We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The White Hart Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We recently had a delightful stay at the White Hart Hotel! We were visiting our son, a student at Kingston Uni, and chose the hotel based on location. The room was beautiful, clean and modern. The desk staff were extremely helpful and kind. I needed to charge my iPad before leaving for the airport, and of course, in the moment the taxi arrived I forgot to pick up the iPad. The young woman at the desk called the cab, about 5 minutes into the trip and we were able to go back and retrieve the iPad! She then was waiting by the curb when we pulled up! We will definitely stay at the White Hart the next time we visit Kingston-Upon-Thames!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHHOTELMANAGER, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for your write up with regards to your recent stay here in Hampton Wick, Kingston. Many people choose to stay here when visiting those attending the local university. It is great to read how the reception team managed to track you down before you travelled too far without your tablet, I will certainly pass on these kind words to the reception team.

Warm regards
Chris Kerr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,126)
There are newer reviews for The White Hart Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

857 - 863 of 1,126 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

My sister in law and her family were staying at this hotel for 1 week recently and my partner and I joined them for dinner one evening. We all had very nice meals served by very pleasant and attentive staff. It was not "haute cuisine" but good wholesome tasty food that really "hit the spot".
My sister in law said the accommodation was good too.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHHOTELMANAGER, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for this review. It is lovely to see that although you didn't physically stay with us yourself we still managed to make a positive impression based on your restaurant experience. I am glad to see that you found the waiting team to be attentive. Likewise it is nice to read that your family were happy with the accommodation for the week they stayed with us.

Kind regards
Chris Kerr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed overnight on 5th August 2014 after booking a double room, we were delighted to find that we had been upgraded to the Catherine Parr Suite, which was first class and had a four poster bed and also a separate lounge area, with complimentary drinks in the fridge. Bathroom had a bath and separate shower. The staff on reception were very helpful and welcoming. We ate in the hotel and the food was very good.
We left our car in the car park the next day for a couple of hours while we went to Hampton Court Palace by boat (35 mins.)
We would visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudithofBarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHHOTELMANAGER, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Judith, with so many events taking place at Hampton Court Palace it is great to read that you managed a visit there, by boat, while staying with us in Hampton Wick. If the weather is on your side this is a trip down the river I fully reccommend. Thank you for your kind words surrounding your bedroom, the Catherine Parr suite, it appears that it served you well. Thank you also for mentioning your enjoyable meal. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards
Chris Kerr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My wife and I just visited my brother again and stayed at this lovely hotel. We did the same last year but this time we were delighted to be told we had been upgraded to one of the best rooms,the Jane Seymour. The room was beautiful with a cosy upscale old English feel. The bedroom had a cute four poster bed and the was a comfortable little sitting area you could relax in and watch tv.
The bathroom was my wife's favorite and she enjoyed having a long hot bath - I should have to as it was big enough for me the lay flat in and I am 6 feet tall.
The staff downstairs at the bar and restraint remembered us from last year and made us feel right at home. It was like we lived in the area and were regulars. The food was very good as it was last year, in fact I think it was better this time.
The front of the Hotel has a wonderful patio area with lost of tables you can sit in and look at the beautiful hanging baskets that decorate the entire front of the building - it looks like a postcard.
Can't wait to go back again next year and maybe we will visit my brother too ;)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Janusz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHHOTELMANAGER, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

What a delightful read, thank you so much for sharing your experience once again. Specifically remembering guests by name, face or even favoured tipple is certainly one areas which creates that "home from home" feel which is not always possible in larger establishments. It looks like you'll need to try out one of the other superior suites on your return next year, maybe the Catherine Parr next time.

Kindest regards
Chris Kerr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I visit Kingston for 3 days conference. I chosed White Hart Hotel after reading the Trip Advisor Reviews. Room was good, bed was comfortable bathroom was fine everything was working well. what I like most was front outdoor seating.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Darnel-HDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHHOTELMANAGER, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear reviewer, I'm happy to read that you had an enjoyable time with us while attending your conference. The front outside area is always well received, I'm glad this suited you also.

Warm regards
Chris Kerr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We decided to revisit this hotel more or less a year to the day since our first stay here.
Yet again we received a very professional and friendly service from all the staff, from checking in, to having a meal in the restaurant that same evening and meeting the cleaning staff.
Nothing was too much trouble for anyone.
We again were allocated a free upgrade to the Anne Boleyn Suite. It is a lovely room, overlooking the roundabout before the bridge into Kingston, if you can afford to splurge a little, this is well worth it, there are several other suites available too.
The traffic outside did not bother us.
It is an excellent base for visiting the shops across the bridge for all tastes and excellent bars and restaurants along the river, for a stroll in the evenings.
Our room price included breakfast which was adequate and promptly served, you have a selection of cold meats, yogurts, fruit, cereals etc and a choice of cooked breakfasts.
We would definitely recommend this hotel as it is ideal as you are a 2 minute walk over the bridge to the centre of Kingston or for the boat trips which embark behind John Lewis.
Some of the bars we visited on this stay were Browns (our favourite), The Bishop and The Ram. If you prefer a non-trendy pub with no thrills, on leaving the hotel, turn left and keep going for a few hundred metres and you will come across it on the same side of the road as the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a named suite these are the upgraded rooms ie Catherine Parr, Jane Seymour, Ane Boleyn etc.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JFTravelsHusky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHHOTELMANAGER, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

A delightful read, thank you. We are always appreciative of our loyal returning guests, and of course it is important to us that they continue to enjoy our products and service. Therefore it is great to see that we went from a 5/5 "Lovely Stay" in 2013 to a 5/5 "Fabulous Stay" in 2014. Thank you for also posting the lovely picture of our flower boxes on the hotel exterior.

We look forward to welcoming you back in 2015, if not sooner.

Kindest regards
Chris Kerr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

After long flight from Brisbane to meet family it was a great location very central, plenty of parking in the rear.
The receptionist Karis was very friendly and helpful and went out if her way to assist
The rooms were comfortable and clean a little small but great for an overnight stay, with everything you needed.
If ever in town again would definitely stay there again

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank thefbi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHHOTELMANAGER, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for this review, it is kind of you to have also taken the time to acknowledge Karis, one of our many multi-skilled members of the team. Great to hear you would definately stay here again, we look forward to your return.

Warm regards
Chris Kerr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston upon Thames hotels
0.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton London Kingston Upon Thames
Doubletree by Hilton London King...
#4 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
251 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Kingston Upon Thames
Premier Inn London Kingston Upon...
#3 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
751 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Kingston South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Warren House
Warren House
#2 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
821 reviews
0.8 mi away
Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon Thames
Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon T...
#6 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
879 reviews
1.5 mi away
Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel
Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel
#7 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart Hotel

Address: 1 High Street | Hampton Wick, Kingston upon Thames KT1 4DA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Kingston upon Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Kingston upon Thames
Price Range: £79 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The White Hart Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Hart Hotel Kingston Upon Thames, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing