We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab King Prawn Saag” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Five Rivers Restaurant

Five Rivers Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 59 Restaurants in Leatherhead
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The founder Raj Singh Dhaliwal, the handsome chap wearing a crown (Turban), believes "good food and great service will never go out of fashion!" Therefore, the ethos at our restaurant is simple, clean, fragrant cooking that is wholesome, nutritious and above all tasty. Five Rivers meaning Punjab (North India), the land of Fiver Rivers, Punj meaning Five and Ab meaning Rivers. Having spent most of his youth in this area Raj has a wealth of experience in Homestyle cooking from the foothills of the Himalayas to the South Indian fiery cuisine. Food from North India is characterised by its thick, tasty gravies. The food uses chillies, saffron, milk, yoghurt, cottage cheese, ghee (clarified butter) and nuts. The food is hearty and often include several dishes. Sweets are a huge favourite too.
Surrey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fab King Prawn Saag”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Been here a few times & it's never been a let down, recommended! Not been for a while but really looking forward to eating here again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank HumanoidSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager G, Manager at Five Rivers Restaurant, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hello HumanoidSurrey,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about us! We are really glad you enjoyed your time and the service at our restaurant. We are looking forward to seeing you again very soon!


Kind regards,
Five Rivers Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    36
    11
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“you should try it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Good and varied menu freshly prepared and hot when served. I had an excellent pint of Cobra with my popadoms and pickles followed by food from the specials menu. I visit the restaurant regularly at lunchtime too - the service is exceptionally good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidofFetcham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager G, Manager at Five Rivers Restaurant, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hello DavidofFetcham,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about us! We are really glad you enjoyed your time and the service at our restaurant. We are looking forward to seeing you again very soon!


Kind regards,
Five Rivers Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not good for takeaway ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Ordered takeaway for delivery and about 40 mins after ordering we received a call, they where at a completely different address in a different town!! They were really rude and implied it was our fault. Once received the food was cold.

Helpful?
Thank kitty c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager G, Manager at Five Rivers Restaurant, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hello kitty c,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about us!
We are sincerely sorry to hear that you had a bad experience when ordering food from us. Please share more details about your order at info@the-five-rivers.co.uk and we would investigate this matter and assure you it won’t happen again.
We are striving for the best quality of both food and service at the restaurant. We hope you would give us another chance and we would see you in our restaurant soon.


Kind regards,
Five Rivers Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not Great”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

The menu is good; I ordered a pick-up and the food was late and cold. Definitely not a great experience for me. I didnt particularly like the food either so I haven't recommended this to anyone

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager G, Manager at Five Rivers Restaurant, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hello Emma R,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about us! We are sincerely sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the way we prepare our food and with our services. We want to ensure you we are striving for the best quality of both food and service at the restaurant. Please share more details about your order at info@the-five-rivers.co.uk and we would investigate this matter and assure you it won’t happen again.
We hope you would give us another chance and we would see you in our restaurant soon.


Kind regards,
Five Rivers Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“For me, best in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Having lived in the Leatherhead area for a number of years, I have tried most of the indian restaurants in the area but always come back to this one. The food and service is consistently excellent and I have never been disappointed. I would recommend the specials menu which has a varied selection of dishes and is good value for money. I always find the dishes here very flavoursome (unlike some other local restaurants around here where the food can be bland). The dishes are also well presented. Some are served in copper bowls which make an attractive display when the meal is brought to the table. Will keep coming here as long as they keep up the good work!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager G, Manager at Five Rivers Restaurant, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hello Paul M,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about us! We are really glad you enjoyed your time and the service at our restaurant. We are looking forward to seeing you again very soon!

Kind regards,
Five Rivers Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Five Rivers Restaurant also viewed

 
Leatherhead, Surrey
 

Been to Five Rivers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing