We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely basic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bull and Bush Hotel Kingston
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Cheap and cheerful converted pub. Everything very basic. I certainly would not recommend for families. Location is approximately 1 mile from Kingston town centre, nearest station is Norbiton 10 min walk. Plenty of buses nearby.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
There are newer reviews for The Bull and Bush Hotel Kingston
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2014

I gave this hotel 5/5 because it fits my requirements perfectly -I am a busy IT contractor working away from home Mon-Fri and this set up is ideal for me.
Importantly it is clean comfy and quite - I need my sleep! I spend a lot of my time "living out of a suitcase" and have stayed in many hotels - this one is ideal for my requirements.
For me I above all need a good bed and quiet - The Bull and Bush is ideal - I have stayed here since November and not once have had a disturbed night.
It is in a quiet residential area just off the main road. It is clean and well run - the staff are extremely friendly very helpful - I speak as I find.
Note this is not a B&B, it is bed only - at least that is the way I use it - and I prefer this as I don't want breakfast.

Room Tip: Book at least 3 days ahead, as they get busy. All rooms are quiet that I have stayed in
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 10Pints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

This is a former pub that has been converted into budget accommodation, which was not clear to me from the website. That said, it was quite satisfactory and my overall experience was a positive one. Upon arrival I was met by the manager, Kumar, who was ever obliging, friendly and helpful. Anything I needed, I had only to ask: an extra towel, hair dryer, tea bags, etc. The room was functional, warm, with a comfortable double bed, tv facility, cupboard and drawers, and a small ensuite. Slight problem with the plumbing in that I always had to flush the toilet several times for complete effect, and the light bulbs over the mirror were not operating and were not replaced despite my drawing attention to them. Window blinds in the room did not work so I had to keep them down the whole time. My only serious criticism is that on one night there was a large group of rowdy revellers in the rooms opposite me and I got hardly any sleep. The next morning I requested a room change, which I know would have been granted, but said group had checked out. I could also hear other people's tvs from my room, which didn't really bother me but could be an issue for others. Although the hotel is located on a council estate, as a single woman walking to and fro into Kingston, sometimes after nightfall, I did not feel overly scared or threatened. This is a case of 'you get what you pay for'. Would I stay there again? Yes, certainly, because Kumar genuinely wanted to please, he was always attentive to my needs, and that to me is a mark of good service no matter the 'budget' standard of the facilities.

Room Tip: If the hotel is not full, ask for a room isolated from other occupied rooms, so that you will not he...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick3078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I booked this very late for New Year's Eve but, despite that were given a very fair price for the night for a hotel so close to the town centre. The room was clean and the bed comfortable; the bathroom was very small but functional. Not bad value, overall.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CesmeTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Seeing as its one of the cheapest hotels in kingston and not at all far from kingston town centre, about a 10 minute walk, I would say this hotel is good value for money. I have stayed a couple of times. Always had a clean room, clean bedding and was comfortable. Clean towels and bathroom.
Also I wad wary of leaving my car outside but I think the area looks worse then what it is. I have never heard of any cars being broken into.
If your looking for a cheap place just to crash for the night or a few I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Kaz467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

'I\'m a female student and I stayed at the Hotel for a few days, the time I found permanent accommodation.
The hotel staff was so nice and helpful, the room is clean and neat, and the price is fair for what you're getting.
The hotel is within walking distance from the town center, and the streets are all lit at night. Very practical and convenient.' R

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rajkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

'Brilliant Stay
Thank you so much to Kumma and his family and friends and all the nice people both my self and my husband met when we stayed at The Bull and Bush Hotel.
Nothing was too much trouble and a lovely clean room that we had and as my husband is quite disabled we were put into a larger family room so he had a nice bit of space to get around in the room. And I am glad I found The Bull and Bush on my google web page.
We will definitely stay there again.

A very big thank you to all at The Bull and Bush Hotel.

Janet and Ian Cozens

Room Tip: Book here and you wont be disappointed
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Holllyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston upon Thames hotels
0.7 mi away
Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon Thames
Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon T...
#6 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
879 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Kingston Upon Thames
Premier Inn London Kingston Upon...
#3 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
749 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Kingston upon Thames Central
Travelodge Kingston upon Thames ...
#11 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
1,123 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Kingston upon Thames
Travelodge Kingston upon Thames
#12 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
272 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel
Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel
#7 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull and Bush Hotel Kingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull and Bush Hotel Kingston

Address: Washington Road, Kingston upon Thames KT1 3JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Kingston upon Thames
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston upon Thames
Price Range: £37 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CHEAPEST HOTEL IN KINGSTON - CALL US TO GET OUR SPECIAL PRICES! The Bull and Bush is a budget hotel located in a residential area, yet within walking distance of the town centre and Kingston university. Our double en-suite rooms starts from £39! We offer; Free street parking facilities Free WiFi Coffee and tea making facilities (Kettele and mugs in the room. You may need to purchase cofee or tea bags depending on the room price) Hair dryer (on request) Iron (on request) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Bull and Bush Hotel Kingston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bull And Bush Hotel Kingston Kingston Upon Thames, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing