We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well managed and an ideal place for those on a budget...”
Review of Hermes Hotel

Hermes Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingston upon Thames
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hermes Hotel
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We stayed at Hermes for almost two weeks when our house was under renovation. The kids stayed in a triple room with shared bath room while the missus and I stayed in a double with ensuite bathroom. Nothing fancy about this place as after all it is a budget hotel/BB. However, Hermes is more than a budget hotel as it is conveniently located (5 mins walk to market place and Kingston College or 10 mins to Kingston University) in a nice and safe neighbourhood facing the River Thames, the place and rooms (incl. toilets) were cleaned and well maintained, very comfortable beds with clean linens and operator/owner Trish is a friendly lady that will look after you. All the rooms and toilets were cleaned daily, with Trish personally making and serving very delicious and well made English breakfast for the guests each morning.
There were two minor issues which I was able to accept and overlook:
1. Although there were 4 parking spaces in front of hotel, but these and those meter spaces along the road were constantly taken by other motorists. I had to park at a nearby car park on a number of occasions.
2. As hotel is located along the main road, we experienced unpleasant noises between 1am - 3am (mainly on Friday and Saturday only due to people going home from the nearby clubs)
Well managed bed and breakfast and an ideal place for those on a budget.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MacLik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 25 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2012

We stayed in Kingston Upon Thames for 5 days over the Diamond Jubilee weekend as we wanted to be able to conveniently commute into central London whilst not paying London prices, so Hermes Hotel was perfect.

As we were on a budget, we chose a double room with shared bathroom, but most of the time we had the bathroom to ourselves. The room also had a sink, and mirror, so we only used the bathroom for showers. Some rooms did have ensuites. Looking into other rooms, we seemed to have the smallest room, but it was still a decent size by London standards and lovely and warm in the evenings.

Patricia makes everyone feel very welcome, and the breakfasts are fabulous. My boyfriend had the full English breakfast every morning. There was also free WiFi.

The B&B an easy 10mins walk to Kingston Train Station, which has regular trains into Waterloo. Kingston Upon Thames itself is a gorgeous old market town, which was bustling at all hours. There are plenty of great restaurants and pubs for dinner, as well as a large shopping area.

London accommodation is incredibly expensive, so this gorgeous B&B is particularly great value for money.

Room Tip: The double room at the front are larger and have a lovely view of the Thames
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cyntheap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Excellent location, quiet and comfortable. Lovely friendly service from Trish and very economical. Good coffee and scrambled eggs.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JohnMullarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

My wife and I had a fantastic holiday at Hermes Hotel. It is a cosy, convenient friendly small B &B, located in picturesque setting overlooking the river Thames.
The daily views of the magnificent Thames gliding by, with swans and and birds, people in their boats and the joggers on the bank were indeed very invigorating and refreshing.
Its close proximity to the very popular Kingston Shopping area, which has, inter alia, the Bentall centre,( even houses an Apple store), wonderful old historic market place (06 minutes away)and whole array of shops within brisk walking distance, indeed made our stay very enjoyable. There are plenty of holiday restaurants for dining both on the river front as well as town centre with a wide array of food catering to the tastes of both young and old. There is even a laundry 05 mts away, plus an all -night corner shop..
Pat the proprietress is charming person who cooks a great a full -English breakfast, and her charm, a key aspect of our memorable holiday.
From the Hermes , its approximately 10 mts walk to the Kingston Station ( so 25 mts you are in London on Waterloo station).
The best room is the one overlooking river with its fantastic view- which also the larger room and has an attached bathroom. . The room was clean and comfortable and tastefully furnished.
You will never have any regret staying at the Hermes.

Room Tip: ask for the one with the river view...the largest and best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank PHDGColombo_SriLanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston upon Thames hotels
0.4 mi away
Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon Thames
Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon T...
#7 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
888 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn London Kingston Upon Thames
Premier Inn London Kingston Upon...
#3 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
768 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Kingston South
1.6 mi away
Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel
Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel
#6 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
639 reviews
0.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton London Kingston Upon Thames
Doubletree by Hilton London King...
#4 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes Hotel

Address: 1 Portsmouth Road, Kingston upon Thames KT1 2LU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Kingston upon Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston upon Thames
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hermes Hotel is a family run 17th century guest house offering bed and breakfast accommodation. We are located opposite the River Thames and a five minute walk to the town centre. It's position is ideal for taking a trip along the river to Hampton Court or Richmond. The Rose Theatre is a four minute walk from the Hermes, together with a wide choice of restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hermes Hotel Kingston Upon Thames, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing