We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service”

Hampton Wick Tandoori
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor service”
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Visited twice. The waiters didn't bother asking us for appetisers or drinks. We had to ask. The second time, we weren't given a hot plate. Waiters have no interaction with customers. It seemed like asking for a glass of water was a huge chore to them. Overall service was poor.

Helpful?
1 Thank Abs G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    20
    7
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Indian Food .”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

A really good old fashioned Indian experience. Food was superb. Service good.
The only negative ( or is it a positive? ) is the very dark lighting-reading the menu was a tad tricky.
Would certainly recommend .

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jacquie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london, uk
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fab food”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stayed in the white hart hotel and walked to this restaurant after seeing on trip advisor.....the food was absolutely fantastic and total bill for 2 with drinks was £50 ....service was great, good was fab xxxxxx highly recommend

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rachel2407London_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best curry in ages”
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Went to this restaurant during a visit to son and daughter in law who live in Kingston, on the recommendations in trip adviser. The food was really good and the service impeccable. We has two sharing platters, a vegetarian and a meat to start, with a selection of curries and side dishes to follow. Everything was well explained, and we were offered other options also. Everyone without exception enjoyed it. Upon speaking to people at the next table, they commented that they visited regularly, and had always been delighted with the food. We were also amazed at the value. Our bill was just over £80 for four of us, and we couldn't eat everything. We will certainly go again when we are back in Kingston.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Indian restaurants as they used to be....”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This is how they all used to be, traditional and without frills. And there's always a place for that! Good food, lots of vegetarian options, some friendly waiters / some a little surly. If you want twinkly lights, fancy plates and little amuse bouches then go to Chutney Mary....for good proper curry, go here!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hampton Wick Tandoori also viewed

Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
 
Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
 
Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
 

Been to Hampton Wick Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing