKFinchie, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review.
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that we can welcome you back to The Warren House again soon. Kind Regards, Daniela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2021 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here on Tuesday 13 and Wednesday 14 July. The service was outstanding and I have to give particular mention to the bar and restaurant manager and his staff as nothing was too much trouble. The rooms and gardens were stunning. I would highly recommend this gem if you are looking for great food, peace and tranquility

Kellie

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank kelliel793
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniela Denker, Other at Warren House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2021

Dear Kellie L,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive for absolute excellence
in all departments in the hotel and I am very grateful that this was received.
I hope that we can welcome you back to Warren House again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews