We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food and Great Service”
Review of Spring Grove

Spring Grove
Cuisines: Pub
Description: Your favourite local at 13 Bloomfield Road has always been the heart of the community in this lovely area of Kingston Upon Thames. Young's bought The Spring Grove in 1896 and we still proudly serve craft and cask-conditioned ales, world class wines (many served by the glass) and refreshing long drinks. Our menus celebrate the best of fresh, seasonal, British produce, with food prepared daily by our team of skilled Chefs.
Restaurant details
Description: Your favourite local at 13 Bloomfield Road has always been the heart of the community in this lovely area of Kingston Upon Thames. Young's bought The Spring Grove in 1896 and we still proudly serve craft and cask-conditioned ales, world class wines (many served by the glass) and refreshing long drinks. Our menus celebrate the best of fresh, seasonal, British produce, with food prepared daily by our team of skilled Chefs.
Reviewed 29 December 2017

Very friendly helpful staff and good food as ever. Always good for larger parties of people, never seem to have a problem serving us all well. A Good wine list which and staff happy to recommend something as well.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gpritchard2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
32springg, other at Spring Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Hi there,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a positive review. It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed your time here and were pleased with our service as that's something we pride ourselves on!

We really hope you come back again soon

Kind regards,
The spring Grove team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

This pub has everything to be a great place, when I arrived s there was nobody behind the bar and chef can’t cook a portion of frozen fried properly (it came uncooked and very oily).

Thank Michaelohashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
32springg, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Spring Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Hi Michaelohashi,
It's Beth here, the Sales and Marketing Coordinator of the Spring Grove.
I'm glad you enjoyed the feel of our pub but am disappointed to hear you didn't enjoy your food and didn't experience the best service.

I would love to find out more about what happened so we can stop this from happening again as it is very unusual for this to happen here

Our email is springgrove@youngs.co.uk

Best wishes,
Beth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2017 via mobile

My partner and I had a wonderful relaxing time evening together, the food was good. I had the spring grove burger and my partner had fish and chips. Both cooked well. The atmosphere was surberb just what's needed around Christmas time. Happy days!! :0))

Thank Sally E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
32springg, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Spring Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Hi Sally,

Thanks for taking the time to give us such good feedback.
Glad you both enjoyed your fish and chips and burger, they're a staple for us here and good to hear you liked them.
Hope to see you again soon and have a merry Christmas!

Best wishes,
Spring Grove team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017 via mobile

For our party of 15 including 7, U10s it could not have been a better venue in so many ways. Food was great. The Christmas menu was excellent and the croquette starter was delicious. We also ordered fish n chips and the roast, all very nice. Kids portions possible too small for 10yr old. Outside space was also a winner. The waiters were incredibly helpful and charming!
Only down side was sitting just near the door to the garden. Could really do with a heater over that door. There were kids from another large party in and out (as well as ours sone of the time) so it was really cold every time the door opened which was a lot. Would still recommend it though, we had a great time, lovely pub.

Thank babybeautiful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
32springg, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Spring Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to give us some great feedback.
Really glad to hear your party all enjoyed their time here including the 7 under tens!
It is unfortunate you were sat right by the back door especially when the weather is so chilly at the moment. This is something that we'll take into consideration next time when allocating tables to customers so thank you for your really helpful thoughts on this.
We hope to have you again soon and have a merry Christmas from all of us here at the Spring Grove.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017 via mobile

I have avoided the truly terrible food served in this pub for the last couple of years however the new landlord seems to be making changes and I would now say that after eating there last night it's worth a visit - pie and mash was good , service much better , maybe a little pricey but I didn't feel ripped off ( as I did in the past ) .

Thank Tamsin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
32springg, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Spring Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Hi Tamsin,

It's so great to hear that your opinion of our pub is now a good one! We're very proud of it and love to hear when people enjoy their time here.
Pie and mash is a great choice, it's locally supplied and award winning!

We really hope to welcome you back very soon,
Best wishes & merry Christmas from all of us here at the Spring Grove

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spring Grove also viewed

 
Surbiton, Kingston upon Thames
 

Been to Spring Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing