We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for lunch!”
Review of The Bishop

The Bishop
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Sitting on the banks of the River Thames, we've got an amazing view of Kingston Bridge, especially from our beautiful River Room Bar upstairs, which can accomodate your next party, gathering or corporate do. Our stunning riverside terrace is the perfect place for a spot of people watching, whether they be on land or by boat! In the Summer Months you can't beat a refreshing beverage on the banks of the Thames, the nearest thing to a beach for miles. In the bracing Winter, we've got blankets to wrap up in & warm drinks to keep you toasty! We serve food all day - pub classics, bar snacks and seasonal. Check out our great range of ales, ciders, wines and spirits. We look forward to welcoming you to The Bishop soon! Kitchen opening hours: Monday-Thursday 11:00-21:00 Friday-Saturday 10:00-22:00 Sunday 10:00-20:30
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

Visited Kingston on a lovely sunny day to do some shopping, and decided to walk along the river to find somewhere to have lunch. The Bishop did not disappoint. Had a delicious fish finger sandwich served with crisps, and sat upstairs on the little terrace overlooking the river! The staff were very friendly, and made sure I was looked after!

Thank just_in_case123tb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBishop-Kingston, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at The Bishop, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Hi there,

Thank you for leaving us a review, and such a great one at that. We also think our terrace is the best spot in the pub, and a fish finger sandwich is just what you need after a long days shopping!
We hope you'll visit us soon.

Kind regards,
The team at The Bishop

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

I love the Bishop for a drink by the river and have used their upstairs function room several times for different events. Their salt beef sandwich is mostly coleslaw though; I only had one thin slice of salt beef - and had to send it back at first because it came out with the wrong bread!

Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBishop-Kingston, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at The Bishop, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Hi Anna,

Thanks for your review. We're glad you've had a good experience in our upstairs room on multiple occasions and we hope you choose us to host more events in future.

We'd like to apologise that your sandwich wasn't up to our usual high standards, it's one of our best sellers and it's a shame that it didn't deliver. I will have a word with the kitchen to unsure our standards are maintained.

If you'd like to discuss further drop in or send us an email to bishopevents@youngs.co.uk.

Kind Regards,
Chloe Morant
Sales & Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

As tourists, we went there to enjoy the atmosphere of a British pub and had few rounds of drinks. Staff are nice, place is not too noisy that we could talk. In summary, a very enjoyable evening with family and relatives.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank hnlchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBishop-Kingston, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at The Bishop, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Hi there,

Thanks so much for your positive review. We're glad we could emanate the atmosphere of a proper British pub for you and your family whilst visiting the area. We're so happy that our staff provided you with the great customer service we pride ourselves on.

Hopefully your pleasant experience will entice you to visit again and maybe try a dish or two from our seasonal menu.

Kind Regards,
Chloe Morant
Sales & Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

Nice pub but they reserve tables for non eaters. They could improve by being more customer focused .

Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBishop-Kingston, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at The Bishop, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Hi Matt,

Thanks for your review. We're glad you liked the pub, and are sorry that you perhaps didn't get a table. On busy nights like weekends we advice to book in advance to avoid disappointment, and we take bookings for both eaters & drinkers depending on what our customers are after.

If you'd like to discuss further feel free to drop in or send us an email at bishopevents@youngs.co.uk.

Kind Regards,
Chloe Morant
Sales & Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

Poor Service, poor food! Saturday night and there was one barmaid on and she seemed to have an attitude on her because of this. The burger wasn't anything to write home about either, its a nice pub in an amazing location let down by the mentioned.

Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBishop-Kingston, Public Relations Manager at The Bishop, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Hi Neil,

Thanks for your review. We'd like to apologise for the attitude of our staff and that your burger wasn't up to scratch.

We pride ourselves on our seasonal dishes and customer service so will be having a word with the kitchen and bar staff to make sure it's not repeated in future.

We hope this experience won't deter you from returning and if you'd like to discuss things further give us a call or drop us an email at bishop@youngs.co.uk

Kind Regards,
Chloe Morant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bishop also viewed

Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
 
Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
 
Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
 

Been to The Bishop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing